We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quaint and peaceful ranch and rooms” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Mission Ranch

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Carmel
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Mission Ranch
Save
You added Mission Ranch to your Saves list
26270 Dolores Street, Carmel, CA 93923   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 23 Hotels in Carmel
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Quaint and peaceful ranch and rooms”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013

Firstly it is worth noting that the Mission Ranch is a car ride from town, but the location, staff, facilities and rooms are second to none. The rooms are large, clean and true to the "ranch" style of living. The property is beautifully maintained, and for the price tag attached, the Mission Ranch should not be overlooked.

We stayed at this property for 1 night between the drive from San Fran to LA, and would recommend anyone doing this drive to stop into Carmel. It is a lovely quaint town that is so unique to anywhere else in California.

The hotel also has free, high speed wifi which was a bonus for me as i was also working during our trip., Breakfast was included, and while it was basic, was nice enough. The beds gave us all a great nights sleep and the staff were super friendly.

Thanks to everyone who made our trip so enjoyable.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Max M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

401 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Tamworth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
164 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2013 via mobile

We stayed at the Mission Ranch for 3 nights and enjoyed the stay thoroughly. We have read some of the bad reviews from people but have to say we saw nothing like what they were complaining about. The rooms are rustic in so much as they are renovated ranch houses and rough wood lined. That said the rooms were very clean and had all the amenities you would expect.
The mission restaurant is a great place to spend an evening. They have a pianist every evening and locals get up and sing. The is not karaoke as the singers were very good. The atmosphere was buzzing. If you wanted a quieter evening you can sit outside or around the corner away from the main bar. The food was a good quality and reasonably priced.
We would definitely return and would recommend it as a place to stay.

Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank CruisingBrian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Luis Obispo, CA
Level Contributor
97 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2013

The hubby and I made this our "fancy" dinner out during our Christmas week getaway as our gifts to each other. Unfortunately, we were disappointed by the quality of the food.
The Ranch is lovely and in an amazing location where window seats provide beautiful views. The staff did a good job.
But we were near the bar and the piano and it was so loud the ambiance was destroyed.
He has the scallops which were OK. I had the duck and was do disappointed. The duck here does not even begin to compare with how New Englanders do duck - and that's also where I've had the best duck. The reduction was watery and filled the whole plate and the flavor just wasn't there.
I don't recall if we had dessert or not.
We left disappointed.
Maybe brunch is better?
We love the location but the quality of the food needs to be raised.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank LisaLovesPaul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dronfield England
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2013 via mobile

Stayed at Mission Ranch again on our road trip in California. My wife refuses to stay anywhere else when we are in the Monterey Peninsula. This place is just so special, helpful staff, good breakfast, beautiful surroundings, great restaurant the list just goes on. It's unique and I would hate for someone to make any update changes, it it what it is and it's just so good. We will return without a doubt.

Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank James086
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenwich, Connecticut
Level Contributor
131 reviews
131 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 150 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2013

“A converted dairy farm, restored by Clint Eastwood, the Mission Ranch is quaint, comfortable and full of charm. We drove up for an extended weekend spending three days enjoying the beautiful views – mountains, meadow, ocean – tennis at the club, walks to town, dinner on the patio, drinks at the piano bar. Our whole stay was just lovely. And I was so happy with our room, sweet and rustic, it had a fireplace that I spent early evenings by reading in my bathrobe. I recommend requesting one of the newer rooms, which also include Jacuzzi tubs, patios, or balconies, as the others are in desperate need of TLC.”

Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Consigliera-S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
121 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2013

Our family of 4 stayed here in June 2013 whilst making our way up the California coastline from LA to San Francisco - and we loved it. The fact that it was a renovated old barn really added to the charm of the place - and the room that we stayed in had a huge king sized bed and a second bedroom containing 2 single beds for our 17 & 13 year old sons.
The rooms were clean, well appointed and the beds themselves were extremely comfortable. Parking the car right out the front was a bonus given we had so much luggage to drag in and out. And, we really loved the peace and quiet of the location - not to mention the beautiful grounds.
Breakfast is complimentary each morning - and is served in the tennis club which is about 100m to 200m walk from the accommodation. It had the usual staples and was a pleasant start to the day.
If you want a real treat, then try out the restaurant for dinner. We sat outside under the gas heaters (yes, it gets cold in Carmel in the evening, even in June) and enjoyed a lovely meal, a couple of glasses of wine and the sight of watching the sun set over the Pacific Ocean. Yes, the meal was a little pricey for a family of 4 - but was a real treat for us and was certainly worth it as it is something we will remember for a long time.
We loved staying at Mission Ranch Hotel and, one day, would like to make a return.

Room Tip: Try out the restaurant as a real treat!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DJR68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albuquerque
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2013

My wife and I have been visiting Carmel for the last 20 years and Mission Ranch is, by far, our favorite place to stay! The setting for the Mission Ranch property is spectacular and unmatched by any other lodging facility in this price range in the Carmel area. A variety of scenic views are available from the Ranch grounds as you can see the ocean, Treasure Island, the Carmel River meadow land (deer!), the tall hills swooping into the bay, and... the famous sheep! Also, it is a medium walk to a very nice stretch of the beach across from Treasure Island.
We stayed in the Hayloft again this trip and thoroughly enjoyed it. It is a charming room with fireplace and a nice amount of room for two. We've also stayed in the Meadow View Triplex rooms as well as the rooms by the barn -- there are all great! The rooms by the barn may have a little better view of the sunset.
The Mission Ranch restaurant is also our favorite place to eat in Carmel. The filet and fish are always prepared nicely. We always enjoy either eating or having a drink out on the patio rather than seating inside. Reservation preference is given to the Mission Ranch guests over other patrons.
Note: Some travelers may prefer a modern facility with lots of amenities and room service when traveling. If this is your travel preference, you may not enjoy the Mission Ranch as much as others have.
As the facility is iconic and a little rustic, it has a style that is thoroughly charming and enchanting!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bryon C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Carmel hotels
0.8 mi away
La Playa Carmel
La Playa Carmel
#5 of 23 in Carmel
4.5 of 5 stars 563 reviews
0.8 mi away
Carmel Mission Inn
Carmel Mission Inn
#11 of 23 in Carmel
4.0 of 5 stars 1,392 reviews
0.8 mi away
Cypress Inn
Cypress Inn
#2 of 23 in Carmel
4.5 of 5 stars 758 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
L'Auberge Carmel
L'Auberge Carmel
#6 of 23 in Carmel
4.5 of 5 stars 282 reviews
4.0 mi away
Quail Lodge & Golf Club
1.2 mi away
Tradewinds Carmel
Tradewinds Carmel
#8 of 23 in Carmel
4.5 of 5 stars 399 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mission Ranch? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mission Ranch

Address: 26270 Dolores Street, Carmel, CA 93923
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Monterey Peninsula > Carmel
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Carmel
#10 Romantic Hotel in Carmel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Number of rooms: 31
Also Known As:
Mission Ranch Carmel California

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing