We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our Dogs Loved Their First Vacation” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Cypress Inn

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Carmel
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Cypress Inn
Save Saved
You added Cypress Inn to your Saves list
Lincoln and seventh, PO Box y, Carmel, CA 93921   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Deal
Free breakfast with your stay
Ranked #5 of 22 Hotels in Carmel
Folsom, California
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Our Dogs Loved Their First Vacation”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013

Kahlie and the staff and the Cypress in are just wonderful people. This hotel is a beautiful location as well as has its own lovely decor. Doris and Dennis should be proud. This was our dogs, and my first visit to Carmel. What a great experience. The staff checked us in smoothly and greeted us and our pups everytime we left and returned to the hotel. There are even "cookies" at the front desk for the dogs and Sherry for the parents in the room. You cannot go wrong with any of the rooms you select at this delightful Inn. From the nightly entertainment to the delightful delish breakfast in the morning, we could not have picked a better location to experience Carmel and my husband's birthday at. We will be back and I am recommending this location to all my clients and friends who ask about Carmel.

Room Tip: For less noise pick a room that does not have a view of the front or a courtyard.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

425 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    248
    109
    36
    16
    16
See reviews for
68
225
18
21
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (104)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
San Jose, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2013

The Cypress Inn is a hotel owned by Doris Day and serves the best burgers in the Carmel. But the most amazing part of the hotel/restaurant is that you can bring your dogs and eat with them at your side! My wife and I simply *love* it here, it's our favorite joint in all of Carmel and Monterey and we always make it a point to stop here when we're in the area. The wait staff is awesome, the location is fantastic and the food is a tremendous value! If you own dogs, this place has to be on your check-list!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
baldwinsville,New York USA
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2013

We knew the hotel was pet friendly when we booked but we were a little overwhelmed by the number of dogs. Don't get us wrong - we like dogs very much and most of them were very well behaved but sometimes the barking could be heard in our room and we were continually stepping over them to get through the public spaces. The hotel itself is very quaint and comfortable (no air conditioning though) and the staff was wonderful. The continental breakfast was one of the best we've had! We had a wonderful time but wouldn't go back just because of the sheer amount of dogs.

Room Tip: Try for one of the 12 rooms in the newer wing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Centerville, Ohio
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

Looking for the best spot to stay in Carmel, Cypress Inn can't be beat! I reviewed several hotel options prior to our trip to Carmel and the Cypress Inn stood out in all the reviews, and we weren't disappointed. The location can't be beat, only a few blocks (downhill) to the beach area with spectacular views in all direction. We were greeted by Andrew the doorman, who proved to be a wealth of knowledge, making great recommendations for restaurants and attractions. The hotel couldn't be more perfect and quaint, with an awesome room off the lobby and cool bar area. While the rooms are smallish, our's was a corner room with gas fireplace and was perfect for our stay. We had a great breeze through the room and the fireplace was cozy at night. The room couldn't have been cleaner as was the entire hotel. While it's a pet friendly hotel, you wouldn't have known it by the cleanliness. Dogs were everywhere, but all were well trained and behaved and possed no problems. There's a great patio off the lobby that is ideal for afternoon relaxing and drinks. The bar area serves as the space for the complimentary breakfast which was the best I've had anywhere. I can't wait to return to the Cypress Inn and highly recommend it to all. You feel at home with the charm of the hotel and friendliness of the entire staff. It's the perfect spot in Carmel.

Room Tip: Corner room provides great light and breeze from the ocean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Gatos, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013

I had not been to Cypress Inn for several years and am amazed at the quality of the rooms, service, dining and general feel of the place. I highly recommend it for couples, singles and for a great vacation. Everything that Carmel should be.

Room Tip: Clean, comfortable rooms but ask about locations since they can vary with noise levels. No pool and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

Truly enjoyed our time at the Cypress Inn. Beautifully kept surroundings - gorgeous gardens and welcoming staff who go the extra mile to help with anything you need. The architecture itself of the building is memorable. Our room had a lovely balcony overlooking the historic church and although quite smallish our room was extremely comfortable and quite adequate. The bathroom was also small but once again was excellent for our 1 night stay. The front piano bar was superb with its open fire for a late night coffee or drink. Breakfast included is fabulous with lots of choice and very fresh produce. Wirless internet is a bit tricky as signal is not strong throughout the hotel - I could not get a signal in my room and I found I had to sit in Terry's Bar near the main hallway to be able to access my email, etc, but it was pleasant sitting there anyway. The memorabilla of Doris Day is also very interesting to browse. Also liked visiting with the various dogs staying at the Inn as I was missing my puppy back in Australia!! Loved the fairy lights all over the Inn of an evening.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kentfield, California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

What's not to love about this hotel. Great service, very clean, charming atmosphere and they love dogs. In fact, Carmel, in general, is one of the most dog friendly places I have ever been to. OK, back to the Cypress Inn. Their breakfasts are yummy and you can eat outside on the patio on a nice morning. They serve tea in the afternoon. And, with all the dogs around, you make instant friends with the other dog owners. I have had some of the most enjoyable visits at the Cypress Inn over the years

Room Tip: I can't remember the room numbers, but the ones on the second floor facing the patio are nice, b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Cypress Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cypress Inn

Address: Lincoln and seventh, PO Box y, Carmel, CA 93921
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Monterey Peninsula > Carmel
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Carmel
#7 Family Hotel in Carmel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Approaching the Cypress Inn, just steps away from Ocean Avenue, the beautiful Mediterranean façade offers visitors a warm welcome. As our hotel staff greets you, the charming garden courtyard and tastefully detailed atmosphere beckon you to relaxation. Come and experience the wonderful hospitality at this perfect retreat in Carmel-by-the-sea. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Cypress Hotel Carmel
Cypress Inn Carmel Ca

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cypress Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.