We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming B&B Style Inn with Rude Service” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sandpiper Inn Carmel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save Saved
You added Sandpiper Inn Carmel to your Saves list
Sandpiper Inn Carmel
2408 Bay View Ave., Carmel, CA 93923   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #13 of 29 Carmel B&B and Inns
Austin, Texas
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Charming B&B Style Inn with Rude Service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2011

While I found this hotel to be very charming, my wife and I found the attitude of the morning staff to be rude, and decidedly not charming.
The good:
Room #7 has a slightly obstructed view of the bay, but a view nonetheless. The room, while tiny, was decorated well with nice linens, white carrera marble and chrome fixtures. The bathroom was tiny, but it felt more cozy than claustrophobic. You are only a short walk to the beach, you can hear the sounds of the surf from the hotel, and it less than a mile to the prime shopping on ocean.

The bad:
SERVICE: The service, especially in the morning, was abysmal. Both my wife and I had run-ins with the morning staff. The morning manager was less like a warm and welcoming care-taker and more like a knuckle-rapping old nun. Without a hello or good morning, I was chastised for opening the window 2-inches to let some 72 degree air into a stuffy room. My wife was scolded for entering the kitchen to find breakfast. She was curt with most of the guests, not just us. She seems to think that being rude was part of her job description. I am sure the owners of the hotel would not have accepted such terrible behavior.
FOOD: The breakfast was overly tough eggs Benedict. Although I didn't mind that the eggs were served with a hard yolk, the English muffin was too tough to saw with a knife and the canadian bacon was extremely chewy. They need to find a new way to heat up the breakfast for all their guests.
PARKING: It can be difficult to find parking near the property when they are full. While daytime parking was easy, nighttime parking near the hotel was at a premium.

OVERALL: With the exception of the staff, we found the location, the hotel and the setting to be romantic and perfectly charming.

Room Tip: Ask for Room #7 or another room with a view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

206 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    94
    82
    20
    8
    2
See reviews for
17
139
10
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Washington, District of Columbia, United States
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2011

After driving for hours, and unexpectedly making a trip to Carmel, we called the Sandpiper at the recommendation of a nearby hotel. The woman on the phone assured us there was a room (though took no credit card) and confirmed that it would be perfectly fine to arrive at 9:30pm. She had it taken care of. We were so thankful....

Except that we arrived only to find one very lazy man related to the hotel too busy to put down his cigarette to even figure out if we had a room. He said that he knew nothing about the situation or the promise of a room, was exceedingly unhelpful, and left us to fend for ourselves during a time when every single other place in Carmel was closed. Awesome. Well done, Sandpiper. If you are looking for a flaky experience--this is the one!

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2011 via mobile

Loved Carmel and the sandpiper inn was a great spot to stay. Host was very accomodating and provide a lot of knowledge about the area and where to eat. Carmel is a lovely little town. The inn is a short walk to the centre of town. Great fun walking home with a flash light. Carmel does not have street lights!! The 17 mile drive was also pretty spectacular, especially pebble beach.

  • Stayed September 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spring Hill, Florida
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2011

Very friendly staff. We enjoyed a great breakfast served by a very friendly staff member. The room was clean and quiet. We would stay there again.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lakehead, California
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2011

Fifteen family members stayed at the Sandpiper Inn in Carmel last weekend when we went to Carmel for my daughter’s wedding. The accommodations were outstanding and the staff was beyond helpful. The building is very well appointed. The beds were most comfortable and inviting. We enjoyed the afternoon tea AND the breakfasts. It was very nice to have access to the kitchen and the refrigerator. The view of the ocean from our room was an added delight.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, CA
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2011

We stayed 2 nights in Room 16 recently. This room was large and cheery, although some of the furnishings were a little below par (nightstands, side table). The bathroom was small (typical for a property of this era), but looked recently remodeled in a nice and bright style. The bed was a little creeky, but had modern, comfortable linens. We could hear the people upstairs from us when they walked around. Fortunately, they didn't do any dancing or aerobics up there. We had a view of the patio from our room.

Breakfast was very good. Each morning, there was a hot entree with fresh fruit or you could get granola and some other things. We got the hot food. The first morning, it was french toast and sausage, and the second morning, it was eggs benedict. Both were very good. The portions were not large, but we are light eaters so it was perfect for us.

The outside areas looked like they were recently re-landscaped and there was a nice brick patio outside of our room which might have been new. The neighborhood is nice and quiet and ideal for walking around and looking at the cute houses. Check out the Tor House and gardens nearby (on Ocean View). It is kind of far to walk to downtown. Although we enjoyed the walk, some people might find it too far. There was ample free parking in the B&B's lot and on the street, when we were there. It is pretty close to the south end of the main Carmel beach, which is a haven for dogs.

This B&B was a good value for Carmel, which can be quite expensive. The staff was not overly friendly, but were not problematic either. We were pleased with our stay at the Sandpiper Inn.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Castello Di Godego, Italy
Top Contributor
108 reviews 108 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 60 cities Reviews in 60 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2011

We stayed here for 2x nights and we had really a wounderful time. This B&B is very close to the beach and from the room we could ear the ocean! Neighborhood is quite and very nice, to go to downtown is approx 15 mins walk in a beautiful environment.
The B&B is clean and with every comfort, we could use the living room and the kitchen (refrigerator and sink).
Breakfast was great and the managers and other guests as well!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Sandpiper Inn Carmel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sandpiper Inn Carmel

Address: 2408 Bay View Ave., Carmel, CA 93923
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Monterey Peninsula > Carmel
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 29 B&Bs / Inns in Carmel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Like being a house guest in someone's exclusive seaside home. This early California country style inn, established in 1929, boasts of ocean views and the sounds of the surf crashing on the soft sand of Carmel Beach. Enjoy the serene comfort in one of our cozy rooms, by the fire in our fireside lounge, or outside on one of our garden patios. The Sandpiper Inn is the perfect getaway for the romantic couple or for those that just want to get away from the daily grind and relax. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Sandpiper Inn Carmel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sandpiper Inn Carmel Hotel Carmel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sandpiper Inn Carmel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.