We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Service From the Front Desk” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Carriage House Inn

Save Saved
You added Carriage House Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Carriage House Inn
3.5 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   Junipero between 7th & 8th Avenue, Carmel, CA 93921   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 30 Carmel B&B and Inns
Emeryville, California
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great Service From the Front Desk”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2014

This review is for the front desk attendant Misty. I called to see if they had availability on a holiday weekend and Misty was more than helpful. I gave her my options on where I was considering staying and she mentioned their sister properties. I ended up booking at the Inn at Depot Hill and telling Misty I had dinner reservations at Shadowbrook lead to even more savings. She suggested their Romance Package that gives me a gift certificate plus complimentary champagne and truffles! Can't wait to for next weekend. If the Inn at Depot Hill is as friendly and accommodating as Carriage House I think we will have a great weekend!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

153 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    102
    33
    14
    4
    0
See reviews for
6
121
1
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2014

We stayed in a suite, room 1, for our anniversary April 15th. Best stay anywhere, ever! Misty the manager knows how to give first class service! The evening innkeeper was great as well. The included breakfast was fabulous! Greek yogurt, coffee, bagels, warm quiche. Not one complaint on anything! We will never stay anywhere else ever again when visiting Carmel! Our room was beautiful and clean. First class experience all the way! Thank you Misty and staff for a great stay!

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carefree, Arizona
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2014

This was our first stay at this inn in Carmel, but it is now our residence of choice when we visit this town. The location could not have been more convenient; parking was on site; the room was wonderfully accommodating for several days' stay; the staff was excellent and the breakfasts were spectacular. We've stayed in several other places in Carmel; this is by far our favorite!

Room Tip: We were in #7 and would ask for it again!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Clara, California, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2014

The rooms and location were just wonderful. It was so close to Ocean Avenue and we loved walking from the Carriage House to all the shops and restaurants. The staff told us to try a couple of restaurants and we took their advice and ate at the Grill and it was wonderful.

Room Tip: Didn't use pool or fitness center,
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2014

I phoned the hotel directly to make reservations as I was booking several rooms and had a number of questions regarding the different type of rooms. I spoke with Lori who helped me book my rooms and when we checked in she happened to be working and was most pleasant in getting us checked in. During the evening happy hour she was talking to the guests as if they were in her own home. And I wasn't sure if she was having more fun talking to the guests then the guests themselves. I loved the location as it was within walking distance to the shops and restaurants in Carmel. My only recommendation is to book rooms 1,2 or 3 as they are newly renovated. They may be more expensive then the other rooms but I felt they were worth it. Room 1 faces the street so for people who are light sleepers then I would suggest rooms 2 or 3. We also enjoyed the morning breakfast that was delivered to your room. It was certainly more than just a breakfast with muffins and coffee as you had a choice of yogurt, quiche, etc to fill you up till lunch and beyond.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Novato, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2014

Wow - if you are planning a trip to Carmel and you are lucky enough to book a room at the Carriage House Inn - do it. We have stayed at many hotels in Carmel but this is truly my favorite. The room we had was lovely, the bathroom could have used a bit of an update but was functional. You can not beat the location of this hotel. A short walk to many wonderful restaurants, shopping and the beach. We could not have asked for a nicer place to stay. The manager, Misty, was awesome, so pleasant and welcoming. We enjoyed the wine and cheese at night as well as port and cookies after dinner. The breakfast they brought to our room in the morning was very good Can not wait to book another stay here!!!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2014

A friend referred us to this Inn and now he is our BEST friend. This was an extremely pleasent experience. Not only was our room beautiful but the service and the hospitality was outstanding. All of the staff, from the maids to the hosts made us feel as if we were "regulars" and they were always there to insure our comfort. From the evening wine and Hors d'oeuvre's to the breakfast served in our room and the host's recommendations for activities and dining, we couldn't have asked for a better experience.

Room Tip: All of the rooms are great but the lower level on the west side (rooms 5,6 &7) we liked the best...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Carriage House Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carriage House Inn

Address: Junipero between 7th & 8th Avenue, Carmel, CA 93921
Location: United States > California > Monterey Peninsula > Carmel
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 30 B&Bs / Inns in Carmel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Carriage House Inn 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Carmel’s AAA 4-diamond luxury inn for over 30 years, the romantic Carriage House Inn offers 13 spacious rooms and suites featuring feather beds and fireplaces and most with spa tubs for the ultimate indulgence. Enjoy a hot continental breakfast delivered to your door each morning complete with quiche, croissant, steaming coffee or tea, fruit, granola, juice and the morning paper. Wine and cheese reception is served each evening in the library. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Tingo, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Carriage House Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Carriage House Hotel Carmel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Carriage House Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.