We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful little inn...” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Cypress Inn

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Carmel
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Cypress Inn
Save Saved
You added Cypress Inn to your Saves list
Lincoln and seventh, PO Box y, Carmel, CA 93921   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 22 Hotels in Carmel
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Beautiful little inn...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2014

As soon as I walked into the lobby I fell in love with the place. They had a lot of movie memorabilia about the lobby and as you walked through the hallway. Being there gave me nostalgia and I felt at peace immediately. Carmel is a beautiful town with beautiful little shops and art galleries so this hotel fit perfectly in this town. It's very quiet and there's no hustle and bustle. I loved the room we had and when we got there we immediately got upgraded to a bigger luxury room. It had a big jacuzzi and a really nice ceiling fan. The bed was so comfortable too! Every time I go back to Carmel I will always stay at the Cypress Inn.

Room Tip: Please book way in advance. They didn't have any rooms available so I went in the middle of the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

427 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    250
    109
    36
    16
    16
See reviews for
69
226
18
21
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (105)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2014

A beautiful find in Carmel with a welcoming and attentive staff, from the front desk to housekeeping, we were pleasantly surprised by their friendliness. This place is very dog friendly and we are so grateful for this hospitality so that our dog was able to enjoy our quick family vacation along the coast. Carmel Inn is located an easy walk to all the shops in town and a downhill walk to the beach. Our room faced the street and yes you do get street noise especially with the balcony doors opened. Our room was large with a fireplace and oversized relaxing tub. Breakfast was included which had a variety of choices: eggs, potatoes, pastries and wonderful popovers. Limited hotel parking was available a short walk away so that you didn't have to move your car every two hours during the day. All in all, a fantastic find and we will definitely return here when in Carmel.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the street will be noisier at times.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2014 via mobile

Drinks in the courtyard, waiter a bit diffident, beautiful property environment.
Dogs welcome everywhere which is always a nice ice breaker to interesting meetings, conversations and people.
Some of the clientele swanning around is local, some a bit eccentric, all fascinating with their airs and graces.
Difficult to get dining reservations as it is so known and popular so I am unable to comment on dining service or food quality.

Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whittier, California
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2014

We had the best experience EVER at Cypress Inn,staff very friendly and helpful,they are dog friendly as well.Really enjoyed our mini vacation can't wait to go back with our little dogs.The hotel also gives you home made style brandy free, Our dogs were very comfortable and enjoyed their room as well.I believe Doris Day owns part of the hotel,she is a big dog lover.They also give you fresh fruit every morning in your room and free breakfast.Your dogs can go anywhere in the hotel with you.

Room Tip: Seriously this is the real deal I have traveled for many years to different hotels this by far was t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2014

We started out with one night in Carmel, and kept adding a day, for a total of five nights in this very special inn. The staff is outstanding, Randy at the front desk is exceptional, as well as Crystal at the bar. We loved the location, the courtyard, beautiful lounge, and just people watching here. It draws a diverse crowd of all ages. Though we aren't "dog" people, the pets that were there didn't bother us at all, they were actually kind of fun. This place has a lot of character & charm, but the well-trained & very attentive staff makes it shine! We will definitely be returning.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2014

Visited The Cypress Inn in May and was met by the most cordial team of Kate & Khamis and a charming bartender. All were very hospitable, polite and above all extremely knowledgeable. As a Hotelier myself I find this type of service to be bar none and what I look for when I travel. Thank you for a wonderful visit.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clemmons, North Carolina
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2014

We stayed at the Cypress Inn, Room 215 and we had a great time. The staff is very attentive and would do anything for us. We loved our room as it has a patio that you can see the bay. The only downside was it was a little noisy from the street in the morning. This is not the hotels fault jus the nature a staying on a street side room in a very old building that doesn't have some of the sound deadening. The bar was over the top and Crystal is the best bar tender in all of Carmel. We spent several afternoons sipping on drinks and had a great time.

Room Tip: Room 215 if you don't mind a little morning noise! great patio to enjoy a glass of wine
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Cypress Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cypress Inn

Address: Lincoln and seventh, PO Box y, Carmel, CA 93921
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Monterey Peninsula > Carmel
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Carmel
#7 Family Hotel in Carmel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Approaching the Cypress Inn, just steps away from Ocean Avenue, the beautiful Mediterranean façade offers visitors a warm welcome. As our hotel staff greets you, the charming garden courtyard and tastefully detailed atmosphere beckon you to relaxation. Come and experience the wonderful hospitality at this perfect retreat in Carmel-by-the-sea. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Cypress Hotel Carmel
Cypress Inn Carmel Ca

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cypress Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.