We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Go for the Four-plex!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Mission Ranch

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Carmel
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Mission Ranch
Save
You added Mission Ranch to your Saves list
26270 Dolores Street, Carmel, CA 93923   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 22 Hotels in Carmel
California
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Go for the Four-plex!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2012

When we're in Carmel, this is where we stay. We love the spacious, clean rooms and the spectacular views off the coast.This is a refined-rustic place, like an upscale family camp. In the Meadowview four-plex your backyard is the sheep pasture. Such a delight to look out from your window or deck and watch those "little guys" nibbling on grass and hear the occasional ba-a-a-h-ing sounds with the ocean just beyond.
Breakfast is just good, basic continental. Nice pastries, milks and juices, fresh fruits, cereals etc.
We recently stayed in all that was available-out of a last minute necessity- in the Farmhouse upstairs, up front. Because of its exposure, it's too hot in some afternoons and you feel fairly exposed to all the people passing through the parking lot. Whereas the Hayloft-also a last minute booking- was a great large room, large bath -very private. Less money than a room in the Four-plex. Note, they all have fairly small televisions. So, if you're a big fan of the large screen...this may not be the place for you.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

314 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    167
    93
    27
    17
    10
See reviews for
44
179
2
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (76)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Studio City, California
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2012

We stayed at Mission Ranch on Christmas and the 26th on our way to Post Ranch. The rooms are not fancy but well equipped and comfortable. We stayed in two different rooms so we got a good idea overall. Beautiful grounds and the view of the ocean is amazing. Sheep were grazing right out our door. Nice restaurant. It is situated right in the middle of a wealthy neighborhood so it is very quiet away from the town. The employees were terrific and very friendly. We would definitely stay again. We really like the fact that Mr. Eastwood preserved this amazing spot.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louisville, Kentucky
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2012

The property is gorgeous - absolutely gorgeous. Thank goodness for GPS, as the property would have been difficult to find in the dark for the first time - but what a find.

From our cottage deck - you could see a panoramic view of the sheeps' meadow and Pebble Beach in the background. Speaking of the grounds, they are impeccably gorgeous - really the pictures do not do it justice. The room decor in the cottage was indeed a little dated, but clean and very comfortable with a large fireplace.

It is very easy to see why the onsite restaurant is so popular. Although the live music and ambiance indoors was very appealing, we elected to sit outside on the patio, next to the large outdoor fireplace. We took our time to enjoy the evening - what an exquisite meal!

Nearby - The city and beach of Carmel are only minutes away. The 16mile drive around Pebble Beach is incredible and worth the price of admission..

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mountain View, Arkansas
Top Contributor
763 reviews 763 reviews
100 hotel reviews
Reviews in 205 cities Reviews in 205 cities
382 helpful votes 382 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2011

My wife and I stayed three nights at Mission Ranch during our trip to the Monterey peninsula in November. I could not have been more satisfied with our stay. Our room was in the Main Barn with a king bed. The rate was very reasonable for Carmel. The location appealed to me because it feels like it is out in the country with the meadow and the ocean with Point Lobos in the distance. Yet it is within five minutes from Ocean Avenue in downtown Carmel.

The place has a relaxing ambiance about it. The history is very interesting as well. The old white buildings with the green trim just have a clean look. Their continental breakfast is in the tennis center a short walk from the rooms. The breakfast selections were adequate and met our needs.

There is no other place that I would consider staying in Carmel than Mission Ranch. Carmel has a unique atmosphere and to me Mission Ranch offers a relaxing feel that just adds that much more to the experience of Carmel.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2011

This was our second visit to Mission Ranch, the first being about six years ago. Hoping nothing had changed, we weren't disappointed. We stayed again in the Meadowview Triplex with a great view of the sheep and Point Lobos. Our schedule made it a one night stand, regrettably, since we love the place and wouldn't stay anywhere else on the Monterey Peninsula. This time we had dinner with friends on the patio. The food and service were just as inviting as the accommodations. If you like boring, cookie-cutter hotels, stay somewhere else. This one is unique!

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
brisbane
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2011

Have stay here many times and have been able to sample the different rooming options that are available.
I always look forward to a visit to the Mission Ranch when and if I am able to travel to the Monterey/Carmel peninsula.
I note that there have been comments in the past relating to the quality of accomodation and ,while this may be based on comparisons with other hotels one can't compare this unique property with it's old world ambiance and extraordinary location and outlook.
The restaurant never disappoints whether it be for dinner or the great Sunday brunch and who doesn't enjoy the impromptu piano bar after dinner vocalists.
The continental breakfast is generous don served down at the tennis courts and there's nothing like a late afternoon sitting on the restaurant deck with a drink in hand looking out over the meadow with the worlds most pampered sheep and hearing the waves breaking on the beach in the distance.
If you can only stay once you'll understand.

Room Tip: They don't take on line reservations.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2011 via mobile

An absolutely beautiful place to stay, can't wait to go again! The food was lovely, along with the polite staff.

  • Stayed August 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Mission Ranch? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mission Ranch

Address: 26270 Dolores Street, Carmel, CA 93923
Location: United States > California > Monterey Peninsula > Carmel
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Carmel
#12 Romantic Hotel in Carmel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 31
Also Known As:
Mission Ranch Carmel California

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mission Ranch, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.