We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A special place in a perfect little town” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Cypress Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Cypress Inn to your Saves list
Cypress Inn
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Lincoln and seventh, PO Box y, Carmel, CA 93921   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 23 Hotels in Carmel
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
82 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“A special place in a perfect little town”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2014

Dogs dogs dogs. A fashion show of breeds and at the cypress Inn they all behave beautifully. There were two lucky dogs in our party, I reserved early(about 4 months in advance). The room was very nice, the dogs had a blanket and water bowl provided. People had fruits, apples and sherry. We had been warned that our room might be noisy as there was a wedding party staying at the hotel. They didn't tell us that the noise was beautiful music in a sort of lounge below. We loved the "noise". Dogs can eat in Terry's lounge or on the Terrace and while eating we met so many great people with dogs. All had stories, many rescue dogs now living it up. The breakfast served gratis was yummy- great coffee-pop overs scram belled eggs and potatoes. Fruit and cereal. don't miss it. I must say a word about the personable staff. Vincent's took the luggage upstairs, very cheerfully. In fact everyone we met associated with the hotel was super. Doris Day can be very proud. We expected her to come right in all smiles!

Room Tip: Some rooms have views of the town some look toward the ocean, just ask, they will do their best
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

626 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    400
    145
    44
    17
    20
See reviews for
109
337
28
26
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (136)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Ridgeway, Canada
Level Contributor
39 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2013

Charming hotel, good food, clean room and within walking distance to everything in Carmel. The parking across the street was convenient and the staff was helpful and provided good tips for dinning and shopping.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Traverse City, Michigan
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2013

Having never been to Carmel-by-the-Sea, we stumbled upon your hotel while reading online reviews. Our stay was perfect: from the moment we arrived...the entire staff was attentive, warm, and welcoming, and our queen room with fireplace was cozy and quiet, tucked away on the second floor. The drink menu at Terry's is extensive and my husband declared your Dark and Stormy one of the best he's ever had! Breakfast was delicious and much more than the typical continental fare. The whole experience reminded me of a European boutique hotel. And while we didn't travel to the west coast with our dog, we certainly enjoyed meeting the visiting pooches.

If I had to sum up our stay in one sentence, I'd say it was the perfect romantic getaway after a family-filled Thanksgiving!

Room Tip: The queen with fireplace on the second floor was spacious and quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilton, CA
Level Contributor
94 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2013

Perfect central location in Carmel. Delightful, friendly staff who go out of their way to provide service above and beyond the norm. GREAT included breakfast. Loads of other free perks like free decanter of sherry in the room, purified COLD water in glass bottles in room with endless refills, doggie blanket and bowl if you need it, free fresh fruits with other snacks, free warm up of your pet's food if needed. Famous for its dog friendly attitude. "Yappy Hour" is not to be missed...dog lovers getting together for cocktails. Because of great location, their patio is a wonderful place to have a seat and relax for a cocktail even if not a guest at the hotel. Nice fireplace and heaters in patio area for chilly days while shopping. Staff could NOT be more pleasant!., "No" was not a word used in their vocabulary. The could not be more accommodating. Great bed...lots of pillows. Very, very comfy.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Red Lodge, Montana
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2013

Lovely place to stay right in town. Yes , the rooms are small but they are comfortable and very clean- no complaints. We had no problem finding parking just a couple of blocks away and could always pull up and load or unload our car.
We ate dinner one night here and the food was great. The breakfast offering is assorted high end pastries, bagles, scrambled eggs etc., all well prepared.
There are so many places to sit out and read, drink or eat here , beautiful little patios and balconies- that I can't imagine why anyone would complain about the room size.
Outstanding staff at both restaurant and hotel.
We didn't bring a dog with us but many do and we were amazed at all the dogs and the absence of any issues with or between dogs.
There is a little noise from the street but nothing to mention as this is a sleepy town. If you want less noise,and by that I mean no noise, you would need to get out of the town but then you would be tied to a car.

We walked everywhere in this picturesque town. We will come back here again next year, we loved it here.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2013

I stayed at the Cypress Inn during my holiday in early June 2013. I was disappointed that I had only booked the one night especially after having stayed one night in the very lacklustre Monterey Plaza the previous night (yuck). I stayed during the week so was upgraded to another room. The room was located in the ground floor courtyard across the bar & was clean, warm, romantic, quiet and beautiful. The front desk staff was so kind, quick & helpful. The complimentary breakfast was also quite good. Carmel is a charming little city and I when I return to visit, I will return to the Cypress Inn & look forward to another wonderful stay at this fantastic hotel!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
46 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2013

We felt as if we were in a European, family-operated Villa Hotel. Be aware that this is a VERY dog-friendly hotel and the doggies are allowed in many of the public areas, so if you aren't comfortable with that, go elsewhere. Our dog was with us and she loved being among canine friends.

The hotel is well-located in the heart of downtown Carmel yet is a 10-minute walk to the beach. It's in an old stucco building with lots of charm and funky but comfortable rooms. The 'large continental breakfast' includes scrambled eggs, toasted bagels or bread, fruit and coffee. The lunch and dinner offerings are tasty and the atmosphere is lively and fun. Locals often drop in for drinks or meals, adding to the family-style ambience.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Carmel hotels
0.2 mi away
La Playa Carmel
La Playa Carmel
#5 of 23 in Carmel
4.5 of 5 stars 467 reviews
1.3 mi away
Carmel Mission Inn
Carmel Mission Inn
#11 of 23 in Carmel
4.0 of 5 stars 1,285 reviews
0.0 mi away
L'Auberge Carmel
L'Auberge Carmel
#6 of 23 in Carmel
4.5 of 5 stars 273 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Tradewinds Carmel
Tradewinds Carmel
#7 of 23 in Carmel
4.5 of 5 stars 372 reviews
0.3 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Carmel Bay View Inn
0.1 mi away
Pine Inn
Pine Inn
#17 of 23 in Carmel
4.0 of 5 stars 466 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cypress Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cypress Inn

Address: Lincoln and seventh, PO Box y, Carmel, CA 93921
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Monterey Peninsula > Carmel
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Carmel
#3 Romantic Hotel in Carmel
#6 Business Hotel in Carmel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Cypress Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Approaching the Cypress Inn, just steps away from Ocean Avenue, the beautiful Mediterranean façade offers visitors a warm welcome. As our hotel staff greets you, the charming garden courtyard and tastefully detailed atmosphere beckon you to relaxation. Come and experience the wonderful hospitality at this perfect retreat in Carmel-by-the-sea. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity and Hotels.com so you can book your Cypress Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cypress Hotel Carmel
Cypress Inn Carmel Ca

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cypress Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.