We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great little place. Enjoyed it thoroughly!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Mission Ranch

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Carmel
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Mission Ranch
Save
You added Mission Ranch to your Saves list
26270 Dolores Street, Carmel, CA 93923   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 23 Hotels in Carmel
Certificate of Excellence
Madrid
Level Contributor
67 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“Great little place. Enjoyed it thoroughly!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2011

Despite the fact that they were busy with a Golf tournament, we were treated very well indeed with a noticeable personal touch that gave us the impression we were "friends"!

Great restaurant, cosy rooms (nothing luxurious, but comfortable nevertheless) and the combination of fireplace and views over the fields was marvellous!

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

369 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    200
    110
    31
    17
    11
See reviews for
64
198
2
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (94)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2011

Our trip to CA included three days in Sonoma, five days in SanFran and three nights at the ranch. If I had it to do over, I'd do the five days at the ranch and three in San Francisco. The room was lovely and relaxing, the staff attentive, but in a way that left you alone as you wanted to be. The views of the ocean in the distance, and the sheep in the field just made you want to relax. We actually felt so comfortable that we slept with the doors open to hear the waves in the distance... we never sleep with doors open in a place we don't know.

The food at the restaurant on site was wonderful, so much so that we had dinner there every night instead of venturing into town, though we did that for shopping and lunch. Breakfast left a lot to be desired, but the rest of this place more than made up for it.

A fun extra was that if you know anything about Mr. Eastwood's movies, you'll find props from his movies all around the grounds. They aren't pointed out, and if you don't know the movies you won't recognize things like the truck from the Bridges of Madison County sitting outside the "office" that you can use to access a printer if you need to print out something, or the pot belly stove that he used under the poncho in the Good the Bad and the Ugly. Just an all around wonderful experience.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Titusville, FL
Level Contributor
87 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2011

Very relaxing and quiet. The grounds are beautifully manicured.

I've stayed here twice and will stay again if given the chance.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mountains Near Yosemite
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2010

Stayed one night at the Mission Ranch. The grounds are lovely. Our 13-year-old son loved the sheep! View of ocean was far in the distance. Breakfast was fine. Our room was in the main barn. The good: it was very quiet. The bad: cobwebs on ceiling, broken mirror in bathroom. The ugly: old carpet on floors, ugly paintings on walls. The very, very good is the restaurant. Excellent food. One of the best pasta dishes I've ever had (pasta with prawns and artichokes....artichokes were fresh...fantastic!) I recommend the restaurant, but not the room.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ottawa
Level Contributor
49 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2010

great place to stay in carmel just south of downtown. lovely peaceful surroundings. variety of rooms- see the website. we stayed in the hayloft which was very quiet and spacious. nice big bathroom. good restaurant/bar on site.. staff in office were nice except one person at check in seemed preoccupied, he was better during the rest of the stay. 6 tennis courts on site also.
clint eastwood has done a great job with this former dairy farm.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
el granada
Level Contributor
30 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2010

I have been trying to stay here for years and finally got in, this is indeed an amazing place with a great paddock and sheep to boot in the meadow. We stayed in the honeymoon cottage which was three rooms, a separate yard, and porch with rocking chairs. The room and everything was immaculate and as soon as we arrived there was Clint Eastwood, a regular guy who even posed to take a picture with me and my visiting cousin from Australia. It gets better the Mission Ranch piano bar and restaurant right across from our cottage had amazing food great service at an outstanding value. The outside seating area is also fantastic and there is nothing bad to be said about the quaint hideaway in Carmel.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St, Louis
Level Contributor
29 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2010

Our stay at Mission Ranch was delightful. It is an oasis of serene relaxation. The grazing sheep and deer among the storybook cottages was truly magical. The restaurant was hopping on a Saturday night with good music, great food and service, and even a short visit from Clint himself, having a glass of wine at the bar. There is no doubt if we ever get back to Carmel, we will stay at Mission Ranch the entire stay!

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Carmel hotels
0.8 mi away
La Playa Carmel
La Playa Carmel
#5 of 23 in Carmel
4.5 of 5 stars 467 reviews
0.8 mi away
Carmel Mission Inn
Carmel Mission Inn
#11 of 23 in Carmel
4.0 of 5 stars 1,289 reviews
1.0 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Carmel Bay View Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Carmel River Inn
Carmel River Inn
#20 of 23 in Carmel
3.5 of 5 stars 332 reviews
0.9 mi away
L'Auberge Carmel
L'Auberge Carmel
#6 of 23 in Carmel
4.5 of 5 stars 273 reviews
1.2 mi away
Tradewinds Carmel
Tradewinds Carmel
#7 of 23 in Carmel
4.5 of 5 stars 372 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mission Ranch? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mission Ranch

Address: 26270 Dolores Street, Carmel, CA 93923
Location: United States > California > Monterey Peninsula > Carmel
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Carmel
#3 Family Hotel in Carmel
#10 Romantic Hotel in Carmel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 31
Also Known As:
Mission Ranch Carmel California

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mission Ranch, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.