We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Carmel Getaway” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Tally Ho Inn

Save Saved
You added Tally Ho Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Tally Ho Inn
Monte Verde Street at Sixth Street, PO Box 3726, Carmel, CA 93921   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 31 Carmel B&B and Inns
San Francisco, California, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Great Carmel Getaway”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

I love this place. right in the center of town, but off the main street. Close to the beach. wonderful views, private decks, great fireplaces. Some good mid-week eals. Usually meet some friendly floks around the group fireplace. A wonderful experience in all seasons.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

130 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    94
    29
    5
    1
    1
See reviews for
21
85
4
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Redwood City, California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013

Our team had a offsite in Carmel a couple weeks ago. Our team took over the Pine Inn and we had to use the sister inn - Tally Ho Inn to accommodate the overlap. The check in area is very rustic - cognac at happy hour and there is a burning fireplace to sit and chat. The remodeled rooms are tastefully decorated, cozy, and clean. The rooms have a wonderful ocean view -very upscale with fireplace, flat screen TV in sitting area. The bathroom has separate jacuzzi, marble shower, flat-screen TV - very spacious. The bedroom has double closets and dresser with another big flat-screen TV and Bose sounds. My husband and I plan to make a trip very soon!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, CA
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2013

Our first stay at the Tally Ho Inn 01/08/13 - 01/11/13. The staff is wonderful, friendly and informative. Our room (superior king suite) is one of the newer rooms on the property. Very warm and comfortable, and we loved the fact that you can slide the doors facing the ocean all the way open. We did not want to leave our room! You are walking distance to many restaurants and Il Fornio is right across the street (adjacent to the Pine Inn) and provides the continental breakfast (eggs, bacon, breakfast potatoes, oatmeal, yogurt, toast, muffins, fresh fruit, coffee, etc.). Parking below our Inn, which was very handy and included in the price of your stay. The small office provides fresh coffee and tea in the morning, and brandy in the evening. We love the location and you will too! I can only think of two things that can be improved upon: a small coffee maker in our room, and fluffier towels. The heated tile floor in the bathroom was a real treat.

Room Tip: Several room have decks and ocean views. I feel they are worth the money as you get a wonderful vie...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Barbara, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

We have stayed at this gem of an inn several times. Its location is great, a block off Ocean Ave., where Carmel's quaintest shops are located, and 2+ short blocks to the most-photographed beach. The remodeled rooms are elegant, comfortable and clean. Amenities: flat-screen TV, fireplace, free internet, marble bath with jacuzzi tub and separate shower. Best of all: views. Glass doors open and fold out to decks that overlook cypress trees and rooftops to the ocean. It is quiet enough to hear the surf. Il Fornaio restaurant, across the street, is acclaimed for its Italian specialities and serves a full buffet breakfast included during the week. Locals love its Bakery. What else? The Tally Ho staff could not be nicer! Also appreciated: free underground parking since it is notoriously difficult to park in downtown Carmel. All in all, a great place to stay!

Room Tip: Upper rooms have the best views, but the lower rooms, where we stayed, are also a good choice. They...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney Australia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

I was ticking off the list of things I have always wanted to do being a drive from SF to LA via Carmel, Big Sur etc. I didn't have a lot of time to plan and book as had been to a work conference and had to get back to Aus, cross the international dateline and lose a day. I was hoping for a dramatic cliff view but when I started looking at maps I realised that Carmel would be the best place to base myself to check out Pebble Beach and Big Sur and have lunch at Nepenthe, all things on my list of things to do. I arrived in Carmel and went to the visitor's bureau. They were fantastic and we worked out what would be suitable for what I was looking for. I went down to Tally Ho and liked the relaxed feel, the view, the spaciness of the rooms and the bath. I had a very relaxed 2 nights at Tally Ho. Incredibly comfortable and a great place to base yourself for day trips as some retail therapy in Carmel. The front office people were all delightful and I would recommend this property and hope to bring my husband back one day.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
curlycue
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012

We just returned from a weekend in Carmel to meet friends for dinner and go to a wedding. The Tally Ho was recommended as a great place to stay if you are tired of paying for the Lodge at Pebble or Spanish Bay both of which have become insanely expensive for what they offer.

The Tally Ho's decor is considerable dated but the advantages far outweigh any negatives. Our room was spotless, the linen and bed were extremely comfortable (slept like babies) and the really cool advantage is that the Inn is within walking distance of all kinds of shopping, the beach and great restaurants. The icing on the cake is that you get a parking spot underneath the inn. At approximately $350 per night, this is all a good value for Carmel.

The rooms are huge and the bathrooms also huge and with heated marble floors and a big shower. Each room has a big-screen TV over the fireplace and a little TV in the bath and a deck. Many rooms have rooftops - ocean views.

All in all, I'd recommend the Tally Ho Inn. Very comfortable and very nice people at the front desk.

Room Tip: enjoyed room 105 - not too many stairs from the parking lot and a nice enough view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2012

Stayed here for one night in October in the cheapest available room, a Queen with no view. The price was reasonable for Carmel and Tally Ho is located close to the beach and the center of town. The room was decorated with a what I'm guessing was meant to be a British-type theme. It felt a bit dated, but it was clean and comfortable. Parking is free under the hotel. The breakfast isn't substantial but sitting with a view of the ocean and a cup of coffee is always nice. There is a deck area with ocean views for those who don't have a private deck with their room. I would stay here again if passing through Carmel.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Tally Ho Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tally Ho Inn

Also Known As:
Tally Ho Hotel Carmel
Tally Ho Hotel
Address: Monte Verde Street at Sixth Street, PO Box 3726, Carmel, CA 93921
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Monterey Peninsula > Carmel
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 31 B&Bs / Inns in Carmel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Tally Ho Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tally Ho Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.