We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“No apricot soap, but still a nice stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Mission Ranch

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Carmel
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for rooms, adults
Mission Ranch
Save Saved
You added Mission Ranch to your Saves list
26270 Dolores Street, Carmel, CA 93923   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 22 Hotels in Carmel
Old Saybrook, CT
Top Contributor
232 reviews 232 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 74 cities Reviews in 74 cities
78 helpful votes 78 helpful votes
“No apricot soap, but still a nice stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here 12 yrs ago and they had the most wonderful apricot soap. We even got housekeeping to give us a few extras when we left. Unfortunately they no longer have that soap. The manager told us that the company that made it for them went out of business a couple years ago. The current Sicilian Red Orange soap is nice, but... we really miss the apricot.

Last time we stayed on the upper floor of the Meadowview Fourplex, down by the tennis courts. It had a stunning view of the sheep meadow and the Pacific, but we felt separate from the rest of the property. This time we were in a Meadowview Triplex directly adjacent to the restaurant. I was afraid it might be too noisy, but it was fine. They'd just finished painting the outside when we arrived. The farmhouse dates back to 1850 and the bunkhouse to 1852. The rooms are cozy and comfortable. It's not a 5 star hotel, it's a ranch property. The best thing is that it is close to town but not in town, where the constant crowds and traffic would be numbing. This place is a great escape, a place to relax and chill out.

The restaurant is quite nice with good sized portions, serving only dinner. Yes, the free continental breakfast reminds me of a Hilton Express, but there are plenty of places in town if you want something more substantial. Go there to enjoy the atmosphere and the views.

Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

305 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    164
    89
    27
    16
    9
See reviews for
43
174
2
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (73)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Poole UK
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2013

Clint Eastwood's hotel close to the Carmel mission is the perfect blend of laid back luxury and down home casual. We stayed at the only room available on the day we arrived - the Hayloft. Very friendly welcome and helpfulness particularly when our hire care developed a problem. Clint was there some of the time we were and ate in the restaurant - apparently sometimes he plays the piano! The food is not at all pretentious, the service is excellent and the prices are reasonable. Breakfast is taken in the tennis club building and I was glad it wasn't raining as its quite a step away from some of the rooms (which are dotted about the site). It really used to be a farm and the accommodation is spread around various buildings. The view over Pebble Beach and towards 17 mile drive is just stunning. Its an almost level walk into Carmel and you can choose to walk along the beach path and admire the luxurious properties on the seafront. Every property in Carmel is different and interesting but the shops are hideously expensive. One of the highlights of our holiday was a visit to Hurst Castle at St Simeon - about 100 miles down route 1. Do not drive this spectacular road if you are nervous about heights! The castle should not be missed and is high on our list of return visits. Its a good area for Steinbeck fans of course as Monterey is just around the corner. This hotel was certainly a highlight of a memorable holiday.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milford, Michigan
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013

We stayed for one night in a Meadowview Triplex room during a 10 day trip up the coast. The room was ok but IMHO, not really worth what we paid for the night. Yeah, the sheep are neat to look at but for three hours just after we arrived, an extended family consisting of three sets of young parents with maybe four or five very young, loud, whiny toddlers decided to set up camp right in front of our deck because the view from their room wasn't as nice. We couldn't enjoy what we paid for which pretty much ruined it for us. I know, not the hotels fault... but hard to believe people can be so rude, self centered and inconsiderate.
So, spent some time in the bar instead hoping to meet the man himself. No such luck.
Dinner was very good and you can sit inside and listen to a guy playing piano or outside next to the sheep pasture. "Breakfast" was ridiculous. Donuts, cheap fruit (not even any fresh strawberries that they grow by the millions) and those little boxes of cereal served in the tiny dingy tennis club.
All in all, if I ever came back to CA, I'd skip the Mission Ranch. Too pricey for what you get.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dartmouth, Canada
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2013

It actually made my week that I stayed there. I visited mission ranch, just over a year ago and it was excellent. I did not know exactly what to expect, I went there mainly because of Clint Eastwood. But let me tell you, from the rooms, the staff, the scenery, the meadows, the location were excellent. I was so pleased but the best part is the food, I don't know where they bring it from and how the heck they can produce so much, but man the food was unreal. I like to eat, and love meat, but I have never had it as good as Mission Ranch.

People who are not staying there, go to the restaurant and you have such a variety of dishes. And yes if you feel lucky, there is a chance you could meet the man himself. Where my room was, I parked behind the truck used in Bridges of Madison County and next to Inspector Harry Callahan's sedan in " The Dead Pool" How cool is that?
The whole place is really top notch and to borrow a line from a non Eastwood film," I'll be back"

Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, MA
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2013

We chose the Mission Ranch over several other Carmel properties, and I'm glad we did.

The location was perfect -- on the edge of town (yes, you can walk it), but not in the center of the action. The room was huge -- upstairs, in one of the Meadowview triplex buildings, great bathroom. The view was spectacular -- mountains, ocean, and sheep. The food was delicious -- continental breakfast (which is all we eat anyway), and a bustling dining room/patio for dinner. The grounds were well-kept -- we were there in early May, and everything was in full bloom. And the staff was great -- every question was answered, every request was handled professionally.

It's not for everyone -- the vibe is relaxed and authentic, not precious or trying to hard to be chic and romantic. But if you're looking for an understated, yet upscale place in Carmel, this one deserves a look. (One example of that? Clint Eastwood stood next to us at the bar one night. No one bothered him. And he waited for his table like everyone else.)

We've stayed in other Carmel properties. But this just become our favorite spot.

Room Tip: We specifically asked for an upstairs room in one of the Meadowview triplex buildings. Huge room/ba...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
attleboro, ma
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2013

Arrived at Mission Ranch and did not want to leave! We booked one night in the Hayloft and it was much more than we expected. The grounds were breathtaking. Once we pulled into the grounds we made a decision to unwind and hang out until we had to check out the next day. The flowers were in full bloom and the grounds were meticulous. We had dinner at the restaurant and were seated in a corner table with a view of the sunset, perfect. The only downfall was we didn't get to see Clint! We had booked 2 more nites in Carmel and were very disappointed in our 2nd choice of accommodations. We wished we had moved to one of the smaller rooms and stayed for all three nites. I thought we would want to be downtown within walking distance of the shops, restaurants, etc. but in hindsight we would have rather stayed at the ranch. Definite 5 star and we will be back!!!

Room Tip: Hayloft was very roomy and comfy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Napa, California
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

The setting is wonderful, grounds are beautiful and the view lovely. Love the sheep with the ocean beyond. The rooms are clean and comfortable, a feel good place. We stayed in the Farmhouse which was quaint with a large common parlor. There seemed be internet access everywhere. Nice restaurant and bar.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for rooms, adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Mission Ranch? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mission Ranch

Address: 26270 Dolores Street, Carmel, CA 93923
Location: United States > California > Monterey Peninsula > Carmel
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Carmel
#10 Romantic Hotel in Carmel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 31
Also Known As:
Mission Ranch Carmel California

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mission Ranch, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.