We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Mission Ranch

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Carmel
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Mission Ranch
26270 Dolores Street, Carmel, CA 93923   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 21 hotels in Carmel
Seaville
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Wonderful”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013

We stayed at The Ranch one evening and were we sold. We would love to come back and stay longer. The room was super, the view was fantastic. We had dinner in the restaurant and thought the food was probably the best we had on our entire trip. The desk staff were excellent and very accommodating. The wait staff in the restaurant couldn't have been more helpful. We stayed and enjoyed the piano bar after dinner and had a neat time. Complimentary breakfast was more than sufficient and tasty. But the road calls and off we were wishing we could have stayed longer

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

276 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    144
    83
    26
    16
    7
See reviews for
37
155
2
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (64)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013

We stayed at Mission Ranch in October and think it’s a little over priced for what’s on offer. The setting is stunning and the staff very helpful.

We had a meadowview triplex which cost $270 per night plus the taxes. The room itself is a bit dated, although I appreciate it is trying to maintain a certain style in keeping with an old ranch, and the bathroom is very small with a whirlpool tub that didn’t whirl. There was also a fridge on the bathroom floor (strange spot) which did more whirling than the tub. The bed offered single hard pillows and more layers on the bed (most of which I am sure are not washed on a regular basis) than a geological cross-section.

The view from the veranda is lovely as it overlooks a meadow and beyond that the sea although you pay a significant premium for this view so it is a shame it is slightly spoiled by the fact that before you can appreciate the meadow/sea view, you have to overlook a school soccer pitch which seemed to have people kicking a football around every time I went out to read my book and have a drink. Not as tranquil as was expecting. The tranquillity was further impacted by the fact that Mission Ranch seems to make most of its money on the restaurant and events and these seem to take priority over guests staying at Mission Ranch. Both nights we were staying, there was a wedding taking place with loud music banging out until midnight which again was at odds with the tranquil experience we were expecting. Carmel is a great town and you will spend most of your time in the excellent restaurants and wine tasting venues so the walk to and from Mission Ranch is indeed a bit of a mission (especially seeing as the road is pitch black at night) and getting a cab is not that easy. Overall, Mission Ranch is a nice venue which has been refurbished in the style of a Clint Eastwood western (he is owner, frequenter of piano bar and former Mayor of Carmel) but it is charging luxury prices without offering luxury accommodation. Would certainly recommend a visit to the packed restaurant which seems very popular but not sure I would recommend staying here for this price.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2013

We had a wonderful stay in the mission ranch in September. We stayed in the meadow triplex accommodation which was wonderful,lovely view from our balcony we could see the sheep and the sea.we enjoyed a lovely meal in the restaurant but you have to book, we could book ahead because we were staying at the ranch.Breakfast was very good,plenty there for continental breakfast the pastries and fruit very fresh.Not far from the center of Carmel.Wonderful stay planning to come back next year,shame I didn't see Clint.

Room Tip: Meadow triplex rooms have a wonderful view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California's Central Valley
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013

Well, never having ventured over to Carmel before, I spent a few weeks interviewing clients who were on their way or just back from the Central coast, asking them where they stayed and what they enjoyed. I got a lot of different places in the Carmel area suggested and one of them seemed to get rave reviews again and again. So I booked the Mission Ranch for just one night so we could see what all the fuss was about.
We were not able to get one of the rooms with a view, only a standard room over near the edge of the property, but what a beautiful and peaceful place to stay this proved to be...The room was very comfortable and had the feel of a farmhouse bedroom, but with all the modern conveniences. There were two rockers on the patio also and we enjoyed them after breakfast in the breakfast space over by the tennis court. Breakfast was just fine, but nothing out of the average for a continental type. Dinner at the Mission Ranch restaurant was really good and the view and service just wonderful. It's a simple menu, but very good. The view of the sheep in the meadow and the ocean over the way are the big draw cards here...as well as the beautiful grounds.

