We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful getaway.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Carriage House Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Carriage House Inn to your Saves list
Carriage House Inn
3.5 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   Junipero between 7th & 8th Avenue, Carmel, CA 93921   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 28 Carmel B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Crossville
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Wonderful getaway.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013

The Carriage House Inn was perfect. The quiche and croissants were great. They had coffee, beverages and snacks in the room which were totally complimentary. Then from 5-7 they served wine and cheese plus warm cookies at 8. They provided nightly turndown service complete with chocolate mints.

There were umbrellas, robes, a magnified lighted mirror, fireplace and window seat in the very tastefully decorated room. There were even wine glasses and a cork screw. Really everything you wanted was supplied for a nice getaway. The best thing though were the beds. They were the best we have ever slept in and even had a feather bed on top of the comfy mattress.

We will definitely return to the Carriage House Inn when we go to Carmel.

Room Tip: There is no pool or fitness center. We didn't need these amenities after the great stay in the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

163 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    107
    36
    15
    5
    0
See reviews for
8
128
1
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2012

We had a lovely room with plenty of space to lounge, prepare food, and store our clothing. I felt as though we were staying in the guest wing of a relative's home. One small gesture - the Inn provides you with snack food & drinks rather than charging for items taken from a mini-bar - went a long way towards making us feel welcome. And the managers Misty and Terri went beyond the call of duty in sharing their knowledge of and enthusiasm for the area, providing detailed suggestions for touring, restaurants, and driving. One of our favorite places in Northern California!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2012

We had (I believe) Room #1 (over the reception area but quiet). It was very nicely furnished. There were really two spacious rooms with a fireplace and comfortable bed. The breakfast was fine (delivered to the room). Location is excellent in that Ocean is a couple of blocks away so it is easy to come and go without parking. Management was excellent. An outstanding stay that we will repeat.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012

I'm writing this sitting next to the fireplace in our room at the Inn while listening to Christmas music piped through a large new big screen TV connected to Direct TV. We usually stay in Room 3, which is large and airy but quite dated. The room we're in now is #12. It's an upstairs room with a cathedral ceiling that was very recently rennovated, and we're very pleased with it. The carpet is a sort of a wine red with a subtle pattern, the walls are a light tan and the bottom three feet of the wall is paneled with a beautiful dark mahogany that matches the furniture. Very cozy and warm. Our room has a small "dormitory size" refrigerator, a Keurig coffee machine, a large flat screen TV, comlementary Wi-Fi, and a charging station for I-Phones and I-Pads. Very nice! One fun thing about the place is the complementary wine and cheese gathering in the lobby from 5-7 p.m.We always enjoy meeting other guests and chatting with them, and we've had some enjoyable evenings doing that. Finally, a neat thing is the complementary breakfast in the morning: coffee/tea, fruit juice, croissants and other breads, as well as either meat or veggie quiche. Its quite good, and disposes of the need to go out to breakfast. A very major plus is the Inn's location: its convenient to just about everything, though if you want to be close to the ocean, you might consider another place because the Inn is sort of up the hill at the east end of town. We prefer to be close to restaurants and shopping, and the location couldn't be better for that. We drove in for our last vist, and there is plenty of convenient parking at the Inn; this time, we flew into Monterey, and took a 15 cab ride to the Inn, which also worked out fine. We'll be back again next year, if not sooner!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carmel, California
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

We have been staying at this hotel for several years now and love it. Carriage House Inn is a small and wonderful boutique hotel with cozy rooms, fire places, Jacuzzi tubs, complementary snacks, sodas, juices, plus Keurig K-cup coffee makers in the rooms. The included breakfasts are delivered to the rooms at your requested times. Large flat screen televisions with Direct TV programming. Excellent keish, croissants, muffins as well as granola and a caraffe of hot coffee. Great way to start the day. The Inn is in the Golden Rectangle of Carmel with everything in walking distance. After breakfast in the room, we almost always take a walk to the ocean and beach, right down Ocean Avenue. There is off street parking for each guest room, so you can not worry about where to park. We park on arrival and then walk everywhere.

In the evening, complementary wine is served in the library along with cheese and crackers. Misty, the new inn keeper is an excellent host, as well as long time employee, Terry. They endeavor to make our stays very enjoyable. Also, home made cookies are an ongoing offering in the library. Try to take advantage of special rates during the week, but a stay at the Carriage House is always an enjoyable experience.

Room Tip: We like rooms numbers 4, 5, 6, and 7.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

When you are greeted with a glass of wine upon check-in, why stay anywhere else?

Spacious room, cute toile wallpaper and bedspread. Fireplace. Window seat. Windows that open. Mini-fridge with juice, water and sodas. Snack basket in room - candy bar, chips, crackers. Kuerig coffee maker and all the accoutrement for a tasty cup of coffee. Breakfast was a nice selection of warm quiche, pastries, yogurt, fruit.

Terry, Misty and Laurie were all fabulously friendly attendants. Terry helped us check-in (wine!), showed us to our room and led the entertaining Saturday night wine reception. Misty was knowledgeable about the inn and local area. Laurie helped us with dinner recommendations and reservation.

I highly recommend Carriage House Inn for the great staff, cozy rooms, excellent food/wine, and location. Can't wait to return!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brazil
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2012

We were 3 couples traveling together. We were all very happy with everything. The place was really nice, really well decorated, very good breakfast (you choose from a small menu what and when they will take it to your room in the next morning). They also have a nice "cheese and wine welcome table" at the reception. The guy that was there in our 1st (and only) night was great, very helpfull trying to find some nice place for us to eat (by the way, we went to Vesuvio, which was also very good) and the best route for us to follow in the next day. After we left the hotel, we forgot a luggage behind. It was Saturday morning and they were very helpful in calling FEDEX to get our luggage to send it to LA on Monday. But, and that is the only reason why I did not give them 5 stars, the lady that talked to me on the phone about the luggage and the FEDEX was very rude. My English is not so good and she would not repeat any information or give me the tracking number (we were ansious about the luggage, since we would leave USA on Wednesday) and she simply hung up the phone! Everything went well in the end, but she could have been a little bit nicer. Ah! I almost forgot about the mattress: it was toooo soft! It was ok for me, but my husband had a terrible night. This in is not the cheapest option in Carmel, but I believe it is one of the best prices you can get there. And I think it is much more interesting to sleep in Carmel instead of Monterey where the prices are lower. Monterey is basically the Cannery Row and the Aquarium (and, if you know other Aquariums, like I did, you may be disappointed except for the jellyfish collection the is really great), so I would recommend you spend more money sleeping in Carmel. That way you can have a really nice dinner and a good wine and just walk back (instead of driving) to your hotel. Carriage House location is perfect!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Carriage House Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carriage House Inn

Address: Junipero between 7th & 8th Avenue, Carmel, CA 93921
Location: United States > California > Monterey Peninsula > Carmel
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 28 B&Bs / Inns in Carmel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Carriage House Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Carmel’s AAA 4-diamond luxury inn for over 30 years, the romantic Carriage House Inn offers 13 spacious rooms and suites featuring feather beds and fireplaces and most with spa tubs for the ultimate indulgence. Enjoy a hot continental breakfast delivered to your door each morning complete with quiche, croissant, steaming coffee or tea, fruit, granola, juice and the morning paper. Wine and cheese reception is served each evening in the library. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Carriage House Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Carriage House Hotel Carmel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Carriage House Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.