We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Visual As Well As Emotional Gift” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Mission Ranch

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Carmel
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for rooms, adults
Mission Ranch
Save Saved
You added Mission Ranch to your Saves list
26270 Dolores Street, Carmel, CA 93923   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 22 Hotels in Carmel
Cupertino, California
Top Contributor
118 reviews 118 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“A Visual As Well As Emotional Gift”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

This is one of our favorite places in Carmel to sit and enjoy the view and just relax.if you are lucky the owner Clint Eastwood will stop into the Pub for a drink. He is actually quite nice.

A picture says a thousand words. See my pictures of the pasture view.

Room Tip: Look before you say yes.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

300 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    159
    89
    27
    16
    9
See reviews for
41
172
2
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (70)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

We had a fantastic stay at the Mission ranch it had such a lovely feel about it .
You can walk into Carmel it is peace personified
It is just out of the main town Carmel,which would take about 20 mins and well worth a visit ,
The bar at the ranch was just great fun all in all I would def go back as I did not spend enough time there
Just loved it .
Will I be back you bet .!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paradise Valley, Arizona, United States
Top Contributor
105 reviews 105 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

For a drink, appetizer, dinner or Sunday brunch, this is the place for patio dining. Heat lamps are provided for nights when the fog rolls in, but we were surprised with warm temps. Sheep are grazing in the fields that are dotted with rental cottages and the Carmel River Beach is in the distance.

Oysters, calamari, quesadillas and potato skins are part of the happy hour menu. Try the salmon for a main entree. Gennady plays the piano several nights a week and was the composer for some of Clint Eastwood's movies. The locals sing around the piano after 9:00 p.m. Friendly atmosphere.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013

We just returned from two nights at the Mission Ranch and loved it. We were there on the first two days of our vacation and really hated to leave when it was time to move on. The Inn is absolutely lovely and extremely comfortable. We stayed in an upstairs room in the Farmhouse, which was small but we knew that in advance and chose it for other reasons. The restaurant and bar at the Inn are among the best and most lively in Carmel. We'd definitely stay here again even though it is a bit out of town. We found that most everything in town closed up so early that we were happy to be heading back to the bar at the Ranch. Our dinner there was the best of the whole vacation. The vibe at the Inn is hard to pin down - it is definitely a high quality spot, but it's more casual comfort than upscale luxury. However, the service was 100% top notch. It felt like staying at a friend's house. We are already thinking about when we can return!

Room Tip: If you are traveling during the summer, check on whether rooms have air conditioning. Our room in t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013

My husband and I spent 4 nights at Mission Ranch last week and loved it. The setting was gorgeous -- views of Carmel Bay and a meadow with sheep on the grounds -- and peaceful. The ranch is a 10-15 walk into the heart of Carmel. We also loved the continental breakfast and the food in the famous Mission Ranch Restaurant. Though the restaurant doesn't take reservations, guests at the ranch can call ahead and get priority seating. This worked perfectly for us. The room we had was clean and cozy and the housekeeping staff left us bottles of water every night. Finally, the staff were terrific -- attentive and helpful especially when the guests in the room above ours were stomping and making such a racket that we couldn't sleep or relax. One polite phone call from the apologetic staff ensured the problem was resolved. We would love to return!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Concord, CA
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013

This low-key but upscale hotel is several small cottages on a former dairy farm, rescued by Clint Eastwood (who still owns it and often socializes there with friends if he's in town) from condo development. It has a great restaurant, historic bar, lots of locals who frequent the place, charming rooms and a country setting between the breezy ocean and the Carmel Mission.

Room Tip: If you're a light sleeper and you'll be waking up on a school morning, ask not to be next to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisane.
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2013

Carmel is a very quaint town and is situated along a lovely beach area. The hotel is just too far out of the town centre to walk and so requires a car. It is a short walk to the beach which has a lovely extended walk all along the coastal area where you can admire the local houses. The hotel itself was bigger than we anticipated from the website photos and our room, the Triplex, was adjacent to the local elementary school which meant a very noisy playground right outside the balcony. Not what we expected or wished for. The room itself was large, with 2 queen size beds, and a small lounge area. All quite comfortable but, in all, expensive for what it was. I think we're paying for the name and the area. The breakfast was a bit bizarre as its is served in a small hut down by the tennis court and consists of bagels, muffins, cereal , hard boiled egg and coffee. We enjoyed our stay well enough.

If you go into the town there is a great wine bar called Bar Napoli which has a fire and great pizza. Try the Silvestri Pinot Noir from Carmel Valley. HOWEVER don't get conned into paying corkage on top of the price of the wine as we did. We have subsequently been told this was a ripoff by other restaurants.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for rooms, adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Mission Ranch? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mission Ranch

Address: 26270 Dolores Street, Carmel, CA 93923
Location: United States > California > Monterey Peninsula > Carmel
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Carmel
#11 Romantic Hotel in Carmel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 31
Also Known As:
Mission Ranch Carmel California

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mission Ranch, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

;