We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A beautiful room, a great location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Tally Ho Inn

Save Saved
You added Tally Ho Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Tally Ho Inn
Monte Verde Street at Sixth Street, PO Box 3726, Carmel, CA 93921   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 30 Carmel B&B and Inns
Oxford, UK
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“A beautiful room, a great location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2014

We got a great rate for a simply amazing room. Near downtown and some great restaurants. Easy access to the beach. Excellent breakfast across the street (included in the room price). This town is special, and it has a real sense of community. Very dog friendly. I think nearly every person we met on the street said hello, and I like that kind of place. And the Inn reflected that same spirit.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

139 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    102
    30
    5
    1
    1
See reviews for
22
93
4
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Walnut Creek, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2014

Discover this lovely Inn with traditional style and one of the best locations in downtown Carmel. The nearby beach is just a few blocks away and there is a covered private parking garage. Great on-site service and room service from Il Fornaio across the street is a bonus! We highly recommend the Tally-Ho Inn.

Room Tip: Room 107 is an end unit with an ocean view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Rapids, Michigan
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2014

We absolutely loved our stay at Tally Hop Inn. We happen to stumble upon this lovely place and had an incredible stay. We spent 3 days here. Upon arrival we we're greeted by Ned he was so helpful about the area and was very a gracious host to say the least. We stayed in 108 which was the icing on the cake for our last few days in California ....loved loved loved it.....we could not have picked a better spot. We could walk to all the shops restaurants and also to the ocean. It's a must stay if you ever want the best of all worlds. Staff was excellent and the service impeccable!
We loved it!

Room Tip: 108 is the best!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salinas, California
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2014

My wife and I stayed at The Tally Ho on Valentine's Day and we had the best time. Just a few blocks form the beach, you can take a nice stroll, enjoy the views, then get room service from The Il Fornaio just across the street. We love this place and will definatley be coming back!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheshire, England
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2014

My husband & I stayed at the Tally Ho Inn for 2 nights, when we booked there was only one room left. Our room was extremely clean and comfortable, but whereas all the other rooms seemed to have blinds, ours had curtains which we kept closed as anyone walking to other rooms could clearly look right into the room. On the first morning we had breakfast at the Pine Inn across the road, on the second morning at Tally Ho. We preferred the Tally Ho breakfast, but both were fine, cereal, oatmeal, fresh fruit and pastries. The staff in the office were very friendly, there were hot drinks and fruit available throughout the day, brandy and cheese in the evening. Carmel is a beautiful town and the Tally Ho Inn could not be in a better location. We would definitely stay here again, but request a room with a sea view.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roswell, Georgia
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2013

We loved our stay at Tally Ho, we had a beautiful spacious room with a king bed, fireplace, sitting area and balcony with a view of the ocean. Our bathroom was large with a beautiful jacuzzi tub. The front office was always cozy with a roaring fire, with wonderful breakfast complete with oatmeal and lovely cheese and hummus for evening snacks. We are looking forward to returning to the Tally Ho on our next trip to Carmel.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2013

We hadn't booked anywhere in Carmel and went straight to the Visitor's Information centre.
The lady who helped us was wonderful. She went through the daily offers from local hotels and after looking round a couple the Tally Ho was definitely our favourite and the best value for money with breakfast included. We got a room for almost $70 less than the usual rate. All the rooms with views were taken but the one we had was just perfect. Beautiful big bed, lovely bathroom and very clean.
The staff on the desk were super friendly and gave us a few tips of where to eat that night.
It was a perfect stay.
Breakfast the next morning was across the road at the Pine Inn. We got there late so the food was a little wilted but given we would have paid at least $15 each to eat out somewhere it was value for money.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Tally Ho Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tally Ho Inn

Address: Monte Verde Street at Sixth Street, PO Box 3726, Carmel, CA 93921
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Monterey Peninsula > Carmel
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 30 B&Bs / Inns in Carmel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, TravelClick and Hotels.com so you can book your Tally Ho Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tally Ho Hotel Carmel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tally Ho Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.