We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The piano bar is the place to be. Won't forget this place any time soon.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Mission Ranch

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Carmel
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Mission Ranch
Save
You added Mission Ranch to your Saves list
26270 Dolores Street, Carmel, CA 93923   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 23 Hotels in Carmel
Knoxville
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
84 helpful votes 84 helpful votes
“The piano bar is the place to be. Won't forget this place any time soon.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2014

Carmel is a charming town and this is a lovely setting. It's a drive to town for dinner but the nightlife is right on the property. The rooms are definitely dated, old furniture and retro bedspreads. It is not a luxury hotel. If you have heavy luggage, don't stay on the tops floors because you'll be carrying everything up the stairs yourself. Still, compared to some of the other hotels we stayed at during this trip, the St Regis, Bernardo's and the Post Ranch Inn, the Mission Ranch was a bargain.
We stayed two nights. The first night we ate in town and stopped by the piano bar based on the comments we read. My husband just happens to have a great voice. I mentioned this to the host and the bartender and they obviously had heard that one before. So we sat at the bar and listened for a while to get the lay of the land. While we were sitting there, a few servers came up to the bartender, disgruntled and complaining about the patrons sitting at their tables. We decided right then that we would not be eating there the next night like we had planned.
It is apparent that the bar is full of regulars who like to have a good time. I did talk my husband into singing and it was so fun. Dozens of screaming tipsy women singing at the top of their lungs. They would not him leave until the bar closed. So proud! Afterward BOTH the bartender and the host pulled me aside and said I wasn't kidding!
The lower level of the meadow view triplex is probably the best room to request. The continental breakfast was a bummer. They do have a restaurant so it would be nice if they served something a bit nicer.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

317 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    168
    94
    27
    17
    11
See reviews for
44
181
2
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (78)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Moscow, Russia
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2014

Once again we looked at many options for our stay in Carmel so we decided on the Mission Ranch for a few days and then move into downtown ( 12 minutes walk:) ) for a couple of days.
The Mission Ranch is a real joy, we booked one of the Meadowview Fourplex rooms ,39 , facing the meadow with the legendary Mission Ranch sheep. The whole experience here is amazing , we could sit on our deck and observe the meadow with the beach and ocean beyond . Initially we thought we could walk directly to the beach but we were told that there is a bird sanctuary between the ranch and the beach so if you wish to walk then it is a nice stroll around Dolores St and on to 15th which will take you to the beach. We actually walked to Clint's old saloon the Hog's Breath Bar for the early bird and then strolled down Ocean Avenue to the beach and watched a glorious sunset and then carried on back to the Carmel River and up to Mission
Ranch.....The continental breakfast in the tennis club is mediocre so we walked the 12 minutes down Dolores , be careful as there are no sidewalks for most of the way, to the wonderful Tuck Box cafe for breakfast , great eggs Benedict in a fantasy setting!
The wonderful thing about staying here is the access to all the interesting places around Carmel e.g. the Carmel Mission is 5 minutes walk.
We will be back here again!

Room Tip: The Meadowview Fourplex rooms are wonderful , we stayed in room 39 with a deck overlooking the meado...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
91 reviews 91 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
75 helpful votes 75 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2014

I don't want to mess with Clint Eastwood, and this is his ranch. The buildings are very charming from the outside, but we found them to be very dated on the inside and in need of updating. The sheep meadow with the lagoon in the background is a pretty backdrop. The ranch's bar was hopping with a crowd of older entertainers, and it felt a bit like a regulars' bar. In terms of location, the ranch is on the edge of town. It means you are going to be driving to meals and likely driving to the beach. Next time, we would likely try to stay in town.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kailua-Kona, Hawaii
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2014 via mobile

Deplorable hospitality. Agree with prior reviewer. Employees here are holier than thou. Seem to think the customer / guest is lucky to be in their presence. Excessive stodgy snotty attitudes with obvious undeserved claims to "real class".

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
coventry uk
Top Contributor
94 reviews 94 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
87 helpful votes 87 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2014

We stayed at this hotel purely as a homage to Clint Eastwood for one night. We wanted to extend for a second night but they were fully booked. However they happily accommodated us at the sister hotel Homestead Inn for the second night.

The grounds, restaurant and outside buildings are stunning. We were in the barn with a private parking space. The room itself was a disappointment for the money paid. The room was quite rustic and to be honest had an odour I couldn't but my finger on. The carpet had scene better days. There was a red light in the room that we couldn't figure out how to turn off, that was odd.

The tv had a great selection of tv channels and the staff were great. The wifi was quite poor, the only time I managed to load more than one web page was at 2am, when everyones asleep.

I am sure all the rooms are different, so best to judge for yourself. It was worth it for the Clint experience.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2014

Staying at Mission Ranch is like going back in time. The physical attraction of an old local ranch, tremendous natural aspects and views, dated yet extremely comfortable rooms and great location all contribute in making the very special place to visit for a few days. But its the people there that make it special. Everyone is friendly, helpful in making sure you enjoy your visit, focusing on cleanliness and fun! We had a minor electrical problem with our room on our last stay. It was fixed quickly and management made certain we were satisfied…that type of service is lacking in many other places today. We will return for sure!!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, Australia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2014

I stayed at Mission Ranch with friends whilst travelling down the Coast Road from San Francisco to Los Angeles in March 2014. One of the attractions of Mission Ranch was that it was only about 5 minutes from Pebble Beach Golf Course, where we were booked for a round the next day. Our room was in the "main barn" area of the Ranch, and whilst old, had been nicely renovated. My only complaint was the beds were not very comfortable. However after we left I completed a satisfaction Survey and made a comment about the beds. I was most pleasantly surprised to receive a return email from Mission Ranch thanking me for my comments and advising that new bedding was on order. I think this will even further improve a wonderful experience. After checking in, we went to the restaurant for dinner on site. Although they don't take reseravtions, guests are given preference for tables and this was no problem. After a quick drink we were escorted to our table in the quieter part of the restaurant, away from the piano. It was a wonderful meal, and 3 of us had the fillet steak with lobster tail - delicious. I would highly recommend a stay at the Mission Ranch to anyone in this part of the world, even though we didn't see the owner, Clint Eastwood.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Mission Ranch? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mission Ranch

Address: 26270 Dolores Street, Carmel, CA 93923
Location: United States > California > Monterey Peninsula > Carmel
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Carmel
#14 Romantic Hotel in Carmel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 31
Also Known As:
Mission Ranch Carmel California

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mission Ranch, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.