We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice getaway” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Mission Ranch

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Carmel
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Mission Ranch
Save Saved
You added Mission Ranch to your Saves list
26270 Dolores Street, Carmel, CA 93923   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 22 Hotels in Carmel
Titusville, Florida
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Nice getaway”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013

Very quaint, quiet, relaxing. The property is beautiful and the restored rooms are very comfy. The on site restaurant has a full menu and a heated patio overlooking the meadow of sheep and the water at a distance. Seemed a little far to walk for shopping.

Room Tip: No pool. Lots of options for accommodations.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

301 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    160
    89
    27
    16
    9
See reviews for
41
172
2
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (70)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Erie, Pennsylvania, United States
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2013

My husband and I stayed one night in Carmel on our trip to CA. The Mission Ranch was a once in a lifetime experience. The grounds are beautiful and views are breathtaking. We stayed in RM 22 and it was immaculate. The bed was extremely comfortable and furnishings were tastefully eclectic. I would agree with a previous poster was said there is something rustic about the rooms but in a lovely way. The deck afforded us a fantastic view of the hills, the fields, and the ocean. We had dinner at the restaurant and it was delicious! (Second only to the dinner we had the next night at the Red House Cafe in Pacific Grove.) The area is peaceful and quiet. The continental breakfast was disappointing. For the price of the rooms something better could be provided. Cold cereal, yogurt, hard boiled eggs, processed pastries, and fruit (not fresh)... I'm certainly glad that we stayed at the Mission Ranch. It is a lovely place. But for us it was a one time thing. We did not leave thinking that we must come back here.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2013

My husband and I needed a little break from work and some quiet. That is just what we received at the Mission Ranch. Our room #20 in the meadow triplex was spacious and quiet with a very nice view off of the back deck. The room looks a little like a cottage and a bit rustic - but the bedding and bed were both nice and very comfortable. The restaurant at the ranch does not take reservations and draws a large, happy crowd. At the front desk they told us to call the restaurant 1 hr before we wanted to eat. Called at 6 and walked in at 7pm. While others were being told it would be an hour wait - we were taken directly to a lovely table at the window. We enjoyed a fine meal with a view of the sheep in the meadow below. My only complaint for the Mission Ranch is the breakfast. I know this was free with our stay - but to serve ourselves from a very small and unattractive buffet on caffeteria style tables -INSIDE the tennis pro shop - just seemed really cheap. I think that Mission Ranch really needs to work on the breakfast service.

Room Tip: Be sure to get a room with a view. There would be no point to staying here without the view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orange, California
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

We go to Carmel regularly and have stayed at a few properties in the village as well as in the lodge/Spanish bay at pebble beach. While pebble beach is certainly gorgeous and everything about that property is wonderful, Mission Ranch stays as our favorite. It's a very beautiful, serene, understated setting with gorgeous grounds, landscaping and great service. Their house keeping is fantastic... our rooms have been spotless on every visit (although both my husband and I are very picky when it comes to cleanliness). So if you want to stay at a low-key gorgeous & comfortable setting which is as clean as it can be, here is your destination.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

My husband and I had a wonderful trip to Carmel on early April. We stayed at Meadowview triplex for two nights…The whole experience was amazing. Carmel is one cute lovely little city with nice quaint restaurants and shops. Most of the places we ate had above average food. Surprisingly compare to the other charming little cities by the ocean it was not overpriced at all. The whole trip was so peaceful; the area is very romantic with positive energy all around it. Mission Ranch had everything for us to complete our joy. Healthy fresh continental breakfast, Gym, nice restaurant, view, service, close to all kind of attractions, shops, ocean…everything. It is a good place to travel with the family and children also, however is a great place to be romantic.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Granite Bay, CA
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

Staying at Clint Eastwood's Mission Ranch in Carmel is like a step back into a 1950s-era luxury resort. The grounds are fabulous, and the view out over the sheep-dotted fields to th ocean can't tbe beat! We stayed in the Honeymoom Cottage, which was a perfect fit for our family of three. We had a lovely bedroom, and our 6-year-old had a pullout bed in the adjoining living area. The door between the rooms made sleeping a breeze for everyone! And don't miss Sunday brunch while you're there -- great piano player and delicious spread! You might even get to say hello to Clint while you're there like we did.

Room Tip: Be sure to ask for a refurbished room, as some are a little tired. But the new ones are lovely! And...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BC
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2013

We decided to stop in Carmel and spend the night. Phoned ahead for a reservation and were treated like long lost friends. Dinner was a delight, service superb and the price quite reasonable. Our room ( top floor ) was fabulous, great views of the delta, the sheep and the grounds. What a joy.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing marsh area well away from the dinning room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Mission Ranch? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mission Ranch

Address: 26270 Dolores Street, Carmel, CA 93923
Location: United States > California > Monterey Peninsula > Carmel
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Carmel
#11 Romantic Hotel in Carmel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 31
Also Known As:
Mission Ranch Carmel California

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mission Ranch, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.