We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of a kind” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Mission Ranch

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Carmel
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Mission Ranch
Save
You added Mission Ranch to your Saves list
26270 Dolores Street, Carmel, CA 93923   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 23 Hotels in Carmel
Certificate of Excellence
Roseville CA
Level Contributor
35 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“One of a kind”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013 via mobile

Don't expect the style of accommodations that you would get at the Hyatt for example this is the Mission Ranch and the rooms are restored ranch buildings. We stayed in the Hay Loft room and we loved it. Fire place, view, bed were all above average. Our stay of three nights was everything we had hoped for from the bar atmosphere to the dining, friendly staff as well as the drop in locals.

Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

358 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    193
    107
    30
    17
    11
See reviews for
59
197
2
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (91)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Flims, Switzerland
Level Contributor
163 reviews
159 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 206 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2013

The place is peacefull and romantic. The big trees and the meadow with some seaview makes a great scenery. The rooms are clean and of a good standard. The fire detector did alarm because of the steam of the shower, keep close the door. The reception and the breakfast at the tennis club is more basic. Would be nice, if the restaurant with the fantastic terrace would be open for breakfast. The restaurant is famous and allways well booked for dinner, but as a guest of the hotel you have the priority to get a table. Parking is free and easy in front of the cottages. Beaches are in walking distance. You will see lots of nice houses there. For the price you pay, they should offer some more extras. Thats the missing point for a top rating. We can recommend the hotel for a quiet and romantic stay with a touch of a country style.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2013 via mobile

They were fully booked then we got a call back and they said a room was available. Views, fireplace-great time. This was a stop along a west coast road trip. Would def reccomend. We were pretty tired from a day of driving and actually ordered dinner from a pizza place in Monterey. They also brought beer and wine.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
547 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 291 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013

We stayed at Mission Ranch one night in June while on a 2 week road trip in CA. We stayed in the Main Barn and the room was much bigger than I expected. There was adequate parking close to our room too.
One thing that was interesting about this hotel was that the bath towels were HUGE, they were more like a beach towel.
My only complaint about the room was that there was dirt/stones on the bed as though someone had recently been on the bed with shoes on :S You couldn't see it because of the quilts pattern but you felt it once you sat down.

Breakfast was served in the Tennis Shop a short walk from the room. It was your typical continental breakfast but it was fine for us. They had free/fast wi-fi and they even had a business center that we used to print something off.

Their customer service really was top notch. When I called to book (you can’t book online) they were very pleasant and anytime we had a question they were more than accommodating.

The Mission Ranch restaurant does not take reservations but if you are a hotel guest you can call & get put on the list.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Old Saybrook, CT
Level Contributor
311 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 128 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here 12 yrs ago and they had the most wonderful apricot soap. We even got housekeeping to give us a few extras when we left. Unfortunately they no longer have that soap. The manager told us that the company that made it for them went out of business a couple years ago. The current Sicilian Red Orange soap is nice, but... we really miss the apricot.

Last time we stayed on the upper floor of the Meadowview Fourplex, down by the tennis courts. It had a stunning view of the sheep meadow and the Pacific, but we felt separate from the rest of the property. This time we were in a Meadowview Triplex directly adjacent to the restaurant. I was afraid it might be too noisy, but it was fine. They'd just finished painting the outside when we arrived. The farmhouse dates back to 1850 and the bunkhouse to 1852. The rooms are cozy and comfortable. It's not a 5 star hotel, it's a ranch property. The best thing is that it is close to town but not in town, where the constant crowds and traffic would be numbing. This place is a great escape, a place to relax and chill out.

The restaurant is quite nice with good sized portions, serving only dinner. Yes, the free continental breakfast reminds me of a Hilton Express, but there are plenty of places in town if you want something more substantial. Go there to enjoy the atmosphere and the views.

Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Poole UK
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2013

Clint Eastwood's hotel close to the Carmel mission is the perfect blend of laid back luxury and down home casual. We stayed at the only room available on the day we arrived - the Hayloft. Very friendly welcome and helpfulness particularly when our hire care developed a problem. Clint was there some of the time we were and ate in the restaurant - apparently sometimes he plays the piano! The food is not at all pretentious, the service is excellent and the prices are reasonable. Breakfast is taken in the tennis club building and I was glad it wasn't raining as its quite a step away from some of the rooms (which are dotted about the site). It really used to be a farm and the accommodation is spread around various buildings. The view over Pebble Beach and towards 17 mile drive is just stunning. Its an almost level walk into Carmel and you can choose to walk along the beach path and admire the luxurious properties on the seafront. Every property in Carmel is different and interesting but the shops are hideously expensive. One of the highlights of our holiday was a visit to Hurst Castle at St Simeon - about 100 miles down route 1. Do not drive this spectacular road if you are nervous about heights! The castle should not be missed and is high on our list of return visits. Its a good area for Steinbeck fans of course as Monterey is just around the corner. This hotel was certainly a highlight of a memorable holiday.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milford, Michigan
Level Contributor
24 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013

We stayed for one night in a Meadowview Triplex room during a 10 day trip up the coast. The room was ok but IMHO, not really worth what we paid for the night. Yeah, the sheep are neat to look at but for three hours just after we arrived, an extended family consisting of three sets of young parents with maybe four or five very young, loud, whiny toddlers decided to set up camp right in front of our deck because the view from their room wasn't as nice. We couldn't enjoy what we paid for which pretty much ruined it for us. I know, not the hotels fault... but hard to believe people can be so rude, self centered and inconsiderate.
So, spent some time in the bar instead hoping to meet the man himself. No such luck.
Dinner was very good and you can sit inside and listen to a guy playing piano or outside next to the sheep pasture. "Breakfast" was ridiculous. Donuts, cheap fruit (not even any fresh strawberries that they grow by the millions) and those little boxes of cereal served in the tiny dingy tennis club.
All in all, if I ever came back to CA, I'd skip the Mission Ranch. Too pricey for what you get.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Carmel hotels
0.8 mi away
Carmel Mission Inn
Carmel Mission Inn
#11 of 23 in Carmel
4.0 of 5 stars 1,255 reviews
0.8 mi away
La Playa Carmel
La Playa Carmel
#5 of 23 in Carmel
4.5 of 5 stars 452 reviews
1.0 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Carmel Bay View Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Carmel River Inn
Carmel River Inn
#18 of 23 in Carmel
4.0 of 5 stars 319 reviews
0.9 mi away
L'Auberge Carmel
L'Auberge Carmel
#6 of 23 in Carmel
4.5 of 5 stars 264 reviews
1.2 mi away
Tradewinds Carmel
Tradewinds Carmel
#7 of 23 in Carmel
4.5 of 5 stars 366 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mission Ranch? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mission Ranch

Address: 26270 Dolores Street, Carmel, CA 93923
Location: United States > California > Monterey Peninsula > Carmel
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Carmel
#6 Family Hotel in Carmel
#10 Romantic Hotel in Carmel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 31
Also Known As:
Mission Ranch Carmel California

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mission Ranch, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.