We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“charming B&B” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Happy Landing Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Happy Landing Inn to your Saves list
Happy Landing Inn
Monte Verde Between 5th and 6th, P.O. Box 2619, Carmel, CA 93921   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 28 Carmel B&B and Inns
São Paulo, São Paulo, Brazil
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“charming B&B”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

It is, really charming. It made our stay in Carmel to be awesome. I went with my wife and slept there for 3 nights. A very reasonable breakfast comes in the room every morning. Dawn, one of the owners and innkeepers, is very helpful and friendly. We arrived after the office had closed and she left our key there, with parking instructions and a warm welcome letter.

It is located very close to Ocean Ave., the main street of Carmel, you get to see it all walking (except for the beach, maybe you should take a car to it, but not very far). It has a beautiful courtyard with a pergola, under which we had supper one day, having brought food from the market.

We stayed at Room 5, which is very good except for the bathroom: the folding door doesn't close fully, there is always a small (you should put some music on when going to the bathroom...) and the shower place is a small gap (you cannot see inside, but you do hear). The sink, though, is outside, next to the drawer, which is handy when you are two. Comfortable bed and nice windows and curtains (blackout).

All in all, an awesome stay!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

140 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    82
    47
    5
    5
    1
See reviews for
23
78
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Novato, California, United States
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

Charming little cottage style rooms, very friendly front desk and super pet friendly. Breakfast served in the morning was delish and fresh. Room we stayed in was small, but we don't need much space. Great location, easy walk to the beach, shops and restaurants but far enough off Ocean Ave that it was very quiet. One criticism, it was very warm that day and night with no cool breeze. Room got very stuffy even with windows open. If the room had AC I couldn't find it.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville, Florida
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

Stayed one night and wished it had been more. Nice little B & B one block from downtown and about 1/2 mile from the beach. Breakfast served to our room in the morning. Dawn was very helpful with dining recommendations and travel information.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013 via mobile

A lovely little place in a good location for Ocean Avenue,the beach and close to the 17 mile drive. The 2 owners were lovely and helpful .the breakfasts were delicious and a great touch having them brought to your room. I loved having my own front door, I would definitely come back.

Scott johnston

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntington Beach
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013

We rated HL "Very Good", but approaching "Excellent". Very co-operative inn keepers. Very friendly. Nicely kept. A bit small in the bathroom, especially the shower. Breakfasts were excellent and delivered promptly. Plus, they were tasty and warm. Located near-enough to the main drag and all the shops and restaurants, but not too close. The parking was a bit tight, but manageable. Check-in and check-out were as easy as it has ever been anywhere. A little too much on the pink side (for a macho guy, but OK by the wife), but the decor was overall very tasteful.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

We came to Carmel to escape all the fireworks in our area, which scare my dog. Very much enjoyed our stay - the Inn is only two blocks off the main street and a few blocks from the ocean. The beach is also pet-friendly. The Inn was quiet and clean, and having breakfast delivered to the room was a true luxury. Hope to come back in the future!

Room Tip: #5 was small and intimate, perfect for 1-2 people.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2013

This was a nice little B&B only 1 1/2 blocks from Ocean Ave (the main street) in Carmel, and only 4 blocks from the beautiful and serene Carmel Beach. I have nothing but good things to say about the comfort of the bed, the coziness of the room, and the friendliness of the staff. Breakfast was tasty and filling.

The only thing I didn't love was the shower, which was kind of cramped. We stayed in "Room 1," so your experience may vary.

I'd definitely recommend this place, and I'd definitely stay again!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Happy Landing Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Happy Landing Inn

Address: Monte Verde Between 5th and 6th, P.O. Box 2619, Carmel, CA 93921
Location: United States > California > Monterey Peninsula > Carmel
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 28 B&Bs / Inns in Carmel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Completely renovated in January 2014, the Inn is nestled among whispering pines, close to the heart of the village and just a short stroll to the white sands of Carmel's renowned beach. Enjoy the comforts of our newly renovated rooms, patterned after great American icons. Most rooms have cathedral ceilings and stained glass windows,some with fireplaces. Outside your door you will find our award winning gardens, perfect for small events and weddings. Enjoy the outdoor fireplace area in the evenings. Every morning a warm breakfast is served to your room. And we are 100% dog friendly.The Happy Landing Inn - Come fall in love! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Happy Landing Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Happy Landing Hotel Carmel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Happy Landing Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.