We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“nice place” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Tally Ho Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Tally Ho Inn to your Saves list
Tally Ho Inn
Monte Verde Street at Sixth Street, PO Box 3726, Carmel, CA 93921   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 28 Carmel B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Bay Area, CA
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“nice place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013

We booked a queen room and when I arrived, they upgraded us to a double-queen suite. The suite included a sitting/living room and 2 bathrooms. If we had kids, this would have great, but since it was just my wife and I this was more than enough space. Apparently they ran out of single queen rooms.

The rooms needed a little touch up. You can see the wall paper peeling at the bottom. The bathrooms are updated. The main bathroom had a jacuzzi tub which was great!

The refergerator was very old and barely cold. Luckly we didn't need it.

They needed to include instructions for the climate control. The rooms were hot due to the shine shining in and I wasn't sure if turning it on help or not in cooling the room.

The breakfast was the worse parth of the stay. Most places have a simple contential breakfast, but they couldn't even call theirs a breakfast. They had a few pieces of packaged pastries that were cut up in very tiny portions. They had a fruit platter and some coffee and juice. Don't expect much if you stay here.

Great location to all the restaruants and beach and it has parking besides the street. Only about 8 spots though. Only about 5 blocks from the beach and half a block from the Ocean street where all the shops and restaruants are.

Don't forgot to bring a flashlight to Carmel. There are no street lights outside of the main street, especially if you want to stroll to the beach at night. It is pitch dark!

Room Tip: If you want better views, get the rooms in the back or better yet, get the second floor rooms. The...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

169 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    123
    36
    6
    2
    2
See reviews for
26
115
5
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kennett Square, Pennsylvania
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013

Very comfortable, spacious and relaxed room. We spent two nights there and it was very pleasant. Close to everything in town and to the beach. We also found it a great launching point for Big Sur cruising. Staff was friendly and knowledgable....

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fayetteville, Arkansas
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013

Tally Ho Inn has a good location in Carmel but that's about it. The view was of the ocean but a very small view. Beds were not comfortable and room seemed dated. The staff was friendly. However, it just wasn't worth the money for us. Also, we were there on a Saturday night and a wedding across the street was very loud.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, California
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013

We have stayed a few times at the Tally Ho. The rooms are spacious, include jacuzzi bathtubs, most have really great ocean views and the complimentary morning continental and evening cheese hour are a really nice touch. One of my favorite things about this inn is that it is so centrally located in Carmel: two (or three?) blocks from Carmel beach, and a half-block from the main shopping street and all of it amenities. It's quite affordable for all that it offers. Front desk staff are charming and helpful. There are a few outdoors common areas with seating so you can enjoy fellow guests, the ocean air and the view.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodhall Spa, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013

We had a lovely 2 nights here. We stayed in the suite and as we walked in, our six year old asked if we were staying in a five star hotel! It certainly had the feel of luxury. Our youngest daughter spotted the beds and announced they were for kings and queens. We had 2 bathrooms, one with a large jacuzzi bath, which we all loved. We loved the overall cozy feel of the place - the log fire outside and our living room. The staff were welcoming and the location was fantastic - a five minute stroll down to the beach and just around the corner from the shops of Ocean Avenue. Breakfast across the road in Il Fornaio restaurant was very good, although the same both days, so I guess if you stayed much longer you might get fed up of it! Underground parking was useful and we were offered the chance to leave the car there for another hour or so after check-out, if we so wished, which was kind.

Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toledo
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

The inn is in an excellent location-just blocks from all the shopping and dining that Carmel has to offer and just a little further the other way was Carmel beach which is lovely. Parking was included and that was nice as street parking was mainly limited to 2 hours. The
staff were very friendly.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albuquerque
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013

We spent five nights at the Tally Ho Inn in Carmel. The Inn was delightful. We were fortunate to have the large suite, #110 with a large deck. We especially liked the on site parking which is not to be found everywhere in Carmel. The place is less than a block off Ocean Ave. so it is close to shops and restaurants. The help was friendly and accomodating. We go to Carmel ever year and will be planning to return to the Tally Ho.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Tally Ho Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tally Ho Inn

Address: Monte Verde Street at Sixth Street, PO Box 3726, Carmel, CA 93921
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Monterey Peninsula > Carmel
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 28 B&Bs / Inns in Carmel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TravelClick, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Tally Ho Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tally Ho Hotel Carmel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tally Ho Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.