We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“AT&T Golf-Great Place to stay in Carmel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Happy Landing Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Happy Landing Inn to your Saves list
Happy Landing Inn
Monte Verde Between 5th and 6th, P.O. Box 2619, Carmel, CA 93921   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 28 Carmel B&B and Inns
Danville CA
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“AT&T Golf-Great Place to stay in Carmel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013

We stay at the Happy Landing Inn every year during the AT&T Golf tournament and one or two other times during the year. There are 5-6 Victorian cottages/rooms with updated ammenities ie flat screen TV's. The B&B is two blocks off Ocean avenue and about 4 blocks from the Ocean. The service is outstanding. Dawn seems to be there at all times. Prices are very reasonable. If you get a chance to stay there I believe you will make it a point to return. Reservations are usually easy to get except during major events. If the Happy Landing Inn does not have rooms they will refer you to an Inn that does.

All the Best,

Mark Kussman

Room Tip: No pool or fitness center
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

141 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    83
    47
    5
    5
    1
See reviews for
23
78
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Paso Robles, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2013

We were able to walk from here to the 10th hole at Pebble Beach. It is also within walking distance to Ocean St. where all the action is in Carmel. Clean room, comfortable bed and quiche for breakfast were icing on the cake.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

We stayed over Christmas with out 5 month old puppy and had a great time in this charming B&B. It was like staying in our very own cottage with the convenience of breakfast brought to your room with even a dog biscuit for the pup. It is very convenient situated and in walking distance from the shops and restaurants plus beach. Yet hidden away in a quiet spot with a lovely garden complete with hanging flowers baskets and a pond with a fountain. We look forward to coming back here to this treasure of a find.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamburg, Germany
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

On a short winter stopover in Carmel, we felt warm and immediatly at home at the Happy Landing Inn. The owner is friendly and charming and serves breakfast into the room. The oldtime furniture matches the 1920 style buildings. The entire property is extremly well kept and clean. Just can recommend it to anyone for a hideout in Carmel!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2012 via mobile

I've had the pleasure of staying at this inn twice now. The first visit, I was travelling solo and stayed in one of the smaller rooms which would have been just perfect for two. The inn has the perfect blend of unpretentious charm (stone stairs and paths, gazebos and fountains, cottage garden courtyard) and modern amenities (super comfy bed, crisp clean sheets, nice tiled shower, TV). The second visit was with my husband and we stayed in a larger room which was more like a suite, a bedroom and living/sitting room separated by a bathroom. So nice! Huge comfy bed with the same yummy sheets, toasty gas fireplace and plenty of room to relax. We will definitely be back!

Stayed October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2012

A nice surprise. I did little investigating before staying here. I'm usually more thorough in my research but everything seemed to be occupied the weekend of the Pebble Beach Classic Car week so I went with it mostly because it was available. It was a lovely surprise to arrive somewhere comfortable, convenient and clean. A parking pass was provided which was fortunate as the Car Show seemed to have filled up the town beyond capacity and parking was hard to come by. The room was clean and everything was conveniently placed. The decor was homey and inviting. The placement of the rooms surrounding a garden was lovely. It felt almost um... smurfy. I loved it. Would go back in an instant. Dawn the innkeeper provided us with a lovely breakfast served at our door in the morning. A relaxing end to our journey.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012 via mobile

Happy Landing is a most appropriate name as we stumbled upon this B&B by accident on our vacation from Ireland. The landlady is a very nice person, the signal for a lovely breakfast to be delivered to the room is opened blinds and adds to the romance of the place. Authentic antique decoration combined with Hansel and Gretel type architecture and great value make this place a must visit for anyone doing the pacific coast highway who is looking for a unique experience. We stayed 2 nights instead of the attended one and was well worth it.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Happy Landing Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Happy Landing Inn

Address: Monte Verde Between 5th and 6th, P.O. Box 2619, Carmel, CA 93921
Location: United States > California > Monterey Peninsula > Carmel
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 28 B&Bs / Inns in Carmel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Completely renovated in January 2014, the Inn is nestled among whispering pines, close to the heart of the village and just a short stroll to the white sands of Carmel's renowned beach. Enjoy the comforts of our newly renovated rooms, patterned after great American icons. Most rooms have cathedral ceilings and stained glass windows,some with fireplaces. Outside your door you will find our award winning gardens, perfect for small events and weddings. Enjoy the outdoor fireplace area in the evenings. Every morning a warm breakfast is served to your room. And we are 100% dog friendly.The Happy Landing Inn - Come fall in love! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Happy Landing Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Happy Landing Hotel Carmel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Happy Landing Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.