We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great Carmel getaway” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Mission Ranch

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Carmel
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Mission Ranch
Save Saved
You added Mission Ranch to your Saves list
26270 Dolores Street, Carmel, CA 93923   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 22 Hotels in Carmel
Boston, MA
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“A great Carmel getaway”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2013

We chose the Mission Ranch over several other Carmel properties, and I'm glad we did.

The location was perfect -- on the edge of town (yes, you can walk it), but not in the center of the action. The room was huge -- upstairs, in one of the Meadowview triplex buildings, great bathroom. The view was spectacular -- mountains, ocean, and sheep. The food was delicious -- continental breakfast (which is all we eat anyway), and a bustling dining room/patio for dinner. The grounds were well-kept -- we were there in early May, and everything was in full bloom. And the staff was great -- every question was answered, every request was handled professionally.

It's not for everyone -- the vibe is relaxed and authentic, not precious or trying to hard to be chic and romantic. But if you're looking for an understated, yet upscale place in Carmel, this one deserves a look. (One example of that? Clint Eastwood stood next to us at the bar one night. No one bothered him. And he waited for his table like everyone else.)

We've stayed in other Carmel properties. But this just become our favorite spot.

Room Tip: We specifically asked for an upstairs room in one of the Meadowview triplex buildings. Huge room/ba...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

298 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    157
    89
    27
    16
    9
See reviews for
41
170
2
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (69)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
attleboro, ma
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2013

Arrived at Mission Ranch and did not want to leave! We booked one night in the Hayloft and it was much more than we expected. The grounds were breathtaking. Once we pulled into the grounds we made a decision to unwind and hang out until we had to check out the next day. The flowers were in full bloom and the grounds were meticulous. We had dinner at the restaurant and were seated in a corner table with a view of the sunset, perfect. The only downfall was we didn't get to see Clint! We had booked 2 more nites in Carmel and were very disappointed in our 2nd choice of accommodations. We wished we had moved to one of the smaller rooms and stayed for all three nites. I thought we would want to be downtown within walking distance of the shops, restaurants, etc. but in hindsight we would have rather stayed at the ranch. Definite 5 star and we will be back!!!

Room Tip: Hayloft was very roomy and comfy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Napa, California
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

The setting is wonderful, grounds are beautiful and the view lovely. Love the sheep with the ocean beyond. The rooms are clean and comfortable, a feel good place. We stayed in the Farmhouse which was quaint with a large common parlor. There seemed be internet access everywhere. Nice restaurant and bar.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Titusville, Florida
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013

Very quaint, quiet, relaxing. The property is beautiful and the restored rooms are very comfy. The on site restaurant has a full menu and a heated patio overlooking the meadow of sheep and the water at a distance. Seemed a little far to walk for shopping.

Room Tip: No pool. Lots of options for accommodations.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Erie, Pennsylvania, United States
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2013

My husband and I stayed one night in Carmel on our trip to CA. The Mission Ranch was a once in a lifetime experience. The grounds are beautiful and views are breathtaking. We stayed in RM 22 and it was immaculate. The bed was extremely comfortable and furnishings were tastefully eclectic. I would agree with a previous poster was said there is something rustic about the rooms but in a lovely way. The deck afforded us a fantastic view of the hills, the fields, and the ocean. We had dinner at the restaurant and it was delicious! (Second only to the dinner we had the next night at the Red House Cafe in Pacific Grove.) The area is peaceful and quiet. The continental breakfast was disappointing. For the price of the rooms something better could be provided. Cold cereal, yogurt, hard boiled eggs, processed pastries, and fruit (not fresh)... I'm certainly glad that we stayed at the Mission Ranch. It is a lovely place. But for us it was a one time thing. We did not leave thinking that we must come back here.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2013

My husband and I needed a little break from work and some quiet. That is just what we received at the Mission Ranch. Our room #20 in the meadow triplex was spacious and quiet with a very nice view off of the back deck. The room looks a little like a cottage and a bit rustic - but the bedding and bed were both nice and very comfortable. The restaurant at the ranch does not take reservations and draws a large, happy crowd. At the front desk they told us to call the restaurant 1 hr before we wanted to eat. Called at 6 and walked in at 7pm. While others were being told it would be an hour wait - we were taken directly to a lovely table at the window. We enjoyed a fine meal with a view of the sheep in the meadow below. My only complaint for the Mission Ranch is the breakfast. I know this was free with our stay - but to serve ourselves from a very small and unattractive buffet on caffeteria style tables -INSIDE the tennis pro shop - just seemed really cheap. I think that Mission Ranch really needs to work on the breakfast service.

Room Tip: Be sure to get a room with a view. There would be no point to staying here without the view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orange, California
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

We go to Carmel regularly and have stayed at a few properties in the village as well as in the lodge/Spanish bay at pebble beach. While pebble beach is certainly gorgeous and everything about that property is wonderful, Mission Ranch stays as our favorite. It's a very beautiful, serene, understated setting with gorgeous grounds, landscaping and great service. Their house keeping is fantastic... our rooms have been spotless on every visit (although both my husband and I are very picky when it comes to cleanliness). So if you want to stay at a low-key gorgeous & comfortable setting which is as clean as it can be, here is your destination.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Mission Ranch? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mission Ranch

Address: 26270 Dolores Street, Carmel, CA 93923
Location: United States > California > Monterey Peninsula > Carmel
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Carmel
#11 Romantic Hotel in Carmel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Also Known As:
Mission Ranch Carmel California

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mission Ranch, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.