We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“So Amazing!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Tally Ho Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Tally Ho Inn to your Saves list
Tally Ho Inn
Monte Verde Street at Sixth Street, PO Box 3726, Carmel, CA 93921   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 28 Carmel B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Scottsdale, Arizona
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“So Amazing!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2014

This hotel was so nice, all the staff were very kind and efficient. We were in room #106 our view was of the sea! The sliding doors opened all the way so that we had nothing between the outdoors and inside. There was nice furniture on the patio so we could sit there and just enjoy our view and the sound of the sea. There were large walls between the balcony of the people in the rooms next door, so you never seen or heard them. We had no noise from the streets below. There was a fireplace in the room and our room had a huge flat screen TV in the main room and the bathroom had a small TV mounted to the wall. The room was very clean. We also got a voucher to eat breakfast at the restaurant next door, and the breakfast was very good. If you need a break from life or want a romantic get away I highly recommend the Tally Ho. We will be going back!

Room Tip: Ask to see the rooms before that is what I did. They showed me three rooms any of them would have b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

168 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    123
    35
    6
    2
    2
See reviews for
26
114
5
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Oakland, California
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2014

My family of four stayed here last week, it was our second stay at this property. We stayed in Room 104 two years ago, and stayed in Room 105 this time -- both are great options in that they face the ocean/are away from the street side (so they are very quiet).

Just like our first stay, we were extremely pleased with the level of service offered as well as the decor and cleanliness of the room. Check-in was easy, and it was nice that they have a coffee and hot chocolate set-up in the office all day as well. The gentleman who showed us to our room did a thorough job of explaining all of the room amenities/how things worked (the frireplace/heater/two t.v. remotes, etc.). What's also great is that the price of the room included 4 breakfast buffet tickets to Il Fornaio which is right across the street.

Although the property is small and the rooms appear to be somewhat close together, it was always quiet - great for a relaxing weekend.

The location of the inn is hard to beat: It is ideally located just off of Ocean Avenue, meaning that it's within walking distance to all of the great shops and restaurants.

I will continue to rate Tally Ho Inn as my top preference when staying in Carmel.

Room Tip: The rooms facing the ocean are quieter in that they don't have any windows facing the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
State College, PA
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2014

In planning our trip to Carmel, I reviewed the postings for hotels and bed and breakfasts in Carmel and kept coming back to the Tally Ho as our choice. We were not disappointed. The Tally Ho is one block from Ocean Avenue and the local shops and restaurants. Its walking distance to the beach. We stayed in room 107 which had a balcony with an ocean view over the tree tops and we could hear the waves. The bathroom was top rate with a two person jacuzzi. The included breakfast buffet at the Pine Inn was good. We enjoyed the complimentary brandy and the outdoor fireplace. Hope to come back again. My only recommendation is that the balcony for 107 could use a power washing, although it is difficult to keep up with the effects of the humidity from the ocean.

Room Tip: Recommend room 107
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alameda
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2014

A big thank you for yet another wonderful stay at The Tally Ho! To Gene, Ned, Jenn , Lucille, Bea and the terrific housekeeping staff, thank you for making our stay in Carmel just like visiting old friends. See you again in November, if not sooner!

Room Tip: All of the rooms we have stayed in over the years have been wonderful. Some are larger, some have mo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Herts,UK
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2014

. . . and Carmel too. The rooms are wonderfully spacious and the bathrooms are great. We spent 2 nights in a ground floor room (107?) with ocean view (albeit distant!) from the very private deck. Our last night we spent in one of the upstairs rooms with a much bigger, though not so private, deck and a better view of the ocean. The location is brilliant just a couple of minutes stroll to the town and 10 minutes down to the beach (go and see the sunset). Plenty of sightseeing - Santa Barbara, 17 mile drive, H1 south - only a short drive and could easily have spent another couple of days here. Only minus is the included breakfast in the hotel across the road which is barely worth the effort of crossing the road but it would mean you don't starve if you were rushing off somewhere.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, Arizona
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2014

We have vacationed many, many years in the Monterey Peninsula area, and have stayed at various B&Bs. Tally Ho Inn in Carmel is our most favorite place by far. The remodeled rooms are clean and attractive, the staff is very helpful and pleasant, the location is ideal, the views are great, and the breakfast selection is very good. We just spent eight nights there, and already look forward to our next visit.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, UK
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2014

We got a great rate for a simply amazing room. Near downtown and some great restaurants. Easy access to the beach. Excellent breakfast across the street (included in the room price). This town is special, and it has a real sense of community. Very dog friendly. I think nearly every person we met on the street said hello, and I like that kind of place. And the Inn reflected that same spirit.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Tally Ho Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tally Ho Inn

Address: Monte Verde Street at Sixth Street, PO Box 3726, Carmel, CA 93921
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Monterey Peninsula > Carmel
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 28 B&Bs / Inns in Carmel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with BookIt.com, Booking.com, Priceline, TravelClick, Odigeo and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Tally Ho Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tally Ho Hotel Carmel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tally Ho Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.