We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Romantic getaway reminecent of Moonstone beach in Washington” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Mission Ranch

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Carmel
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Mission Ranch
Save
You added Mission Ranch to your Saves list
26270 Dolores Street, Carmel, CA 93923   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 23 Hotels in Carmel
Certificate of Excellence 2014
seattle,WA
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Romantic getaway reminecent of Moonstone beach in Washington”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2012

We really enjoyed our stay, just like our other favorite the moonstone beach motel, right on the beach up in Moclips, WA. We will defineately return. The resturant, while crowded (wait in the bar) if wonderful. We had our dinner time out on the patio, service was a bit slow, because of the crowd. The patio is pleasant, but do not exspect a quiet romantic supper, as it is quite loud.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

338 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    181
    99
    30
    17
    11
See reviews for
52
189
2
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (87)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

We stayed at the Mission Ranch for a night at my friend's recommendation. It was quite pricey but the room had more soul than any other place we had stayed in on our week long California vacation. Clint Eastwood had it restored to its original state, which is what gives it charm and beauty, and if there was ocean access, it would have been absolutely perfect. I should also mention that it was immaculately clean.
To top the experience off we actually got to see Clint Eastwood live at his restaurant !!! Yay. Being Canadian we didn't want to both him but I wish I had said "Hello" as he was right beside me : ))

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012 via mobile

We stayed for one night in the barn, nice room with a great bed. We were planning to eat in the restaurant but were put off by a fairly disinterested female at the front of house service. Also there were no prices on any menus prior to being seated which was off putting. We experienced another rather disinterested young member of staff in the breakfast area who was more interested in watching the tv than greeting people as they entered for breakfast. The main reception staff were very good and the others could learn from there professional.
Overall the place lacked atmosphere which was a shame as the setting was stunning.

Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Alamitos, California
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

We had such a wonderful Carmel vacation due to our stay at Clint Eastwood's Mission Ranch. The room has a very relaxed, homey feel with reasonable rates. The grounds are green with mature landscaping and have a mountain, meadow and ocean views. We enjoyed the view while eating a yummy meal on their outdoor dining area. After our meal we walked and viewed the quaint cottages, world famous Carmel Beach and shopped. I recommend you make this your next trip!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012

spent four nights at Mission Ranch. Parking is difficult. Room is antique. No air conditioning, screens on windows not efficient...flies Housecleaning did not get to the room till after 1400 on two days. Great restaurant, great ;piano bar. Lovely part of the world, big Sur and Carmel!!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ellesmere Port, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
135 reviews 135 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012 via mobile

Hoped to see Clint this time but he failed to show up during our two night stay! We stayed in a ground floor Meadow Triplex room which was quaint and idyllic, facing the meadows and sea, it was so peaceful and pretty. We arrived on a Sunday so made the Brunch and wow, do not miss this. Champers and a range of stunning food to enjoy, as much as you want: the salmon and prime rib are to die for. Good wine list too.
The room could do with updating to reflect the price. But loved the rocking chairs on the porch, and nice bathroom. Breakfast was ok with fruit and pastries, nothing special but adequate.
You can walk into the town from here, it's about 1.5 moles and scenic. I recommend the Basillica for a visit just round the corner.

Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Top Contributor
149 reviews 149 reviews
86 hotel reviews
Reviews in 91 cities Reviews in 91 cities
109 helpful votes 109 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2012

We enjoyed our stay here very much indeed. The room was lovely, very clean and comfortable. Breakfast in the tennis club was good with an excellent variety of cereals, pastries etc.
We thought the dinner situation a bit ridiculous whereby even residents cannot reserve a table in advance. Food ok but not outstanding and we do not understand how a good chef can be happy with the same menu night after night without even a few "specials".
Would certainly recommend even without the "Clint factor".

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Mission Ranch? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mission Ranch

Address: 26270 Dolores Street, Carmel, CA 93923
Location: United States > California > Monterey Peninsula > Carmel
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Carmel
#6 Family Hotel in Carmel
#10 Romantic Hotel in Carmel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 31
Also Known As:
Mission Ranch Carmel California

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mission Ranch, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.