We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“sorry we didn't stay here during our recent trip to Carmel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Cypress Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Cypress Inn to your Saves list
Cypress Inn
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Lincoln and seventh, PO Box y, Carmel, CA 93921   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 23 Hotels in Carmel
Certificate of Excellence
scottsdale az
Level Contributor
26 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“sorry we didn't stay here during our recent trip to Carmel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2013

We stayed at a nearby cottage that was lovely but so sorry we didn't stay here. But we did spend time at the Cypress Inn. The bar was fantastic with the best bartender. I believe his name was Drago. He was so entertaining and is a real "mixologist". He created a wonderful drink menu which lists all the old time drinks the way they were made in the 40s and 50s. I had an original whiskey sour made with egg whites and hubby really enjoyed an original manhattan and stormy sky. The whole bar experience was very enjoyable. Although dogs are not allowed in the bar, they are everywhere else at the resort and its the great for dog lovers. All the dogs were well behaved and the dogs were sitting in the lounge listening to the entertainment along with their people. On our next visit to Carmel, we are definitely staying here. I had read a couple negative reviews before we planned our trip but now I realize they were probably people who don't care for dogs. I also loved seeing the old Doris Day movies on the TV in the bar. When sports fans wanted the TV changed, the bartender accommodated. But when there's no sports worth watching, I loved seeing Doris Day movies.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank barneysmom99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

760 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Las Vegas, Nevada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2013

Hotel staff- courteous, helpful
Rooms- clean, quiet (#225), spacious with living room suite, easy elevator access
Food- breakfast was delicious, dinner was very good
Pet friendly- amazing!!! Our pup was treated like a person, ate all meals with us, sat with us everywhere, no doggie smell, floors clean
Parking- easy-not as big an issue as others have mentioned
Location-excellent, close to everything

Room Tip: 225-very nice suite, large living room, easy elevator access, quiet courtyard to relax in, room was...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LBA26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Wayne, Indiana, United States
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

Yuk room smelt like dog dander or urine. Parking is a joke! Tiny bathroom ,fitness room is not worth seeking out! Breakfast was poor,always outta eggs, had to go out and spend another $30 .don't do it unless your traveling with dogs they may love it...I did not,at all!

Room Tip: Plenty of other places to stay in town for around the same$$
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 221Thomas_A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, California
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2013

We have stayed twice with our old lab, Jake. We always stop by for lunch or drinks in the courtyard after Jake went to the big beach in the sky, just to get our doggie fix. Enough about dogs. The hotel is a beautiful Spanish style building, beautifully appointed, and wonderfully staffed. I LOVE Carmel, but have a hard time leaving the hotel, as everything is so nice there. The complimentary morning breakfast (continental, but nicer) is fantastic. The Doris Day memorabilia and movie posters are a really neat touch. Every time I get to Carmel, I stop by just because it's so lovely. As soon as our pup settles down, we'll be back.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kris B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bay Area
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2013 via mobile

Gorgeous hotel owned by Dorris Day. We stayed in the wonderful Tower room that had 2 levels - a great deal if you have kids. The hotel is very dog friendly which is nice because the owners are really friendly and dogs well behaved. Centrally located in our favourite city.

Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank tanglet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Folsom, California
Level Contributor
41 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013

Kahlie and the staff and the Cypress in are just wonderful people. This hotel is a beautiful location as well as has its own lovely decor. Doris and Dennis should be proud. This was our dogs, and my first visit to Carmel. What a great experience. The staff checked us in smoothly and greeted us and our pups everytime we left and returned to the hotel. There are even "cookies" at the front desk for the dogs and Sherry for the parents in the room. You cannot go wrong with any of the rooms you select at this delightful Inn. From the nightly entertainment to the delightful delish breakfast in the morning, we could not have picked a better location to experience Carmel and my husband's birthday at. We will be back and I am recommending this location to all my clients and friends who ask about Carmel.

Room Tip: For less noise pick a room that does not have a view of the front or a courtyard.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Scarletlasceo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, California
Level Contributor
21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2013

The Cypress Inn is a hotel owned by Doris Day and serves the best burgers in the Carmel. But the most amazing part of the hotel/restaurant is that you can bring your dogs and eat with them at your side! My wife and I simply *love* it here, it's our favorite joint in all of Carmel and Monterey and we always make it a point to stop here when we're in the area. The wait staff is awesome, the location is fantastic and the food is a tremendous value! If you own dogs, this place has to be on your check-list!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Steve L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Carmel hotels
0.2 mi away
La Playa Carmel
La Playa Carmel
#5 of 23 in Carmel
4.5 of 5 stars 563 reviews
0.0 mi away
L'Auberge Carmel
L'Auberge Carmel
#6 of 23 in Carmel
4.5 of 5 stars 283 reviews
1.3 mi away
Carmel Mission Inn
Carmel Mission Inn
#11 of 23 in Carmel
4.0 of 5 stars 1,393 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.3 mi away
Quail Lodge & Golf Club
0.4 mi away
Tradewinds Carmel
Tradewinds Carmel
#8 of 23 in Carmel
4.5 of 5 stars 400 reviews
0.1 mi away
Pine Inn
Pine Inn
#17 of 23 in Carmel
4.0 of 5 stars 484 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cypress Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cypress Inn

Address: Lincoln and seventh, PO Box y, Carmel, CA 93921
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Monterey Peninsula > Carmel
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Carmel
#3 Romantic Hotel in Carmel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Cypress Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Approaching the Cypress Inn, just steps away from Ocean Avenue, the beautiful Mediterranean façade offers visitors a warm welcome. As our hotel staff greets you, the charming garden courtyard and tastefully detailed atmosphere beckon you to relaxation. Come and experience the wonderful hospitality at this perfect retreat in Carmel-by-the-sea. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Expedia and Venere so you can book your Cypress Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cypress Hotel Carmel
Cypress Inn Carmel Ca

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing