We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful & charming hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Cypress Inn

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Carmel
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Cypress Inn
Save Saved
You added Cypress Inn to your Saves list
Lincoln and seventh, PO Box y, Carmel, CA 93921   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 22 Hotels in Carmel
London, England, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Beautiful & charming hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2013

We stayed at the Cypress Inn in Carmel on the last leg of our honeymoon before arriving in San Francisco.

We were on the ground floor in a courtyard room, which was secluded and very peaceful. It was very clean and comfortable.

We ate in the restaurant on a couple of nights and I loved the tagine with giant cous cous. It was a very relaxed dining atmosphere that we appreciated.

For us the best bit was that the Cypress Inn is a dog friendly hotel. Everyone staying there was very friendly and this meant different dogs to say hello to every day.

Overall our stay was excellent and we have recommended this hotel to friends since.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

427 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    250
    109
    36
    16
    16
See reviews for
69
226
18
21
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (105)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
North Carolina
Top Contributor
104 reviews 104 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
103 helpful votes 103 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

This trip we didn't actually stay at the Inn...but we certainly will next time.

Instead we had lunch at the bar & were thoroughly entertained by the bartender!! What a mixologist & personality!

We absolutely fell in love with this place...and being animal lovers...had to "speak" to each dog in the lovely courtyard and hear their stories (so many were rescues). It warmed our hearts.

Owned partially by Doris Day, her movies were being screened in the bar and although I'd seen the one showing a zillion times -- we still sat there hanging on every word.

Enjoyed all the movie memorabilia scattered throughout.

A thoroughly wonderful lunch...OH...and the FOOD? Best BLT sandwich I've ever had in my life!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2013

A charming hotel in a charming locale. This place is quintessential Carmel. As you come to expect in America staff are friendly and ebullient. The rooms are good. Mine was situated on a quaint courtyard. Dogs everywhere so if you are allergic give this place a miss or bring your antihistamines. Breakfast was ok. No proper coffee, just percolated...Grrr! Overall a lovely experience.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2013

Cypress Inn is in a perfect location and is a lovely, small inn that is more than dog friendly. You can bring your dogs of apparently any size which brings a special warmth to the environment.

The public rooms are well maintained, the continental breakfast plentiful (but basic) and the inn has the nicest staff. The bar in the hotel is a busy spot and is a great local hangout. The bartenders bring a lot of personality to the bar.

The basic rooms leave a bit to be desired. We also had quite a bit of noise from the dog walking. breakfast crowd. The cramped, 1929 style bathrooms also need a lot of updating. It isn't a posh place... but we will definitely return to the Cypress Inn...perhaps staying in the newer wing.

Room Tip: Stay in the new wing!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2013

We have stayed at the Cypress Inn four times over the years, most recently last week for four nights. and there's a lot to be pleased with...
The breakfast buffet is really superb, the staff we have come into contact with (especially at breakfast) could not have been more accomodating, the housekeeping staff keeps everything fresh and well-stocked, and with one exception we have nothing but praise for the entire management and operation of this elegant property.
Along with several other rooms, our room #203 had two large windows overlooking the outdoor patio, extremely popular all the time, especially at night. We were told when we booked this room not to worry about late evening noise as the patio closes at 10 pm every night, and no one is allowed out there. On our third night, at 10:45 pm, an extremely loud and drunk party of 5-6 guests(all out on the patio) woke us out of a sound sleep. When we called the front desk, we got an extremely indifferent attitude from the male on duty, who said, "Well, no one is allowed out there after 10 pm..."When we reminded him it was 10:45 pm, he responded with, "Oh, well, I'll have to find a manager to take care of this so it may take awhile." Have to find a manager?! Why not take an assertive role and walk out to the patio (15 feet from the front desk) and put a stop to this situation? The front desk guy acted like he couldn't have cared less, although eventually, the party disbanded and left. Very disappointing non-action from a hotel of this calibre.

Then, at 12 midnight, part of the same group returned to the outside patio, even louder and drunker. Again, we were wakened out of a sound sleep. When I again called the front desk, a different front desk person (thank God) said he had just gone out and taken care of the problem---which he had.The noise stopped permanently as soon as I hung up the phone. He had started his shift at 11 pm, an extremely gracious and tactful gentleman with cool muttonchop sideburns.

The next morning, he apologized for the problem, and even reduced out room rate some for us having to endure this situation the night before.This man is a wonderful representative of the Cypress Inn.

To Fiona (the property manager): The Cypress Inn has so much going for it, and such a wonderful history and tradition. You have ropes, stanchions and a sign out on the patio which clearly says it closes at 10 pm nightly. And your front desk is mere feet away, where any noise or disruption can easily and immediately be heard. Why allow inconsiderate, intoxicated guests to ignore your policy, at the expense of other guests who are paying a pretty penny to stay there? Why wasn't the front desk person we first contacted at 10:45 pm more instantly responsive to this situation, like the gentleman who started at 11 pm was?

If you're going to have a policy, especially one that is intended to protect the peace and tranquility of your property, enforce it. And either retrain - or replace - that guy at the front desk who could easily hear the problem (but apparently could not read a clock) when it first started but did nothing until we complained.

Other than this unfurtunate mis-step, our experience with the Cypress Inn was first class.

Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Overland Park, Kansas, United States
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

I didn't realize how many people with animals would be staying here. I'm a huge dog person, so I loved it! The breakfast is nice, eggs, potatoes, pastries, fresh juice. On Saturday night they had live piano music in the living room area. The staff was very friendly. Location was perfect, easy walking to everything. I would have rated it a 5, but our room was right off the main entryway, so was pretty loud on Saturday night, even though they had glass double doors that were shut.

Room Tip: Ask for room away from entryway
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for a weekend to celebrate a birthday. Having been before, we had expectations and were not disappointed. The rooms are a bit dated but the hotel was built in the 1920's. Romans were well appointed and the beds were great. Our room had a fireplace which was nice for cool evenings.
Thursday through Sundsy there is live entertainment in the lobby. Friday night is Debbie Davis and Gennady, what a treat.
Restaurant and bar are nice places to relax when you are tired if shopping in Carmel. One of the owners, Denny, is around the hotel a great deal and insures the guests have a good experience.
A dog friendly establishment. Looks like a dog show in the evenings, a nice feeling.
We rank this ad the top hotel in Carmel, hands down.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Cypress Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cypress Inn

Address: Lincoln and seventh, PO Box y, Carmel, CA 93921
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Monterey Peninsula > Carmel
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Carmel
#5 Family Hotel in Carmel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Approaching the Cypress Inn, just steps away from Ocean Avenue, the beautiful Mediterranean façade offers visitors a warm welcome. As our hotel staff greets you, the charming garden courtyard and tastefully detailed atmosphere beckon you to relaxation. Come and experience the wonderful hospitality at this perfect retreat in Carmel-by-the-sea. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Cypress Hotel Carmel
Cypress Inn Carmel Ca

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cypress Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.