We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quiet, Serene Lodging with Fantastic Views” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Mission Ranch

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Carmel
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Mission Ranch
Save Saved
You added Mission Ranch to your Saves list
26270 Dolores Street, Carmel, CA 93923   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 21 hotels in Carmel
Los Alamitos, California
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Quiet, Serene Lodging with Fantastic Views”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

We had such a wonderful Carmel vacation due to our stay at Clint Eastwood's Mission Ranch. The room has a very relaxed, homey feel with reasonable rates. The grounds are green with mature landscaping and have a mountain, meadow and ocean views. We enjoyed the view while eating a yummy meal on their outdoor dining area. After our meal we walked and viewed the quaint cottages, world famous Carmel Beach and shopped. I recommend you make this your next trip!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

284 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    149
    83
    27
    16
    9
See reviews for
38
160
2
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (64)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012

spent four nights at Mission Ranch. Parking is difficult. Room is antique. No air conditioning, screens on windows not efficient...flies Housecleaning did not get to the room till after 1400 on two days. Great restaurant, great ;piano bar. Lovely part of the world, big Sur and Carmel!!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ellesmere Port, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012 via mobile

Hoped to see Clint this time but he failed to show up during our two night stay! We stayed in a ground floor Meadow Triplex room which was quaint and idyllic, facing the meadows and sea, it was so peaceful and pretty. We arrived on a Sunday so made the Brunch and wow, do not miss this. Champers and a range of stunning food to enjoy, as much as you want: the salmon and prime rib are to die for. Good wine list too.
The room could do with updating to reflect the price. But loved the rocking chairs on the porch, and nice bathroom. Breakfast was ok with fruit and pastries, nothing special but adequate.
You can walk into the town from here, it's about 1.5 moles and scenic. I recommend the Basillica for a visit just round the corner.

Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Top Contributor
122 reviews 122 reviews
80 hotel reviews
Reviews in 86 cities Reviews in 86 cities
95 helpful votes 95 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2012

We enjoyed our stay here very much indeed. The room was lovely, very clean and comfortable. Breakfast in the tennis club was good with an excellent variety of cereals, pastries etc.
We thought the dinner situation a bit ridiculous whereby even residents cannot reserve a table in advance. Food ok but not outstanding and we do not understand how a good chef can be happy with the same menu night after night without even a few "specials".
Would certainly recommend even without the "Clint factor".

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Louis, MO
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2012

Went to Mission Ranch last night for dinner on a relatively cool and rainy night in Carmel. As a result of the rain they were not able to serve outside. As a result we had to wait a good hour and a half for a table but, don't let that deter you from giving Mission Ranch a try. The bar area is great for people watching and the piano music is terrific. The character of Mission Ranch is enveloping and you can't help but getting involved in the energy of the crowd.

The food choices are many and the quality of what we had was a little above average. We enjoyed pecan encrusted goat cheese with sun dried tomatoes and crackers as an appetizer and then split the lobster and filet. To finish off the evening we had a chocolate cake that was amazingly good.

We were lucky enough to sit in the back room which is cozy, warm and inviting. The service was fair at best but not bad enough to speak negatively about the staff. They were very busy so it was obvious that their main goal was to get the food on the table.

The grounds are well kept and fun to watch with sheep grazing in the background.

If there is a negative comment, and I will have to stretch it to really make one, is that the bar area and dining area is very loud. But, thats because people are having a good time and enjoying their time. Which, by the way, is exactly why you would go there, to have fun and enjoy yourselves.

Worth the effort even if it does not end up on the top of your experience list.....

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2012

When planning our trip down the coast I assumed that the prices would be higher in Carmel and that we would stay inland. I was very excited to find this property. We booked our room about 3 months in advance. There are not a lot of rooms available and it was sold out when we arrived. Our room was one of three in the "barn" - and one of the three least expensive at $130/night. I like the fact that the price list is made up and there are no "deals" - you never wonder if you could have paid less. There is a private fitness and tennis club on site. I used the fitness room and my husband sat on the patio and had a drink.

We had dinner in the restaurant which doesn't take reservations but gives priority to those staying in the hotel. The restaurant was packed (on a Tuesday) and quite loud but the food was fantastic and the evening entertainment was wonderful. There was a pianist and quite the "party" atmosphere around the bar and piano area. And there was always the hint that Clint Eastwood (owner) might appear. He did not.

This night was one of the highlights of our trip. The only caveat I would give is that there is no sound proofing at all in the area where we stayed. Don't plan to sleep in after 7 a.m. when travellers are slamming doors and car trunks.

Also, an excellent continental breakfast was included making this hotel actually one of the highest value that we encountered.

Room Tip: If you can afford it, by all means get one of the private cottages with a verandah. But for one nig...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2012

Delightful accomodations, lovely property, good restaurant, near ocean with ocean vistas, very comfortable (not opulent) rooms, cottages have common sitting areas for reading, playing piano, meeting people. Good romantic getaway!

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Mission Ranch? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mission Ranch

Address: 26270 Dolores Street, Carmel, CA 93923
Location: United States > California > Monterey Peninsula > Carmel
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Carmel
#7 Family Hotel in Carmel
#13 Romantic Hotel in Carmel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Also Known As:
Mission Ranch Carmel California

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mission Ranch, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.