We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location, Wonderful Staff” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Cypress Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Cypress Inn to your Saves list
Cypress Inn
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Lincoln and seventh, PO Box y, Carmel, CA 93921   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 23 Hotels in Carmel
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Garden Valley, California
Top Contributor
158 reviews 158 reviews
66 hotel reviews
Reviews in 63 cities Reviews in 63 cities
169 helpful votes 169 helpful votes
“Great Location, Wonderful Staff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2013

Thank you Cypress Inn, for saving us from our awful stay in Cambria. The girl who took our reservation was informative and helped us greatly. The Bellman was wonderful and took great care and showed us everything we needed to know about the room. I loved the fact that this is a pet friendly hotel, since my pets were at home I enjoyed interacting with all the dogs. The bartender was great and very entertaining. Parking can be a bit of problem when staying at the hotel, but you cannot beat the location and we found a parking spot near by. I love this hotel and the staff is one of the best I have encountered in a long time. Will definitely be staying here again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

506 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    312
    124
    37
    16
    17
See reviews for
87
268
18
24
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (126)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Portland, Oregon
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2013

I have to warn fellow travelers to stay away from the Cypress Inn if you are looking for peaceful rest and relaxation on your coastal travels. We were very excited by the historic charm of the hotel when we checked in however our enthusiasm dissipated rapidly.
We were given an upstairs room situated directly above the hotel's kitchen. We were road weary and needed a nap, which was an impossibility due to the slamming of dishes and the raucous conversations of the dish washing crew. At this juncture, I had to request a new room and was accommodated (although the new room was smaller and lacked the veranda I had paid for). The new room likewise proved to be auditorily unacceptable also as we were greeted by the sounds of someone's vigorous intercourse session from the window below. Not only could we hear their passion, so could the whole hotel and the people on the street outside. I felt like I was in a brothel.
Fast forward to the morning and we were woken up before 7 am by this couple once again in the throes of passion. I feel like I spent the past night in a bordello. Personally I do not want to listen to the very private moments of others and furthermore expect that when I am staying in a hotel of this supposed caliber that I will not be exposed to these types of embarrassing and uncomfortable situations.
As I write this review I can hear the conversation from the room next door as clearly as if there were no wall at all. I will not be staying at the Cypress Inn again and suggest that travelers steer clear from this noisy den of iniquity.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calistoga, California
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2013

We stayed here for a couple nights this summer and I thought it was above average.

Let's start with the good things: Rooms were clean and nicely appointed. Beds were comfortable and pillows were nice. Sheets were soft and comfy, not scratchy and stiff like more inexpensive hotels. Service and staff were terrific! Everyone we talked to who worked at the hotel had a smile and were eager to help. It was very refreshing. The hotel is centrally located, you can walk to any store you are interested in visiting, also very short walk to the beach and coffee store!!! It was more like a bed and breakfast with a very social atmosphere.

Now for the not so good things: The bathroom was incredibly small, we are on the smaller size and when sitting on the toilet we could nearly lay our head on the sink! Dinner at the restaurant was not good, I was starving and still could not eat it. Not a huge deal because there are plenty of other place to eat that were 2 minutes away. The dogs....I generally like dogs, but am not a pet owner. The number of dogs in the hotel lobby was overwhelming with the little ones barking at each other and it did get stinky at times. On a couple occasions owners let their dogs urinate right in front of the hotel...on the concrete! Yuck! Maybe a few more ground rules for pet owners would be good?!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roanoke, VA
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2013 via mobile

We knew going in it was an old, quaint inn with a very pet friendly atmostphere. With that said, we didn't expect a heavy dog urine smell at the front entrance, dogs yapping in the hallway at 6 a.m. and generally being unimpressed with the overall condition of our room and the hotel. We were there on our honeymoon and supposedly reserved one of the nicest rooms in the hotel yet were not greeted with any special reception or offered any thoughtful amenities/services. We weren't expecting special treatment but at $500/night you expect service and luxury and this stay was just OK. If you want privacy, serenity and personal service, you need to look elsewhere. Also, Terry's Lounge...ugh...slow service.

Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carnelian Bay, Ca
Top Contributor
155 reviews 155 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2013

Maybe I should give this one 5 stars, but a couple of drawbacks give it a 4. First, the hotel and restaurant are classic Carmel. Just about all the hotels in the village were built in the 50's or earlier and there is not much room for remodeling. Cypress Inn is a charming example of original Carmel, from the architecture to the attentive service.

We enjoyed tea service with luscious sandwiches and pastries in the early afternoon in the living room, where else can you do that? Then we took a stroll down Ocean Ave, to the glorious white sand beach, stopping into the many shops that line that main street.

We stayed here for its walking distance to Sunset Center, a major venue for the
Carmel Bach Festival. We enjoyed a superlative dinner in Terry's Lounge before heading to Fantastique. The sand dabs and NY steak with uber fresh vegetables and fingerling or mashed potatoes were excellent, but the lamb lollipops are not to be missed!

Back to the hotel itself, the room was a rather standard hotel room of the 20th century, nice but lacking some of the creature comforts we have come to expect, like a mini refrig, and bathroom counter space, elevators and reliable wifi. But taking it for what it is, it was still very comfortable.

The room offers complimentary sherry to enjoy as well as a lovely breakfast buffet in the bar, and the front room off the lobby features musical entertainment in the evening.

Now to parking, they have a 9-car free parking lot down the street, which I was able to squeeze into. Beware that parking anywhere in Carmel is about as challenging in NYC, but hotel staff will help you figure something out.

I am a dog lover, but if you are not, you may want to stay elsewhere, since this is doggie haven throughout.

Overall would definitely recommend, since the same issues exist at most any place you will stay in Carmel.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Braunfels, Texas, United States
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2013

Good place to eat. Had dinner twice and really enjoyed the staffs suggestions of what to eat and drink. The hotel is owned by a well know movie star so everyone is very nice about seating you at at good location and our food was excellent. Try the beef rib, Meat fell off the bone and was very moist and tender. They have a great bar with excellent bartender for difficult drinks and waiter knows wine to help make suggestions.
Good place and they make you feel like you are special. I asked for the same table I previously had and they held it open for my 7:30 reservation. Most places in Carmel use the table and you have to wait even with a reservation.

Room Tip: Only ate here so don't know the room layouts.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Helena, California
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

We just stopped by the Cypress Inn for a cocktail. We sat in the patio and, as dog lovers, we were delighted to see all the canine visitors. The drinks were excellent, the server was pleasant and the relaxed atmosphere was just right for a summer afternoon. We'd certainlly consider staying there on our next visit to the area.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Cypress Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cypress Inn

Address: Lincoln and seventh, PO Box y, Carmel, CA 93921
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Monterey Peninsula > Carmel
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Carmel
#3 Romantic Hotel in Carmel
#6 Business Hotel in Carmel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Cypress Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Approaching the Cypress Inn, just steps away from Ocean Avenue, the beautiful Mediterranean façade offers visitors a warm welcome. As our hotel staff greets you, the charming garden courtyard and tastefully detailed atmosphere beckon you to relaxation. Come and experience the wonderful hospitality at this perfect retreat in Carmel-by-the-sea. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity and Hotels.com so you can book your Cypress Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cypress Hotel Carmel
Cypress Inn Carmel Ca

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cypress Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.