We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A lovely gem in charming Carmel!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Cypress Inn

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Carmel
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Cypress Inn
Save Saved
You added Cypress Inn to your Saves list
Lincoln and seventh, PO Box y, Carmel, CA 93921   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 22 Hotels in Carmel
Los Angeles, California
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
“A lovely gem in charming Carmel!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2013

Cypress Inn is in a perfect location and is a lovely, small inn that is more than dog friendly. You can bring your dogs of apparently any size which brings a special warmth to the environment.

The public rooms are well maintained, the continental breakfast plentiful (but basic) and the inn has the nicest staff. The bar in the hotel is a busy spot and is a great local hangout. The bartenders bring a lot of personality to the bar.

The basic rooms leave a bit to be desired. We also had quite a bit of noise from the dog walking. breakfast crowd. The cramped, 1929 style bathrooms also need a lot of updating. It isn't a posh place... but we will definitely return to the Cypress Inn...perhaps staying in the newer wing.

Room Tip: Stay in the new wing!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

440 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    259
    112
    37
    16
    16
See reviews for
71
233
18
22
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (108)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Florida
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2013

We have stayed at the Cypress Inn four times over the years, most recently last week for four nights. and there's a lot to be pleased with...
The breakfast buffet is really superb, the staff we have come into contact with (especially at breakfast) could not have been more accomodating, the housekeeping staff keeps everything fresh and well-stocked, and with one exception we have nothing but praise for the entire management and operation of this elegant property.
Along with several other rooms, our room #203 had two large windows overlooking the outdoor patio, extremely popular all the time, especially at night. We were told when we booked this room not to worry about late evening noise as the patio closes at 10 pm every night, and no one is allowed out there. On our third night, at 10:45 pm, an extremely loud and drunk party of 5-6 guests(all out on the patio) woke us out of a sound sleep. When we called the front desk, we got an extremely indifferent attitude from the male on duty, who said, "Well, no one is allowed out there after 10 pm..."When we reminded him it was 10:45 pm, he responded with, "Oh, well, I'll have to find a manager to take care of this so it may take awhile." Have to find a manager?! Why not take an assertive role and walk out to the patio (15 feet from the front desk) and put a stop to this situation? The front desk guy acted like he couldn't have cared less, although eventually, the party disbanded and left. Very disappointing non-action from a hotel of this calibre.

Then, at 12 midnight, part of the same group returned to the outside patio, even louder and drunker. Again, we were wakened out of a sound sleep. When I again called the front desk, a different front desk person (thank God) said he had just gone out and taken care of the problem---which he had.The noise stopped permanently as soon as I hung up the phone. He had started his shift at 11 pm, an extremely gracious and tactful gentleman with cool muttonchop sideburns.

The next morning, he apologized for the problem, and even reduced out room rate some for us having to endure this situation the night before.This man is a wonderful representative of the Cypress Inn.

To Fiona (the property manager): The Cypress Inn has so much going for it, and such a wonderful history and tradition. You have ropes, stanchions and a sign out on the patio which clearly says it closes at 10 pm nightly. And your front desk is mere feet away, where any noise or disruption can easily and immediately be heard. Why allow inconsiderate, intoxicated guests to ignore your policy, at the expense of other guests who are paying a pretty penny to stay there? Why wasn't the front desk person we first contacted at 10:45 pm more instantly responsive to this situation, like the gentleman who started at 11 pm was?

If you're going to have a policy, especially one that is intended to protect the peace and tranquility of your property, enforce it. And either retrain - or replace - that guy at the front desk who could easily hear the problem (but apparently could not read a clock) when it first started but did nothing until we complained.

Other than this unfurtunate mis-step, our experience with the Cypress Inn was first class.

Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Overland Park, Kansas, United States
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

I didn't realize how many people with animals would be staying here. I'm a huge dog person, so I loved it! The breakfast is nice, eggs, potatoes, pastries, fresh juice. On Saturday night they had live piano music in the living room area. The staff was very friendly. Location was perfect, easy walking to everything. I would have rated it a 5, but our room was right off the main entryway, so was pretty loud on Saturday night, even though they had glass double doors that were shut.

