We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We would come back again!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Tally Ho Inn

Save Saved
You added Tally Ho Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Tally Ho Inn
Monte Verde Street at Sixth Street, PO Box 3726, Carmel, CA 93921   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 30 Carmel B&B and Inns
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“We would come back again!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2009

Although we arrived past midnight, we had been told to check in at their sister inn, the Pine Inn, across the street. We had no trouble doing so. The room was wonderful, spacious with a renovated bathroom and a wonderful private terrace. We had breakfast there, looking out towards the ocean. Covered parking was provided. The innkeepers were very gracious and full of ideas and tips. One of the best thing about the inn was that it is litterally 1 block away from Ocean Avenue, the main street with restaurant and shops. We were there for our 20th anniversary and would definitely consider returning to this inn!

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

137 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    100
    30
    5
    1
    1
See reviews for
21
92
4
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sacramento, California
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2009

The Tally Ho Inn is a small boutique hotel. The older rooms are spacious with elaborate decor. The newer rooms are also spacious, with jacuzzi tubs and great views. Room includes afternoon snacks and continental breakfast. The staff are very friendly and accomodating.

Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2009

We stayed at this Inn during the week before labor day and enjoyed a very good trip! The big advantage here is the location. It is a convenient walk to all the shops in Carmel and the beach. The location is far enough away from Ocean Avenue to remain quiet at night. We could however hear the surf at night by leaving the windows above the sliding glass doors open. Our room was very spacious with a nice bathroom area including a second tv, separate shower and jacuzzi. A gas fireplace and large flat panel tv in the room were a nice touch. The terrace was large with very comfortable furniture. The view from our terrace especially at sunset was absolutely spectacular. Be sure to request rooms with the best view if that is important to you as it varies. The service from the staff was exemplary. They were knowledgable, thoughtful, and very helpful. We were made to feel comfortable at all times. The underground parking area was very convenient and parking is available on the street also. The thing we liked the least was the stairway to reach our room although it was a minor issue. There are rooms at street level also. This Inn is a great value!

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southern California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2009

My husband and I were looking to get away from the heat and hectic pace of Southern California and chose Carmel. After an exhaustive search of places, we chose Tally Ho. It had several features we wanted, most of all included closeness to Ocean (and its cross-streets) where the shops and restaurants are located. Then we wanted something other than a "motel" feeling (i.e. a converted motel into a "cozy room") What we liked about Tally Ho were that it was small so no large crowds (or kids). Each room is beautifully appointed thanks to huge renovations. Our room had a king size bed with a plasma tv. There was a couch, table, x-tra chairs, plenty of light and beautiful (non-hotel type) furniture. We had a private balcony that had a view of the ocean. The bathroom was spectacular with heated marble floor, jacuzzi tub, large shower, lighted make-up mirror and even a tv in the bathroom. A simple american breakfast at Il Fornaio came with the weekday stay and a continental one at Tally Ho for weekend. We're glad we stayed and would stay here again. The price may be higher than you want to spend, but then again, you are not staying in a typical small hotel room - you get a larger than normal, beautifully decorated room to relax in! And, if you are driving - it has underground complimentary parking so no hassle with the street parking.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
northern California
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2009

Stayed in room 105, in a "superior king". The room was amazing-huge, high ceilings, sofa, table and 4 chairs, king bed, and gorgeous patio with view of ocean. Patio had table and 2 comfortable chairs. We opened the french doors to let the sound of the waves in but had to turn on the fireplace because it was too cold (yes, in July). Bathroom was luxerious with heated floor, large glass shower and jacuzzi tub (even a flat screen tv). Lobby courtyard had a fireplace and table/chairs. Underground parking was a real boon in this town of limited parking. Never wanted to leave.

Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Clarita, CA
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2009

We selected the cheapest room option so we were the only ones without a view of the ocean but the hotel had chairs set up so you could enjoy the beautiful view in the courtyard. You could also sit by the fire which was a nice touch for people without a fireplace. The location was great; right between the shops/restaurants and the beach. Parking was great because it was one of the few hotels which guaranteed parking that close to the beach. The room was nice. Big flat screen tv and marble bathrom with individual jacuzzi tub. The room decorations were a bit flowery for our taste but still a comfortable room. The staff was nice. The complimentary breakfast was okay, great oj, some decent pastries and oatmeal.

  • Liked — the location, great view of beach, free parking
  • Disliked — flowery bedding & breakfast
  • Stayed January 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2008

We just got back from a long weekend in Carmel and stayed at the Tally Ho. We had gone to their website and it doesn't do it justice. I made the reservation through the local hotel reservations and when the agent suggested this inn I was skeptical based on their website. When asked what it was I was looking for I said I really wanted as much of a view as possible. We had the upstairs room and it has an awesome view of the town and the ocean. None of the inns are right on the water so it's in the distance but it's only about a 3 block walk to the beach and worth it. There is an outdoor fireplace in the courtyard that was burning most of the time. The staff was nice and we enjoyed the coffee, juice and pastries in the morning. There is a newer section too that has 2 suites with a 2 person jacuzzi, fireplace sitting area etc. that is perfect for honeymooners. We treated our friends who had gotten married on Saturday to one of the suites and they loved it. The Inn even included a bottle of champagne.
The location is fantastic. We walked to the beach, shopping and restaurants. We would definetly recommend the Tally Ho Inn.

  • Liked — Got the
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Tally Ho Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tally Ho Inn

Address: Monte Verde Street at Sixth Street, PO Box 3726, Carmel, CA 93921
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Monterey Peninsula > Carmel
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 30 B&Bs / Inns in Carmel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, TravelClick and Hotels.com so you can book your Tally Ho Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tally Ho Hotel Carmel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tally Ho Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.