We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It's the people that make this even more special!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Mission Ranch

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Carmel
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Mission Ranch
Save
You added Mission Ranch to your Saves list
26270 Dolores Street, Carmel, CA 93923   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 22 Hotels in Carmel
San Francisco, California
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“It's the people that make this even more special!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2014

Staying at Mission Ranch is like going back in time. The physical attraction of an old local ranch, tremendous natural aspects and views, dated yet extremely comfortable rooms and great location all contribute in making the very special place to visit for a few days. But its the people there that make it special. Everyone is friendly, helpful in making sure you enjoy your visit, focusing on cleanliness and fun! We had a minor electrical problem with our room on our last stay. It was fixed quickly and management made certain we were satisfied…that type of service is lacking in many other places today. We will return for sure!!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

315 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    168
    93
    27
    17
    10
See reviews for
44
180
2
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (77)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle, Australia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2014

I stayed at Mission Ranch with friends whilst travelling down the Coast Road from San Francisco to Los Angeles in March 2014. One of the attractions of Mission Ranch was that it was only about 5 minutes from Pebble Beach Golf Course, where we were booked for a round the next day. Our room was in the "main barn" area of the Ranch, and whilst old, had been nicely renovated. My only complaint was the beds were not very comfortable. However after we left I completed a satisfaction Survey and made a comment about the beds. I was most pleasantly surprised to receive a return email from Mission Ranch thanking me for my comments and advising that new bedding was on order. I think this will even further improve a wonderful experience. After checking in, we went to the restaurant for dinner on site. Although they don't take reseravtions, guests are given preference for tables and this was no problem. After a quick drink we were escorted to our table in the quieter part of the restaurant, away from the piano. It was a wonderful meal, and 3 of us had the fillet steak with lobster tail - delicious. I would highly recommend a stay at the Mission Ranch to anyone in this part of the world, even though we didn't see the owner, Clint Eastwood.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palm Beach, Florida
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2014

This is our favorite place on Earth...always feels like we are coming home. Gorgeous scenery out over the meadow (complete with sheep), all the way out to the Pacific...Low keyed and relaxing....Staff is always nice and friendly. I understand that It's an old farm ranch, saved by the very famous "former mayor" from being knocked down and converted into condos. All the buildings were converted into hotel rooms which are decorated with the country "flavor". They are spacious and always clean and well maintained. It's a wonderful place to stay, or simply just have dinner &/or drinks. The restaurant offers great food, great service and atmosphere. We love coming here and always make it part of our stay whenever we travel all the way over to that coast (We live in FL). The only thing we'd like to see is a bigger breakfast as opposed to the limited continental one, but I am certainly not complaining. Definitely worth the 3 hour drive as a side-trip from San Francisco (take the scenic route along the ocean) or a quick flight into Monterrey. A must see.

Room Tip: We love the end unit rooms in fourplex or triplex buildings overlooking the meadow, complete with fi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2014

We didn't end up staying here but we visited their piano bar on the first night in Carmel. We wanted to stay closer to downtown just for walking around town. We really loved the large amount of land that Mission Ranch was located. It would have been a longer walk to downtown and It was more quiet but ironically, the piano bar was the liveliest place in town!! It seemed to be more locals enjoying Kareoke. I would definitely book here next time.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
california
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2014

beautiful, serene location on the edge of town, sort of reminded me of the old "Heritage House B&B" in Mendocino; We stayed in the meadowview triplex with a lovely view of the sheep, pasture and ocean in the distance. Room was nice, bed was fairly comfortable, foam pillows were a bit hard-not sure if softer pillows are an option, bathroom a touch dated but overall OK. Loved the back deck. What could use improvement was the continental breakfast. They served low-end supermarket pastries with some fruit and instant oatmeal in the tennis club which had all the ambiance of a church basement. If they would step up the quality of the breakfast and perhaps serve it on the patio of the restaurant, it would have made it a stellar experience. We paid $300 for the meadow view room-not exactly Motel 6 prices- so expecting at least and average breakfast selection doesn't seem unreasonable. However, would definitely stay there again.

Room Tip: meadowview rooms were lovely
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carmel, California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2014

We're local, with lots of fantastic places to choose from for dinner. We don't usually choose Mission Ranch because it's not right in the Village and we like to walk to dinner. But it's just a 2 minute drive down Dolores Street and well worth it.

Six of us planned to meet for drinks and dinner on the patio. Arriving at 5:20pm on a Wednesday evening in January proved too late to grab a table outside, but we were seated at a charming table by the fireside in the dining room.

If you enjoy a good cut of beef, Mission Ranch is a great choice. Their slow roasted Prime Rib, which I had, is really good. My hubby had the scallops and he said they were excellent. Everyone at the table remarked on the quality of their meals.

The service was good, especially notable since the restaurant was full.

On our way out we ran into friends at the bar. It's a great place for locals to connect.

Clint Eastwood is known to stop by - but if you're hoping to see him, Friday evenings are the best. If you're lucky you may catch him playing the piano.

Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2014 via mobile

Driving down the coast from San Francisco to LA, we booked to stop at Mission Ranch. Lovely location and fabulous drive on the 17 mile road to Pebble Beach from Monterey to Carmel. Needed more time to do the place justice, so a place and location we would love to revisit.
Mission Ranch is tranquil, quaint and a refreshing change in style to other hotels we stopped in whilst in America. Wonderful views from our "Meadow View" room. The accommodation was an older style, very clean and comfortable, and a style that suited the hotel.
We had a nice meal in the restaurant, accompanied by some amusing but entertaining piano playing in the bar area!!
Step back in time, very relaxing. . .

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Mission Ranch? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mission Ranch

Address: 26270 Dolores Street, Carmel, CA 93923
Location: United States > California > Monterey Peninsula > Carmel
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Carmel
#11 Romantic Hotel in Carmel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 31
Also Known As:
Mission Ranch Carmel California

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mission Ranch, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.