We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful place to stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Mission Ranch

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Carmel
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Mission Ranch
Save
You added Mission Ranch to your Saves list
26270 Dolores Street, Carmel, CA 93923   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 23 Hotels in Carmel
Certificate of Excellence
Kansas City, Missouri
Level Contributor
17 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Wonderful place to stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2009

We enjoyed our one nightstay here while exploring Big Sur and Point Lobos State Reserve. The restuarant on site served a nice variety of seafood and steak. Our cottage looked out over the bay and the hotels heard of fuzzy sheep. The night was quiet and the fireplace in our room kept us nice and cozy.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

352 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    189
    105
    30
    17
    11
See reviews for
57
195
2
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (90)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Mexico City
Level Contributor
15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2009

Was expecting more from a speciality property in Carmel. Rooms are average, and like others have said, needs updating. We stayed in the farmhouse on the 2nd floor for one night. Although you can see a beach, you cannot get there from the property. Requires a 30 minute walk or 5 minute drive.
The breakfast is fine and includes various cereals, fruits, yogurt, bagels/toast--the standard continental, cold breakfast.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2009

I can't believe we stayed at the same property that others are describing. We stayed in Room 27 which (after having read reviews and looked at pictures) was not at all what we expected. Trying to get into the room was our first challenge. The lock didn't work properly. We thought the key would break off in the lock; it was nearly impossible to get in or out. Once inside we were hit by an excess of roof 'freshener' that forced us to quickly throw open both windows. Our room had only 1 chair - an old upholstered glider; not adequate for 2 people. The TV was a small screen, sitting on the dresser. The room had 2 heaters (at least that's what we think they were) resting on the floor. No central heat, no thermostat and no AC. Each appeared to be very old and well past its prime. We were grateful for the ceiling fan above the bed which helped cool us overnight. It was not possible to sleep with the window open as our room was adjacent to a well travelled road. The bathroom was 50's style at best; nothing pleasant about it. The toilet ran all night long and we had to fill the tank with water using the ice bucket in order to flush. The sink faucet was also a challenge.

On the bright side, the bar and restaurant associated with the hotel were lovely. Beautiful view, fun piano bar, pretty good food with excellent, friendly service. Not the least bit pretentious.

I'd recommend this to a friend with trepidation, hoping that all the positive reviews are true and wanting to believe that we just had terribly bad luck. In retrospect, I believe we should have complained strenuously about our accommodations and insisted on being given another room. But, that's not something one should have to do to be given a decent room.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Level Contributor
451 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 272 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2009

Historic property. Rooms have a rustic charm to them - it was a ranch, after all! We stayed in the main barn. The description says Clint hired the most expert craftsman to restore it when he saved it from demolition in 1986. Maybe so, but it is looking a bit worn. That was, after all, 23 years ago! It was fine for a "different" one night experience on our trip up the Pacific Coast Highway, quiet, and a good jumping off point. The restaurant was OK, not outstanding, though we heard many locals are regulars.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Louis, MO
Level Contributor
143 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 210 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2009

We stayed here in mid-October last Fall. I had debated over several seemingly attractive places for our 3-night, first-time visit to Carmel ..... and finally settled on Clint Eastwood's Mission Ranch -- and I'm very glad we did. It is a beautiful place, with flowers everywhere, and all the farm buildings and property still so well manicured.

In the end, of course, it's your own room that really counts -- and we had a nice, well-appointed, spacious room in a Meadowview Triplex unit, with fireplace and a bay window. Very good bathroom facilities, with a mini-fridge in it that came in very handy. The only possible complaint for us (and not much of one) was that our deck was completely uncovered, and since it faced south, was in the sun at all times. There are two rooms on the bottom of each triplex unit, and the other one had a completely covered deck in the corner of the building (just the design of each unit).

The property consists of many different types of units and rooms to choose from: our type, the Meadowview Four-plexes, the Ranch Triplexes, the farm house, bunk house, hay barn, etc. -- all very different. I would not have changed our selection -- it was newer, in a good location, with a nice view of the meadow and ocean in the distance. But I'm sure other rooms were neat and cozy in other ways as well. One note of caution for the first-timer: the Ranch triplex units have no view, and face directly toward the neighboring elementary school (and could be noisy at certain times of the day during the school year).

We did not eat at the restaurant for lunch or dinner, but it must be good, because it was very crowded every night we were there ......... a very popular place in its own right -- even to the point of causing some parking problems one night. They do serve a free continental breakfast for their guests, in the same dining room. It was okay, did the job for us, but nothing special -- no hot items beyond a toaster.

The Ranch is located just behind the Carmel Mission (hence the name), a splendid attraction in itself that should not be missed. There are other much more expensive, luxurious alternatives to consider when going to Carmel, but for this price range, I didn't see anything else while we were in Carmel that I wished we had stayed at. We would definitely go back to Mission Ranch ......... and we met several people there that said they were "regulars" -- returning year after year. That speaks for itself.

Thank you Clint for saving this wonderful place for others to come and enjoy.

  • Stayed October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
palo alto
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2009

Stayed three nights in one of the meadow view suites (# 40) and we were right over a meadow with sheep grazing and newborn lambs playing. In the distance was the beach and ocean...a magic view. Played dominoes in the bar by the fire before dinner....good food, warm service...just what we were looking for. Great weekend get away..short drive to Carmel village and Big Sur.....this place will become a favorite

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La Jolla, CA
Level Contributor
23 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2008

I stay at the Mission Ranch one week each year with a group of friends. We stay in the farm house. It's not the most luxurious place I have ever stayed, and its rooms are in need of a little updating, but you can't beat the atmosphere of the place. It feels like you are at grandma's house when you visit. The rooms are decorated in a minimal country decor. The beds are comfortable but the heaters make a lot of noise when they kick in. The bathrooms are small, but serviceable. Room 31, downstairs, is the only room with a bathtub, the rest have showers. Room 32 is actually two rooms- a bedroom and sitting room. Room 36 has the nicest view.
The restaurant is very good and gets a very active happy hour crowd from the neighborhood nighly.
It's a nice place to relax and the staff is friendly and helpful.

  • Liked — Beautiful location
  • Disliked — no internet access
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Mission Ranch? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mission Ranch

Address: 26270 Dolores Street, Carmel, CA 93923
Location: United States > California > Monterey Peninsula > Carmel
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Carmel
#6 Family Hotel in Carmel
#10 Romantic Hotel in Carmel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 31
Also Known As:
Mission Ranch Carmel California

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mission Ranch, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.