We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of the Best Experiences in California and Best Value!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Mission Ranch

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Carmel
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Mission Ranch
26270 Dolores Street, Carmel, CA 93923   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 21 hotels in Carmel
el granada
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“One of the Best Experiences in California and Best Value!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2010

I have been trying to stay here for years and finally got in, this is indeed an amazing place with a great paddock and sheep to boot in the meadow. We stayed in the honeymoon cottage which was three rooms, a separate yard, and porch with rocking chairs. The room and everything was immaculate and as soon as we arrived there was Clint Eastwood, a regular guy who even posed to take a picture with me and my visiting cousin from Australia. It gets better the Mission Ranch piano bar and restaurant right across from our cottage had amazing food great service at an outstanding value. The outside seating area is also fantastic and there is nothing bad to be said about the quaint hideaway in Carmel.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

249 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    131
    74
    23
    15
    6
See reviews for
34
140
1
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
St, Louis
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2010

Our stay at Mission Ranch was delightful. It is an oasis of serene relaxation. The grazing sheep and deer among the storybook cottages was truly magical. The restaurant was hopping on a Saturday night with good music, great food and service, and even a short visit from Clint himself, having a glass of wine at the bar. There is no doubt if we ever get back to Carmel, we will stay at Mission Ranch the entire stay!

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2010

Loved our stay in the Farmhouse at Mission Ranch. The room was lovely, view of the meadow with sheep and the ocean in the distance was beautiful. You feel like you are away from it all and yet Carmel, 17-mile drive, Point Lobos, etc. is all close by and easy to get to.
The piano bar was great fun in the evening. We went there on our first night to check it out and had so much fun we went back the next 2 evenings as well.
Only drawback was the continental breakfast. It wasn't horrible, I just had higher expectations than the same muffins, breads and cold cereal served in a tennis centre.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ohio
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2010

We chose a Triplex room. From there we could see the sheep, mountains and the ocean. The room was very clean and beautiful, upscale ranch if that makes any sense. We had a fireplace, our own patio overlooking the aformentioned view, whirlpool, very large room, etc. The staff were exceptional, I felt as though they were very well trained and there to really "take care of us." The breakfast was continental, with many options, one of the best we have had. We were within walking distance of downtown Carmel, (if you like to walk.) There was a room where we could use their computer and print out any personal information we needed. I wish we had scheduled two nights here instead of one. Very romantic.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2010

MIssion Ranch is a very quaint and amazing place to stay! We decided to spend less money and stay in one of the rooms in the Main Barn. The rooms are older but still nice. The grounds at the ranch are stunning! We enjoyed a fun night at the bar listening to the piano player sing. Great crowd of regulars who shared lots of great information about what to see in the area!!

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Red Sox Nation
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2010

We were headed from SF to Paso Robles, and knew we wanted to stroll around Monterey & Carmel, and then be able to hit coastal route 1 & Big Sur for the next day. Mission Ranch was the perfect stop-over. We arrived in the late afternoon, and checked into one of the bungalows in the Meadow Fourplex. Lovely patio, overlooking the meadow and about 40 grazing sheep. I walked up to the restaurant and got a chilled bottle of white wine and a couple of glasses -- we watched the sun set before heading back to the restaurant for dinner.

Both the accommodations and dinner were very nice. This is a great spot: it's relaxing and cozy. The bed was very comfortable, and the room & bathroom were very clean. The restaurant was busier than I had expected for a Monday evening. Every table was full, and there was a few parties waiting. They don't take reservations, but as a guest, you get perferred seating. Our server was a viery nice young man, eager to please. I had the short ribs and my husband had the prime rib. The food was hot, tasty, and nicely presented. In the restaurant, there is historic photos and info about the property - very interesting, since it's had quite a history since the 1940s.

Breakfast in the AM is served in the guest center at the tennis courts. Complimentary breakkast includes lots of baked goods, fruit, yogurt, cereal, coffee, etc. Nothing particularly delicious, but it was enough to get us started on our way south down the coast.

We enjoyed our time at the ranch, and would definitely stay there again. This is a historic part of Carmel, and the current management presents it as a comfortable, quiet, respite for travelers. It's not a posh or elegant resort, it's more comfort and cozy. Mr. Eastwood has owned the ranch since 1986, so I say thank you for saving it from condo development, and for hanging on to it for all these years.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NewEngland-Florida
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2010

I found Mission Ranch on Trip Advisor and there were so many nice comments that we decided to stay there. I only stayed one night but wish I had stayed several. It is not your typical hotel. There are several old buildings on the "ranch" that are now very nice accomodations. I praise Clint Eastwood for restoring this picturesque property and not allowing developers to ruin it. The pictures online don't do it justice. From the terrace of the quaint restaurant you overlook the pasture with sheep and the Pacific in the distance - what a view! In July, there were wildflower gardens throughout the ranch - beautiful. There's a piano bar that was great fun and very entertaining. We didn't walk to town as it's a little hike, but it is a short drive. We loved Carmel - lots of shops & restaurants and it is a very classy town. Can't wait to go back to Mission Ranch!

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Mission Ranch? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mission Ranch

Also Known As:
Mission Ranch Hotel
Mission Ranch Carmel California
Address: 26270 Dolores Street, Carmel, CA 93923
Location: United States > California > Monterey Peninsula > Carmel
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#6 Business Hotel in Carmel
#8 Family Hotel in Carmel
#9 Romantic Hotel in Carmel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mission Ranch, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Mission Ranch to your Saves list