We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Enjoyable stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Mission Ranch

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Carmel
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Mission Ranch
Save
You added Mission Ranch to your Saves list
26270 Dolores Street, Carmel, CA 93923   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 23 Hotels in Carmel
Little England
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“Enjoyable stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2014

Only stayed for one night in Carmel and chose this location. Check in was smooth parked close and the room was very nice. We had a good view from the balcony out over the fields to the sea. We used the restaurant which was convenient and had a good nights sleep. The room is probably due for a refurb, it is perfectly ok but some of the decor looks a little dated but that did not detract from our stay at all.

Room Tip: Restaurant was busy so make a booking.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

317 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    168
    94
    27
    17
    11
See reviews for
44
181
2
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (78)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Orinda, California
Top Contributor
138 reviews 138 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2014

We paid $300 ish for a basic room looking at the pasture out to the beach...Yes bathroom needs a face lift and yes the carpet and bedding should get updated-but the patio with charming rockers, sheep right outside, and the fireplace are what make it great. The charm the palce exudes is catchy and for an area that specializes in $800 a night average rooms-this one felt worth it! Breakfast in tennis club was fine-other reviewers were harsh-what do you want-this is not Pebble beach! eat some yogurt and get out and walk the neighborhood, see the mission, go to beach and town-charming! Thanks for an easy and fun stay here. Also I left my nightgown by accident (yes the very fancy one I rarely wear) and they called the same day and sent it-normally housekeeping keeps my accidentally left items as nice as this!! I was impressed.

Room Tip: get the room by the tennis court by sheep barn-nice and no stairs
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chandler, Arizona
Top Contributor
121 reviews 121 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2014

We went to the restaurant for drinks (wine and beer) and appetizers and were pleased by the restful sheep grazing off the patio. We could sit there all night! They will not light the heaters for only apps, diners only, but that was ok with me, I understand. We could take up some valuable dining property there~

We just had chips/salsa and some seared ahi, and both were nice - a refill on the chips helped a bit, too.

It is pricey, but it's a treat, and well worth the tranquility - I loved that there was "one" black sheep~

This would be place I would love to stay with my husband- period homes/buildings, that seem like a B & B set up. Rocking chairs are set up on the buildings' verandas, and the huge old trees make it quite a little tucked away treasure.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St Peter Port, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
117 helpful votes 117 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2014

As a Travel Agent I had organised a trip to California , starting off in San fransisco and eventually ending up in San Diego and staying at various places on the way , I knew that Clint Eastwood was Mayor for Carmel a few years ago and that he owned a restaurant in Carmel so thought it would be nice to actually go and eat at the Restaurant , I tried to google the Restaurant (Hogs Breath ) to find that actually Clint had sold the Hogs Breath and and bought the Mission ranch as they were planning to build Condos in its place.

I found the website for the Mission Ranch and it was absolutely lovely and decided that we would stay there the only problem was trying to decide which room type we would like to stay in , we eventually opted for the Bunker Cottage which consisted of a little cottage with a wrap around verandah and two rocking chairs on it , two bedrooms and one bathroom and a lounge with spectacular views of Carmel Beach in the distance and the fields with all of the sheep In.

When we arrived it was quite cold and very foggy and their was hardly anyone around and we actually felt quite cold , we checked in and were advised that bunker cottage had its own parking space right outside , we parked the car and went in and it was absolutely lovely , it was one of the oldest buildings on the ranch dating to 1852 , the only downside was that the bar was not open to be able to get a coffee or a drink so we ended up getting back in the car and going in to down town Carmel for something to drink.

When we returned to Mission Ranch we popped to the bar and by this time it was buzzing , we sat there and had a glass of prosseco and watched a gentleman playing the piano which was very good , we booked a table for our meal for 1900 and when we came back the restaurant after having a shower the place was absolutely packed , although it felt cold they had heaters dotted around outside on the patio and we elected to sit outside as we all felt nice and warm .

We all ordered Steaks and they were so tasty , we didn't have room for a sweet but they looked lovely , it was just so peaceful to sit outside with no noise of traffic , we had the impression that it was the in place to eat in Carmel and all we were waiting for is Mr Eastwood to walk in and start playing the piano but unfortunately this time it wasn't meant to be.

It was booked with complimentary coffee and pastries in the Tennis Club House and when we got there it was far more than that , there was orange juice , coffee , Tea, Danish pastries , toast , muffins , fruits yogurt so it was pleasant surprise to set us up before we continued our travels.


I can recommend staying at the Mission Ranch , we only stayed for one night as we were passing through , and there doesn't really appear to be a lot to unless you like playing Tennis but we are so pleased we stayed there.

Thank you mr Eastwood for giving us the Mission Ranch Experience

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2014

I've stayed at the Mssion Ranch in the Farmhouse, and eat at the restaurant at least four times per month when I'm in Carmel for the July and August events. There's nothing like the Mission Ranch. As an inn, it's charming and warm with wonderful rooms. That it's owned by Clint Eastwood is a big plus! The restaurant is always a great place to go for dinner - in any weather. It overlooks the Bird Sanctuary and Carmel River Beach - a view that can't be beat. The food is good - the menu is relatively heavy with large portions - but you can have an appetizer and salad and enjoy it. Best bar and piano bar in town! The back room of the restaurant is perfect for small dinner parties, and eating on the patio is everyone's favorite - so expect a wait. But it's all worth it - the Mission Ranch is a special place in a town of special places!

Room Tip: A room in the front of the farmhouse with the view, or in the cottages are first choice. Also, the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wausau, Wisconsin
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2014

We stayed at the Mission Ranch on Memorial Day weekend for my sister-in-laws wedding and it was beautiful. We had a cute main barn room and the views were fantastic from everywhere. We even saw Clint Eastwood and he took a picture with my now brother-in-law who is a Marine. The complimentary breakfast by the tennis courts was just right to start the day. The grounds were well maintained and the staff was great! The wedding was beautiful and everyone complimented my sister-in-law on the venue and food! I would definitely go back and recommend this place to everyone

Stayed May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Modesto, California, United States
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2014

We had one of the meadow view rooms. Very pleasant. I would describe the room as rustic yet clean and well maintained. Parking is wonderful! Other places we've stayed at in Carmel have lacked parking.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Mission Ranch? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mission Ranch

Address: 26270 Dolores Street, Carmel, CA 93923
Location: United States > California > Monterey Peninsula > Carmel
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Carmel
#14 Romantic Hotel in Carmel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 31
Also Known As:
Mission Ranch Carmel California

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mission Ranch, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.