We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Is anyone in charge?” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Carriage House Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Carriage House Inn to your Saves list
Carriage House Inn
3.5 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   Junipero between 7th & 8th Avenue, Carmel, CA 93921   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 29 Carmel B&B and Inns
Leeds England
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
“Is anyone in charge?”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2013

The management of the best hotels is discreet... Almost invisible. The proof of quality is in the detail. Things are never 'just so' by accident. Someone makes it so.

This seems to be a hotel with absentee management. The fairly junior staff meet and greet impeccably. The rooms are huge and well furnished, if a little tired. Ours was rather gloomy, but others are brighter. But things do not quite work as they should. The shower curtain rail fell (held in place only by friction and hope) fell down. Bathroom dark and bizarre in design. Breakfast was very poor. Cheap orange juice, disgusting greasy flat reheated croissants, soggy packet muffins, poor quality granola, cold weak coffee. The only fruit was banana (in California with soft fruit growing all over the place). Breakfast is only served in the room, but there is only one erect chair that can be brought up to the table. These are not unpardonable issues, but illustrate poor attention to detail. And this was by far the worst breakfast in our 18 days in California.

Room Tip: Ask for a bright one.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inns by the Sea C, Manager at Carriage House Inn, responded to this review, August 29, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience. We take this feedback seriously and while we're pleased to hear that your arrival at our inn was impeccable, we are disappointed that the entirety of your stay didn't live up to the standards we strive to achieve. We are very proud of our many positive reviews on TripAdvisor, and wish we had been given the opportunity to correct the issues you have posted here, and perhaps made a positive difference to your experience with us.

We apologize for the challenges you encountered in your room. We do offer several different room types and I'm happy to say that we're in the midst of renovating and updating, having just completed 1/3 of our rooms prior to the summer months. While our cozy lobby space precludes us from offering a Continental Breakfast dining space, our guestrooms are equipped with a sizable table and two arm chairs. An additional desk and chair will be found in each room. This is usually quite comfortable, however, we are happy to accommodate guest requests for a different arrangement.

We are most disappointed to hear of our performance with your breakfast. Our Continental Breakfast menu offers a variety of items including Organic Peerless Coffee, Odwalla Orange Juice, yogurts, cereals, and freshly baked quiche and croissants. We pride ourselves in offering a delicious hot continental breakfast. We would have been happy to remake your breakfast for you had we been informed, but we agree it is our responsibility to control the quality that comes out of the kitchen. This has been reviewed with my staff, and I will personally ensure this is rectified.

Further, I invite you to contact me directly to share your description of “absentee management”, so I may learn how we might have made such a negative impression. I work full-time at the Carriage House Inn, and am available at the pleasure of our guests almost every day. I hope to hear back from you on this point to better understand your meaning.

Lastly, we appreciate every opportunity to improve our service. We agree that attention to detail is of paramount importance, and we will redouble our efforts in this regard. It is our hope that we might welcome you back in the future so we can demonstrate for you what many other satisfied guests have experienced at the Carriage House Inn.

Sincerely,

Misty Wenisch
Inn Manager
Carriage House Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

155 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    103
    34
    14
    4
    0
See reviews for
6
123
1
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013

Stopped for one night in beautiful Carmel, wish it could have been longer. The Carriage House was an excellent choice. Staff extremely welcoming and helpful. Drinks and nibbles in reception a nice touch. Rooms massive with 'log' fires. Very tastefully decorated and a really warm feel to them. Beautiful bed and linens. Breakfast served in your room. You select from a menu the night before and pick a time. Served on the dot and delicious. All adds up to a first class stay.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2013

Carmel was the last stop on a short golf trip with my husband of 42 years. We have always loved The Carriage House, from the ease of making reservations, good deals, easy parking, nice staff and beautiful spacious rooms. Cleanliness and tasteful decor are important to me and here both are stellar.

Room Tip: We love the upstairs suite at the far end. High ceilings and very roomy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2013 via mobile

The Carriage House Inn in Carmel is near the top of the hill as you come into the shopping district. It is semi hidden among several other hotels on Junipero. Once you get into your room, you know that you're in a special place. The room that we stayed in, #12, was "grand" as my wife put it. King size bed with plenty of pillows. The bed is plush, but not too soft. My wife has a bad back and while many people like myself enjoy soft plush bedding, she often wakes to debilitating back pain when we do. Their bed was the right amount of comfort and support. There's a cozy bench window along with two leather lounging chairs and a fire place. They have free wifi (which really every hotel should). The attendants are really helpful and nice. It's a very clean property as well. Not that you'd expect anything less in Carmel. The bathroom is nice with a really humongous tub. The shower head is just ok, but it isn't a complaint. The only downside to the room is the lighting of the vanity. You really can have it all. And yes, the breakfast brought to your door is very good. You really can't go wrong here if you want to leave Carmel satisfied.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

Charming B&B located close to all the shops. Room was recently remodeled and looked great. Staff was very friendly and knowledgeable about the area. Price was very reasonable. We would definitely go back. We had a fantastic time!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FelinaSmith, Operations Manager at Carriage House Inn, responded to this review, August 6, 2013
Thanks so much for the kind words, it was our pleasure to have you with us! We look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Warm wishes,
Felina Smith
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thousand Oaks, California, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

The newly remodeled Room #1 was perfect. The hotel staff really show great attention to detail and seem to really care. All the extra little perks made for a wonderful stay. The price was just right, too. This will be our go-to hotel in Carmel!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vacaville, California, United States
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2013

My wife and I wanted a get away for a night. We discovered this place via on-line and made a reservation based on the reviews we read on tripadvisor. We were greeted by a very personable staff. The room was nice and comfortable. However, we were awakened at 0800 by construction going on across the street! Hammering and sawing. No one had advised us that this would be the case. If they had, we would have moved to another room. Needles to say, we were not happy. The business manager wanted to accommodate us with a meal and bottle of wine, but since we were leaving Carmel that day, they gave us $50 off the room price of $385. Not bad, but considering the noise across the street, and the construction going on down stairs at the Carriage House, it was not worth the final price of $335. Not sure if we would go back again, but would recommend that the staff advises of any noise conflicts before hearing from the guests.

Room Tip: Our room faced Mission street. Stay away from these until construction is complete.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Carriage House Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carriage House Inn

Address: Junipero between 7th & 8th Avenue, Carmel, CA 93921
Location: United States > California > Monterey Peninsula > Carmel
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 29 B&Bs / Inns in Carmel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Carriage House Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Carmel’s AAA 4-diamond luxury inn for over 30 years, the romantic Carriage House Inn offers 13 spacious rooms and suites featuring feather beds and fireplaces and most with spa tubs for the ultimate indulgence. Enjoy a hot continental breakfast delivered to your door each morning complete with quiche, croissant, steaming coffee or tea, fruit, granola, juice and the morning paper. Wine and cheese reception is served each evening in the library. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Despegar.com and Tingo so you can book your Carriage House Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Carriage House Hotel Carmel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Carriage House Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.