We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Didn't meet expectations” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Cypress Inn

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Carmel
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Cypress Inn
Save
You added Cypress Inn to your Saves list
Lincoln and seventh, PO Box y, Carmel, CA 93921   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 23 Hotels in Carmel
Roanoke, VA
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Didn't meet expectations”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2013 via mobile

We knew going in it was an old, quaint inn with a very pet friendly atmostphere. With that said, we didn't expect a heavy dog urine smell at the front entrance, dogs yapping in the hallway at 6 a.m. and generally being unimpressed with the overall condition of our room and the hotel. We were there on our honeymoon and supposedly reserved one of the nicest rooms in the hotel yet were not greeted with any special reception or offered any thoughtful amenities/services. We weren't expecting special treatment but at $500/night you expect service and luxury and this stay was just OK. If you want privacy, serenity and personal service, you need to look elsewhere. Also, Terry's Lounge...ugh...slow service.

Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

459 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    276
    113
    37
    16
    17
See reviews for
75
243
18
23
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (117)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Carnelian Bay, Ca
Top Contributor
142 reviews 142 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2013

Maybe I should give this one 5 stars, but a couple of drawbacks give it a 4. First, the hotel and restaurant are classic Carmel. Just about all the hotels in the village were built in the 50's or earlier and there is not much room for remodeling. Cypress Inn is a charming example of original Carmel, from the architecture to the attentive service.

We enjoyed tea service with luscious sandwiches and pastries in the early afternoon in the living room, where else can you do that? Then we took a stroll down Ocean Ave, to the glorious white sand beach, stopping into the many shops that line that main street.

We stayed here for its walking distance to Sunset Center, a major venue for the
Carmel Bach Festival. We enjoyed a superlative dinner in Terry's Lounge before heading to Fantastique. The sand dabs and NY steak with uber fresh vegetables and fingerling or mashed potatoes were excellent, but the lamb lollipops are not to be missed!

Back to the hotel itself, the room was a rather standard hotel room of the 20th century, nice but lacking some of the creature comforts we have come to expect, like a mini refrig, and bathroom counter space, elevators and reliable wifi. But taking it for what it is, it was still very comfortable.

The room offers complimentary sherry to enjoy as well as a lovely breakfast buffet in the bar, and the front room off the lobby features musical entertainment in the evening.

Now to parking, they have a 9-car free parking lot down the street, which I was able to squeeze into. Beware that parking anywhere in Carmel is about as challenging in NYC, but hotel staff will help you figure something out.

I am a dog lover, but if you are not, you may want to stay elsewhere, since this is doggie haven throughout.

Overall would definitely recommend, since the same issues exist at most any place you will stay in Carmel.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Braunfels, Texas, United States
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2013

Good place to eat. Had dinner twice and really enjoyed the staffs suggestions of what to eat and drink. The hotel is owned by a well know movie star so everyone is very nice about seating you at at good location and our food was excellent. Try the beef rib, Meat fell off the bone and was very moist and tender. They have a great bar with excellent bartender for difficult drinks and waiter knows wine to help make suggestions.
Good place and they make you feel like you are special. I asked for the same table I previously had and they held it open for my 7:30 reservation. Most places in Carmel use the table and you have to wait even with a reservation.

Room Tip: Only ate here so don't know the room layouts.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Helena, California
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

We just stopped by the Cypress Inn for a cocktail. We sat in the patio and, as dog lovers, we were delighted to see all the canine visitors. The drinks were excellent, the server was pleasant and the relaxed atmosphere was just right for a summer afternoon. We'd certainlly consider staying there on our next visit to the area.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

Love love love this place. It caught my eye whilst researching the Carmel / Monterey area, on tripadvisor as well as yelp. I travel pretty regularly so I have pretty high expectations. From the moment we pulled up to the hotel, the customer service has been impeccable. There wasn't any super close parking, so they told us we could just leave the car in the loading zone for a bit, and the front door man kept an eye out for a spot, and when one opened up, he came and let us know. It's so great not having to worry about little things like that when you're on a vacation! The vibe of the inn is sooo lovely. Like Christmas meets Old Hollywood. Definitely plan on relaxing in the lounge by the fire. Bliss! Our room is also lovely: super clean, remodeled, and being by the courtyard is very nice. Highly recommend!

Room Tip: 119 rocks. The staff seem to know their rooms so ask for their advice on their favorites!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anaheim Hills, CA
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2013

Before we ever landed there for two nights, I already had a sense of the importance that the hotel places of customer service by the way the front desk handled our reservation over the telephone. The girl who assisted me could not have been kinder or more helpful in helping us book two rooms just days before our arrival.

Once we actually arrived last week, she not only remembered our conversation but had the reservation sitting out and waiting when we arrived.

The rooms are beautiful - both is design and appointment. They are not big but they are perfect for a cozy hideaway weekend or couple of days. Loved the shower and the products that were already in the trays waiting to be dispensed during your shower. The fireplace is a nice touch and really heats up the room quickly.

Love the free wireless internet service all through the hotel, and especially in your hotel room. There is a large flatscreen television with scores of channels from the local cable provider. We really loved the bar which not only serves drinks but also serves the free breakfast. It is the hub of activity during the day although there are some lovely public rooms to sit in and several spots outside. We dined in the restaurant on our first night and everything we had was wonderfully prepared and tasted great.

The cost seemed a little high at first when i was checking on lodging. However, I began to notice a trend that the other establishments which were appx $100 a night less in cost all have a majority of negative reviews. WIth The Cypress Inn, it was just the opposite. Because it is Carmel, I think you have to expect to pay a bit more for a pleasant stay - and in this case, it really was was a matter of getting what you pay for.

Finally, you can't beat the location for walking, shopping, or eating. We never got a car back out for the two days we were there. Its a perfect place to go and relax.

If I had two suggestions for the hotel - it would be to add some meat to the morning menu and secondly, to try and get the night desk guy to be a bit friendlier and more helpful.

Saying all of that, we will definitely be back - and being our yellow lab with us next time.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013 via mobile

My husband and I stumbled upon the Cypress Inn by accident. We had been staying in Santa Cruz and, following a bad B&B experience there, decided to spend the second night of out weekend getaway in Carmel. We found the Cypress Innon tripadvisor, made a phone call, and were happy to learn the had one available room! From the moment we arrived we fell in love! Beautiful architecture and decor, friendly and helpful staff, and adorable (and quiet) pups everywhere! It was just what we were looking for! Great location, too! And Drago, the bartender, was great! Definitely try one of his Old Fashions! We'll definitely be back to the Cypress Inn - but next time with our dogs!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Cypress Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cypress Inn

Address: Lincoln and seventh, PO Box y, Carmel, CA 93921
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Monterey Peninsula > Carmel
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Carmel
#3 Romantic Hotel in Carmel
#4 Family Hotel in Carmel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Approaching the Cypress Inn, just steps away from Ocean Avenue, the beautiful Mediterranean façade offers visitors a warm welcome. As our hotel staff greets you, the charming garden courtyard and tastefully detailed atmosphere beckon you to relaxation. Come and experience the wonderful hospitality at this perfect retreat in Carmel-by-the-sea. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Cypress Hotel Carmel
Cypress Inn Carmel Ca

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cypress Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.