We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Country setting with filtered view of ocean” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Mission Ranch

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Carmel
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Mission Ranch
Save Saved
You added Mission Ranch to your Saves list
26270 Dolores Street, Carmel, CA 93923   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 22 Hotels in Carmel
Concord, CA
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Country setting with filtered view of ocean”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013

This low-key but upscale hotel is several small cottages on a former dairy farm, rescued by Clint Eastwood (who still owns it and often socializes there with friends if he's in town) from condo development. It has a great restaurant, historic bar, lots of locals who frequent the place, charming rooms and a country setting between the breezy ocean and the Carmel Mission.

Room Tip: If you're a light sleeper and you'll be waking up on a school morning, ask not to be next to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

309 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    166
    90
    27
    17
    9
See reviews for
43
176
2
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (74)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brisane.
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2013

Carmel is a very quaint town and is situated along a lovely beach area. The hotel is just too far out of the town centre to walk and so requires a car. It is a short walk to the beach which has a lovely extended walk all along the coastal area where you can admire the local houses. The hotel itself was bigger than we anticipated from the website photos and our room, the Triplex, was adjacent to the local elementary school which meant a very noisy playground right outside the balcony. Not what we expected or wished for. The room itself was large, with 2 queen size beds, and a small lounge area. All quite comfortable but, in all, expensive for what it was. I think we're paying for the name and the area. The breakfast was a bit bizarre as its is served in a small hut down by the tennis court and consists of bagels, muffins, cereal , hard boiled egg and coffee. We enjoyed our stay well enough.

If you go into the town there is a great wine bar called Bar Napoli which has a fire and great pizza. Try the Silvestri Pinot Noir from Carmel Valley. HOWEVER don't get conned into paying corkage on top of the price of the wine as we did. We have subsequently been told this was a ripoff by other restaurants.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013

Firstly it is worth noting that the Mission Ranch is a car ride from town, but the location, staff, facilities and rooms are second to none. The rooms are large, clean and true to the "ranch" style of living. The property is beautifully maintained, and for the price tag attached, the Mission Ranch should not be overlooked.

We stayed at this property for 1 night between the drive from San Fran to LA, and would recommend anyone doing this drive to stop into Carmel. It is a lovely quaint town that is so unique to anywhere else in California.

The hotel also has free, high speed wifi which was a bonus for me as i was also working during our trip., Breakfast was included, and while it was basic, was nice enough. The beds gave us all a great nights sleep and the staff were super friendly.

Thanks to everyone who made our trip so enjoyable.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tamworth, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
116 reviews 116 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 61 cities Reviews in 61 cities
89 helpful votes 89 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2013 via mobile

We stayed at the Mission Ranch for 3 nights and enjoyed the stay thoroughly. We have read some of the bad reviews from people but have to say we saw nothing like what they were complaining about. The rooms are rustic in so much as they are renovated ranch houses and rough wood lined. That said the rooms were very clean and had all the amenities you would expect.
The mission restaurant is a great place to spend an evening. They have a pianist every evening and locals get up and sing. The is not karaoke as the singers were very good. The atmosphere was buzzing. If you wanted a quieter evening you can sit outside or around the corner away from the main bar. The food was a good quality and reasonably priced.
We would definitely return and would recommend it as a place to stay.

Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Luis Obispo, CA
Top Contributor
96 reviews 96 reviews
49 hotel reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2013

The hubby and I made this our "fancy" dinner out during our Christmas week getaway as our gifts to each other. Unfortunately, we were disappointed by the quality of the food.
The Ranch is lovely and in an amazing location where window seats provide beautiful views. The staff did a good job.
But we were near the bar and the piano and it was so loud the ambiance was destroyed.
He has the scallops which were OK. I had the duck and was do disappointed. The duck here does not even begin to compare with how New Englanders do duck - and that's also where I've had the best duck. The reduction was watery and filled the whole plate and the flavor just wasn't there.
I don't recall if we had dessert or not.
We left disappointed.
Maybe brunch is better?
We love the location but the quality of the food needs to be raised.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dronfield England
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2013 via mobile

Stayed at Mission Ranch again on our road trip in California. My wife refuses to stay anywhere else when we are in the Monterey Peninsula. This place is just so special, helpful staff, good breakfast, beautiful surroundings, great restaurant the list just goes on. It's unique and I would hate for someone to make any update changes, it it what it is and it's just so good. We will return without a doubt.

Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenwich, Connecticut
Top Contributor
134 reviews 134 reviews
134 hotel reviews
Reviews in 106 cities Reviews in 106 cities
162 helpful votes 162 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2013

“A converted dairy farm, restored by Clint Eastwood, the Mission Ranch is quaint, comfortable and full of charm. We drove up for an extended weekend spending three days enjoying the beautiful views – mountains, meadow, ocean – tennis at the club, walks to town, dinner on the patio, drinks at the piano bar. Our whole stay was just lovely. And I was so happy with our room, sweet and rustic, it had a fireplace that I spent early evenings by reading in my bathrobe. I recommend requesting one of the newer rooms, which also include Jacuzzi tubs, patios, or balconies, as the others are in desperate need of TLC.”

Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Mission Ranch? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mission Ranch

Address: 26270 Dolores Street, Carmel, CA 93923
Location: United States > California > Monterey Peninsula > Carmel
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Carmel
#9 Romantic Hotel in Carmel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 31
Also Known As:
Mission Ranch Carmel California

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mission Ranch, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.