We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sandpiper Inn Carmel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Sandpiper Inn Carmel to your Saves list
Sandpiper Inn Carmel
2408 Bay View Ave., Carmel, CA 93923   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #12 of 28 Carmel B&B and Inns
Boston, MA
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Great Location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2012

Great location next to the beach, and wonderful breakfast. The inn is tucked in a nice neighborhood. The whole place was very pretty and well kept. We stayed in room 2, which had two drawbacks: we could hear people walking in the room above, and the shower was old and sometimes hard to get to the right temperature. Not sure if the other rooms are like this, but it barely effected our stay. Would definitely recommend this place.

Room Tip: I'd expect rooms upstairs to be quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

214 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    100
    84
    20
    8
    2
See reviews for
18
145
10
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2012

We stayed at the Sandpiper Inn at the end of September. The weather was dreary and overcast, but we had a nice, clean place to stay. The living room has a fireplace and tea and cookies are served each night at 5:00. Breakfast was perfect-quiches, local fruit, cereal, yogurt and coffee. We stayed in room 7, which was small but considered ocean view, which is why I chose it. You can hear the crashing waves from this room. I would elect for the king room next time so we had more space. This is located in a rural neighborhood, but we took a nice 15 minute walk with a flashlight to the town. We enjoyed using the fire pit outside and drinking wine. It was nice to be in a more secluded, quiet part of Carmel. Maria was a wonderful innkeeper, and we would stay here for our next visit.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Idaho Falls, Idaho
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2012

My wife and I stayed here last week for a few days after a long road trip. Loved the location, just a short walk to the beach. At night we could hear the breakers. The room was fine and breakfast was very good. It is not close to the main drag and restaurants so do NOT do what we did on our first night and try and walk there, too far and no street lights and there's a hill in the way, drive and park in a side street.

Room Tip: The Sandpiper is in a quiet neighbourhood so you won't get woken up by anyone riding out on a bi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kendal, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2012

We used this B&B as an overnight stop on our journey to Los Angeles. The hotel is in a lovely quiet location close to the beach. The staff were extremely helpful on recommending and booking a restaurant. The room (Rm 7) was well equipped and very clean. Drinks were available from the kitchen, and a refridgerator was available for guest use.

Snacks were put out at teatime and there was a good choice at breakfast (not cooked).

A lovely place to stay in Carmel.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Ramon, California
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2012

I would love to go back. I love the location being that it's in the middle of a residential neighborhood. The staff was friendly and the rooms were clean. I loved that the room had no tv. Our room (#7) had an amazing view. We did notice the walls are thin and felt really bad when we returned home late. It almost felt like I was a teenager again sneaking out. Hope you get a chance to visit!

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Fe, New Mexico
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

We stayed at the Sandpiper on Labor Day weekend. It's convenient to many points of interest in Carmel, Pacific Grove and Monterey. We had Room 4 on the front of the house, with great views of the garden, beach and Pebble Beach golf course in the distance. The room was plenty big for two; the bed was very comfortable; and the bathroom was modern and spacious. We cranked all the windows open to create a cool breeze and hear the surf below, and used the gas fireplace in the evenings for ambiance. The inn is far enough away from the crowds and traffic of downtown Carmel, but not too far to walk or drive in for dinner. Check-in was quick and efficient, which we appreciated after a 6-hour drive. We especially enjoyed the healthy breakfast each morning, which included granola, fresh berries, yogurt, coffee and juice, and some tasty quiches and croissants. Maria is a terrific hostess. We noticed several people with small wood fires on the beach, and thought it would be nice if the inn provided a bucket of wood for this purpose. We like staying in out-of-the-way places and don't need to be 'doted' on, so the Sandpiper suited our style perfectly. We'd definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Rooms at the front of the house have the best views (and sounds) of the beach.
See more room tips
Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knoxville, Tennessee
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2012

We have stayed at the Sandpiper Inn before, and returned during Car Week. Comfortable bed, beautiful view from Room 5, and a very nice sitting area downstairs.

We enjoyed the walk to Ocean Avenue. We will definitely stay at the Sandpiper again!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sandpiper Inn Carmel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sandpiper Inn Carmel

Address: 2408 Bay View Ave., Carmel, CA 93923
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Monterey Peninsula > Carmel
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 28 B&Bs / Inns in Carmel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Like being a house guest in someone's exclusive seaside home. This early California country style inn, established in 1929, boasts of ocean views and the sounds of the surf crashing on the soft sand of Carmel Beach. Enjoy the serene comfort in one of our cozy rooms, by the fire in our fireside lounge, or outside on one of our garden patios. The Sandpiper Inn is the perfect getaway for the romantic couple or for those that just want to get away from the daily grind and relax. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Sandpiper Inn Carmel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sandpiper Inn Carmel Hotel Carmel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sandpiper Inn Carmel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.