Room Tip: Ask for room away from entryway
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for a weekend to celebrate a birthday. Having been before, we had expectations and were not disappointed. The rooms are a bit dated but the hotel was built in the 1920's. Romans were well appointed and the beds were great. Our room had a fireplace which was nice for cool evenings.
Thursday through Sundsy there is live entertainment in the lobby. Friday night is Debbie Davis and Gennady, what a treat.
Restaurant and bar are nice places to relax when you are tired if shopping in Carmel. One of the owners, Denny, is around the hotel a great deal and insures the guests have a good experience.
A dog friendly establishment. Looks like a dog show in the evenings, a nice feeling.
We rank this ad the top hotel in Carmel, hands down.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elk Grove, California
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2013

Cypress Inn is a lovely centrally located in the heart of Carmel by the Sea...We were just disappointed that we could not get a ground floor room unless we had a 3 night min. Our dog is old and blind, so has to be carried, so had to take the 2nd floor room for 2 nights.
Staff is very nice and helpful...Rooms are very clean...a little small, but ok...Would be nice to have a pet area with some grass, but that is Carmel, you have to expect it...
Don't get room 217...or that end of the Inn because was very noisy from the clanking of dishes from kitchen all night.
Terry's lounge is lovely...Dinner in the garden was very nice...Breakfasts in the lounge was nice too...Just wish they had coffee pots in the rooms, but hey, can't have everything..

Room Tip: Rooms on the south side (opposite rm 217) are quieter...away from kitchen...seems you have to have a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2013

The desk clerks, the wait staff, the maids, even the maintenance guy -- everyone at this hotel is efficient, friendly and helpful. We are in our 60's and emerged from great sadness to find each other. We wanted to marry by the sea. I think the whole staff knew our situation and all were just incredible. In fact, one waitress recommended a place that turned out to be far better than the spot we had chosen. It was perfect, and so was our stay at the Cypress. One note about the dogs: Their presence seems to draw most guests together in conversation, making the Cypress an excellent spot for friendly chats with complete strangers. Yes, there is sometimes barking or even the occasional snarls (still talking about the dogs!) but if you are a dog lover, there is no better place to stay on the Monterrey Peninsula than the Cypress Inn.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cayman Islands
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2013

My friend and I were driving the beautiful Pacific Coast Highway from San Francisco to Los Angeles and stopped in to stay at the lovely Cypress Inn after realizing that we had WAY underestimated how long a journey it would be to our next stop of Santa Barbara via the scenic route.
Carmel is a wonderful place full of shops, art galleries and terrific restaurants, and the Cypress Inn is the cherry on top as far as we're concerned.
Our rooms were beautifully appointed, and we treated ourselves to the best. My king suite had a fireplace in the living room, huge tub and a really comfortable bed. It wasn't very cold outside, but I couldn't resist using that fireplace for a bit as I live in the Caribbean, so it was a novelty for me.
The Cypress Inn is renowned for being doggie friendly as Doris Day, an owner, is a huge animal advocate. It was fun to see everyone sitting and chatting with their various doggie charges accompanying them in the lounge. All the dogs seemed to get along so well - maybe they know it's their place!
The bar is a terrific little venue for socializing and the bartender is something of a wizard with ingredients and a shaker in his hand. Make sure you stop by there one evening and indulge in some of his creations whilst you sup upon some excellent food from the diverse menu.
Our only regret is that we could only stay for one night, as Carmel was certainly worth a closer look, and the Cypress Inn was difficult to leave after such a wonderful experience.
We have stayed at many grand hotels throughout our travels, yet the Cypress Inn in some ways overtakes them all. It is a cozy, upscale boutique inn with no comfort overlooked and warm and friendly staff that truly make it a home away from home.

Room Tip: We saw some of the other rooms, and they are all lovely and unique. If you can spring for a suite, p...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Cypress Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cypress Inn

Address: Lincoln and seventh, PO Box y, Carmel, CA 93921
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Monterey Peninsula > Carmel
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Carmel
#6 Family Hotel in Carmel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Approaching the Cypress Inn, just steps away from Ocean Avenue, the beautiful Mediterranean façade offers visitors a warm welcome. As our hotel staff greets you, the charming garden courtyard and tastefully detailed atmosphere beckon you to relaxation. Come and experience the wonderful hospitality at this perfect retreat in Carmel-by-the-sea. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Cypress Hotel Carmel
Cypress Inn Carmel Ca

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cypress Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.