We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Pet Friendly Place - But Loud” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Cypress Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Cypress Inn to your Saves list
Cypress Inn
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Lincoln and seventh, PO Box y, Carmel, CA 93921   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 23 Hotels in Carmel
Certificate of Excellence
San Diego
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Great Pet Friendly Place - But Loud”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2010

My husband and I stayed two nights with our dog. Our main reason for picking Cypress Inn was the included breakfast and pet friendliness. This is by far the most pet-friendly hotel (and town for that matter) that I've ever visited. There are dogs everywhere, so this wouldn't be the place for you if you have a problem with dogs. The service we experienced was good and the room was clean and comfortable. The biggest negative is the noise. Our room was just up from the lobby, so there was noise from the bar and other guests until around 10:30pm every night. It's also an old building, so noise carries and it's not very sound proof. The noise level aside, we were satisfied with our experience!

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

522 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    323
    128
    38
    16
    17
See reviews for
89
277
18
25
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (127)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Riverside, IL
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2010

I've traveled around the world and stay at upscale hotels. The Cypress Inn is lovely and ranks up there with the best experiences that we've had. The service was great and the rooms were clean and comfortable. I am a light sleeper and I had no problems here. There was a comment earlier that the hotel smelled like wet dog. That could not be further from the truth. We were here for several days and did not have any problems with noise or anything. And the dogs with their humans were very well behaved. The hotel's restaurant is great. We had three meals there at different times of day and the service and food were delicious. (My husband loved the burger.) If you're an uptight, non dog person, then you may want to go elsewhere. But if you love a convivial atmosphere that has a very European feel (which to me was attractive as I've lived in Europe where dogs and their owners are not treated as pariahs), then you'll love this hotel. We had a wonderful time and will return.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2010

The hotel itself is very nice. Large rooms and helpful staff. But stay away if you do not love dogs. They are everywhere. My wife and I had a glass of wine before dinner and next to us the dog owner were sitting with the dog in the chair. Two rottweilers were rushed in and out. Also a lot of barking during night. This was the second time we visited Cypress Inn and the last. But if you have a dog and want to vacate with it it is the perfect place.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2010

Stayed at the Cypress Inn for 3 nights the food,spa service,gym were fabalous.
Would got back every month. Also pet friendly. GREAT PLACE.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2010

We stayed two nights in the Cypress Hotel. As many of the reviews noted, they are very pet friendly and you could even see that there were locals who'd come over for drinks with their dogs. It's location and ambience can't be beat. We thought the restaurant was so good we ate there both evenings. We stayed in Room 118 which is in the new area adjacent to the restaurant but separated by glass doors, facing into a small courtyard. I think next time we'd ask for a different room since it felt a bit claustrophobic to us. Only natural light was from the door and it's a pretty small (but well appointed) room. We spent 6 nights in California and the Cypress was the high point. Will be back.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Annapolis, MD
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2010

This was a great place to stay -- fun town and gracious staff. I made an error when registering online and showed up to find that they did not have a reservation for me. They graciously credited me for a "no-show" charge from the wrong date and found a lovely room for us (the last available that night). The room was spacious, clean and comfortable. You'd never know it was a pet-friendly room! Best of all, the bed was the most comfortable my husband or I have ever slept in. I would definitely visit Cypress Inn again and refer friends.

Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2010

First impression is charming but I'd come for a drink or breakfast only. if you stay you must tolerate entitled dog owners, barking, and boozy locals. Large golden retriever sprawled out at bottom of stairs as owner read the paper and sipped her coffee. Didn't bother to make way for public coming for breakfast. (Isn't this a safety issue?) Don't get a room near the outside lounge; noisy until they close. Loud woman laughing all night and another entitled dog barking every 5 minutes. We had to use earplugs. Very friendly staff. Great location and fabulous breakfast. Bed very comfortable; small rooms and tiny bathroom. Shower so low only fits someone 5' tall. Plush towels and robe. The Greek restaurant D'Metria (?) down the street is terrible, although it is popular. My ravioli was frozen and gluey. I sent it back to be heated up and came back tepid. I used to love Carmel but now find it's charming for about 3 hours then it's time to move on.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Cypress Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cypress Inn

Address: Lincoln and seventh, PO Box y, Carmel, CA 93921
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Monterey Peninsula > Carmel
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Carmel
#3 Romantic Hotel in Carmel
#5 Business Hotel in Carmel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Cypress Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Approaching the Cypress Inn, just steps away from Ocean Avenue, the beautiful Mediterranean façade offers visitors a warm welcome. As our hotel staff greets you, the charming garden courtyard and tastefully detailed atmosphere beckon you to relaxation. Come and experience the wonderful hospitality at this perfect retreat in Carmel-by-the-sea. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity and Expedia so you can book your Cypress Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cypress Hotel Carmel
Cypress Inn Carmel Ca

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cypress Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.