We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Vintage Legacy versus Faded Glory” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Mission Ranch

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Carmel
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Mission Ranch
Save
You added Mission Ranch to your Saves list
26270 Dolores Street, Carmel, CA 93923   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 23 Hotels in Carmel
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Vintage Legacy versus Faded Glory”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

I have stayed at multiple legacy properties. The challenge is to strike a viable balance between maintaining the authentic vintage nature of the property, but providing guests with appropriate modern amenities and services. There will always be a wide range of opinions of how well this is accomplished as is evident from prior reviews of this property in TA. I suggest you read them. I was here w 11 friends for a reunion. For us the best part was gathering at the piano bar: predinner happy hour, then again late night when rotating local singers were accompanied by talented pianists. Lots of locals in attendance. Sunset on the restaurant patio fronting the sheep pasture was quite lovely.

Stayed April 2015, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

337 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    180
    99
    30
    17
    11
See reviews for
52
188
2
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (87)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Marina, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We had the most breathtaking experience sharing Mission Ranch with our family and friends for our wedding. The staff is awesome and very attentive. We couldn't have asked for a more perfect day with the soft breeze, sunshine, gloriouos green grass, and the sheep in the background during our ceremony. We are so blessed and thankful.

Room Tip: Honeymoon Cottage was a rustic cozy place to host family and friends for our wedding!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2015, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

If you want a modern, bustling, active place to stay this is not the spot for you. The dining room brought me to the Mission Ranch several years ago and I vowed to return for a stay. While planning a driving trip from Oakland to San Diego, there was no question that we would spend one night here. We were in the bunkhouse with a lovely rustic living area with fireplace, 2 bedrooms and a deck overlooking the meadow. I could sit for hours on the deck in the provided rockers enjoying the scenery and watching the lambs. While you are there, don't miss out on the dining room. I especially love their scalloped potatoes and freshly grated horseradish. I will be back again when I can spend more than one night.

Room Tip: You may pay a bit more, but rooms with a meadow view are worth the price.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2015, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SoCal
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The beauty of this place is unbelievable! We stayed in a beautiful cabin with a fireplace and a front porch with rocking chairs on a meadow complete with grazing sheep and the Pacific ocean in the background. Even if you aren't staying here you must stop by for a drink and apps since the restaurant has the same view as our cabin. There are no reservations for dinner unless you are staying here so we decided to try it. Didn't love the limited menu, very small and loud restaurant, but it seems all of Camel is trying to get a table here or on the patio for dinner. My son didn't want to leave and I wished we had booked 2 nights instead of 1 but we had other plans the rest of our trip up the CA coast. I've stayed at places that weren't as nice for the same price, can't imagine staying anywhere else if we come back to Carmel.

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saline, Michigan
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Loved our stay here! So as not to repeat so many other reviewers, let me just say that we loved: the setting, the views, the grounds, the restaurant, the bar, the old-school vibe, the very pleasant and professional service, the very fair price ... If we were to complain about anything, and only somewhat, it would be the bed (on the hard side), the bedding (too old school), the couch and chair (a bit worn), and the shower's handle (hard to turn). But you could argue that some of these things contributed to the rustic charm. We'll definitely prefer to stay here on a return visit to Carmel. So glad that Mr. Eastwood has preserved Mission Ranch!

Room Tip: Our deck, in an upstairs Meadowview Triplex, was spacious and wonderfull. Though the sun got hot qui...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wausau, Wisconsin
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We stayed at The Mission Ranch last Fall for three nights! (2014) We have a friend who lives in Carmel who highly recommended this place as a great value and a place with lots of charm and charactor! Her observation and recommendation was right on! Any of the Meadowview Fourplex or Triplex units are wonderful. Ours overlooked the meadow and we enjoyed watching the sheep by day and night. To our right we could see their restaurant which is a very popular stop for tourists and locals. Very good food and drinks! Our unit had a fireplace. The rooms are very nice but also common and not fancy. If you are looking for a peaceful stay and enjoy mother nature and beautiful grounds, then this may be the perfect place for you to stay. Parking was also very convenient and close to our unit. The breakfast in the tennis court area was basic and not that special but it did a good job to help start our days. Our only complaint was the heating system. It took a day to cool our place down as the previous people had the temp turned way up high and we could not control the heat and it took 24 hours to cool our unit down. We were told that it is was a Euro style heating system and that is how it works. Other then this, we had a wonderful experience and would recommend this place to others. We used this as our base to explore the Monterey area, the Pacific Coast Highway, Big Sur, and more. We did not see get to see Clint!

  • Stayed September 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

The Mission Ranch has been on my Bucket List for nearly 30 years, from the first time I drove by the property. My expectations were exceeded by the exceptional service, peaceful and tranquil setting, impeccable attention to detail in every way, casual, intimate and delicious dining, and a haven in the midst of tiny bustling Carmel. Thank you for turning this homestead into a unique guest experience and making my dream come true!

Room Tip: While I don't think you could go wrong in any of the unique accommodations, we enjoyed having fu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Mission Ranch? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mission Ranch

Address: 26270 Dolores Street, Carmel, CA 93923
Location: United States > California > Monterey Peninsula > Carmel
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Carmel
#6 Family Hotel in Carmel
#10 Romantic Hotel in Carmel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 31
Also Known As:
Mission Ranch Carmel California

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mission Ranch, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.