We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of the best in Carmel!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Carriage House Inn

Save Saved
You added Carriage House Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Carriage House Inn
3.5 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   Junipero between 7th & 8th Avenue, Carmel, CA 93921   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 30 Carmel B&B and Inns
Bellevue, WA
Top Contributor
171 reviews 171 reviews
73 hotel reviews
Reviews in 68 cities Reviews in 68 cities
89 helpful votes 89 helpful votes
“One of the best in Carmel!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013

I found this 13 room boutique hotel in Carmel two years ago using tripadvisor. That time we stayed in Room #3 and this time in Room #1. Both of these rooms had been completely remodeled since our previous visit. Room #1 is really two rooms plus a small bathroom. There is a large sitting area with a fireplace and a flat screen TV and furniture. Also up two steps is a large bedroom area with another flat scree, fireplace, small closet, king bed and a large jacuzzi bath tube.

The total room was great and the bed comfortable, however the bathroom has only one sink, toilet and a large two person walk-in shower with two shower heads. The shower was fine although like every hotel in Carmel the water pressure is lacking, but it gets the job done. There is a very noisy fan in the bathroom that comes on when you turn the main lights on, so lights on = fan on. Strangely there is another "mood light" in this bathroom that is controlled by another switch and it's totally unnecessary.

Room #3 is a little smaller in total living size, but the bathroom is considerably larger. I think my wife will insist on that room if we return in the future. The Inn is one of the best properties in Carmel and we've stayed in many of the hotels in town. The breakfast that is brought to your room at your specified time is quite good. There are lots of little things done for the guest that make this place special. There is also a really special person here by the name of "Misty" who is the inn manager. She really understands what customer service means and lives it every day. Thanks Misty you were (are) great!

So, if you would like to stay at a really nice place in Carmel that has wonderful guest service, give the Carriage House Inn your business. I think you'll enjoy it - we certainly do!

Room Tip: Rooms 1,2 and 3 have been completely remodeled.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

152 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    101
    33
    14
    4
    0
See reviews for
6
120
1
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2013 via mobile

The Carriage House Inn will forever be our choice in Carmel-- and we go every year. The grounds, rooms, service, comfort are all excellent. We especially like the afternoon wine and cheese (and fruit and cookies, too!) where guests have the opportunity to meet and share Carmel discoveries/ suggestions. The staff are delightful and very friendly. We're very glad that we found this wonderful inn.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Barbara, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013

Great location. Extremely helpful and friendly staff. Generous wine/nibbles "hour". Wine surprisingly good and spent way too much on each of 2 nights laughing it up with the rep and other clients. Memorable allround.

Room Tip: Get advise from the Inn at booking
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

Our second visit to the Carriage House Inn did not disappoint. The suite had recently been totally remodeled with 2 fireplaces and a two person jacuzzi tub in the room. The staff was friendly and helpful in recommending restaurants and places to visit. The breakfast was great! We can't wait to return!

Room Tip: We had Room No 1 which faced out to the street but the street noise was not a problem and the HUGE w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
56 hotel reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

Not sure I'd rave highly about this hotel. I have no issue with the comfort of the bed, the cleanliness, the nice breakfast, the generous size of the room, the nice fireplace, pleasant staff, WiFi, etc. However, we felt that it was just okay; nice, but not super luxurious or a place that we'll always remember. Nothing wrong, but we've stayed in much more notable premium places for the same price.

The bathroom and vanity areas seemed to have been inexpensively constructed and therefore dated. Our room at the inn would be inaccessible to someone who can't climb stairs, or lug their own bags up a flight. There wasn't any view ti speak of but then it seemed no views are to be had in general in Carmel, since private home owners command the sea front properties.

Room Tip: ask for second floor if you don't mind stairs, it seems one on the first floor would be dark
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, California
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2013

The location was perfect. Park the car and you have all of Carmel at your footsteps. The staff was extremely courteous and helpful. Our room was on the second floor and had a tremendous vaulted ceiling. The added Breakfast and the wine/cheese reception were excellent. Our only commentary to the negative would be that the rooms showed a touch of age and could use some updating. Minor adjustments to the room (bathroom fixtures, wallpaper, etc). The lobby could also use a bit of a upgrade. Overall I would recommend and stay again.

Room Tip: 2nd floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Idaho
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2013

A spacious room, Wonderful staff, Great breakfast, Great location... All in all it was great. We would absolutely return to the Carriage House on the next trip. The only down side was a personal preference. The bed was too soft and the pillows were all way too large.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Carriage House Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carriage House Inn

Address: Junipero between 7th & 8th Avenue, Carmel, CA 93921
Location: United States > California > Monterey Peninsula > Carmel
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 30 B&Bs / Inns in Carmel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Carriage House Inn 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Carmel’s AAA 4-diamond luxury inn for over 30 years, the romantic Carriage House Inn offers 13 spacious rooms and suites featuring feather beds and fireplaces and most with spa tubs for the ultimate indulgence. Enjoy a hot continental breakfast delivered to your door each morning complete with quiche, croissant, steaming coffee or tea, fruit, granola, juice and the morning paper. Wine and cheese reception is served each evening in the library. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Tingo, Priceline and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Carriage House Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Carriage House Hotel Carmel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Carriage House Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.