Just for the record, we stayed during the week with school in session. Our room was bordering the school and you could certainly hear the kids laughing and playing if you opened your patio slider. It might be a little noisy for an afternoon nap, but we were off to the gorgeous views of Big Sur during the day and the evening here at Mission Ranch was altogether delightful. October is truly a glorious month to enjoy the California coast.

Room Tip: If you want to enjoy the Ranch without breaking the bank, the room we were in in the Ranch Triplex w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013

We initially booked and stayed at the Homestead Inn but I had to go check this location out the next day to see for myself if the pictures I saw from the website did it justice. Besides, we only saw it at night because I drove here by mistake to get to the Inn. So after spending a comfortable night at the Inn I got up the next day to explore the Ranch. Of course the day was a beautiful day to ride with the top down and do that.

I pulled in and the first thing that captured my attention and made me gasp out loud was the view of the pasture and the sea beyond it. OMG!!!! I walked around the grounds then made my way to the office to inquire if they're were any vacancies. I came at the right time from what I overheard after another guest was in the process of checking out. It's 10ish in the am on a Monday so after the guest left I immediately inquired with the front desk. The manager said the guest and their families would be at in an hour and that I can reserve the room in the Meadowplex Fourplex which had 2 queens, shower/whirlpool tub combo, patio with a gorgeous view and a gas fireplace for $300 a night. The manager said he would change my Inn reservation so we could complete our Carmel stay at the Ranch and call me as soon as our room was ready for check in so we decided to visit Chateau Julien in the meantime. I reviewed that site as well. Enjoyed it.

I drove back to the Inn to share the news with the hubby so we checked out of the Inn and I drove us back to the Ranch. Ha, my husband was impressed with the location, the room, the views. He was a happy camper. Needless to say the stay at the Ranch was far exceeded our expectations of Carmel and what it had to offer us. When we finally made up to San Francisco to finish out our California vacation my husband asks...."why did we leave Carmel and the Ranch? We should have stayed there." I have to agree because by the time we made to the JW Marriott I was feeling the same way.

We both will be back to Carmel and the Ranch.

Room Tip: Note, there is no air conditioning here but the view and the cool evenings there make up for it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2013

On all fronts this was a high performing stay for us. Accommodation was as expected,great views and school not a problem. Food and service vary good, in the bar and restaurant. Breakfast had plenty of choice.

Location also good Carmel within easy reach if walking and your health is average .

Had 3 nights stay, I could have had 3 months stay,it's that good. We will be back punk!

Room Tip: Do your homework before booking.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013 via mobile

We stayed 2 evenings but had a room change since we had originally booked one night and added another at a later date. Transition went smoothly. Rooms very comfortable and relaxing. Staff was superb! A great variety for breakfast and the restaurant on site offered outside dining as well as a piano bar. Would return!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Travelers also viewed these Carmel hotels
Quiet, Mid-rang...
Show More
0.8 mi away
Carmel Mission Inn
Carmel Mission Inn
#11 of 21 in Carmel
4.0 of 5 stars 994 reviews
Romantic, Free...
Show More
0.8 mi away
La Playa Carmel
La Playa Carmel
#4 of 21 in Carmel
4.5 of 5 stars 266 reviews
Free internet...
Show More
4.0 mi away
Quail Lodge & Golf Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Free Breakfast...
Show More
1.2 mi away
Tradewinds Carmel
Tradewinds Carmel
#8 of 21 in Carmel
4.5 of 5 stars 294 reviews
Free Breakfast...
Show More
0.8 mi away
L'Auberge Carmel
L'Auberge Carmel
#5 of 21 in Carmel
4.5 of 5 stars 188 reviews
Free internet...
Show More
1.0 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Carmel Bay View Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mission Ranch? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mission Ranch

Address: 26270 Dolores Street, Carmel, CA 93923
Location: United States > California > Monterey Peninsula > Carmel
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Carmel
#7 Family Hotel in Carmel
#10 Romantic Hotel in Carmel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Also Known As:
Mission Ranch Carmel California

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mission Ranch, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Mission Ranch to your Saves list