We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Doris Day jewel in Carmel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Cypress Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Cypress Inn to your Saves list
Cypress Inn
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Lincoln and seventh, PO Box y, Carmel, CA 93921   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 23 Hotels in Carmel
Certificate of Excellence
Cayman Islands
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“A Doris Day jewel in Carmel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2013

My friend and I were driving the beautiful Pacific Coast Highway from San Francisco to Los Angeles and stopped in to stay at the lovely Cypress Inn after realizing that we had WAY underestimated how long a journey it would be to our next stop of Santa Barbara via the scenic route.
Carmel is a wonderful place full of shops, art galleries and terrific restaurants, and the Cypress Inn is the cherry on top as far as we're concerned.
Our rooms were beautifully appointed, and we treated ourselves to the best. My king suite had a fireplace in the living room, huge tub and a really comfortable bed. It wasn't very cold outside, but I couldn't resist using that fireplace for a bit as I live in the Caribbean, so it was a novelty for me.
The Cypress Inn is renowned for being doggie friendly as Doris Day, an owner, is a huge animal advocate. It was fun to see everyone sitting and chatting with their various doggie charges accompanying them in the lounge. All the dogs seemed to get along so well - maybe they know it's their place!
The bar is a terrific little venue for socializing and the bartender is something of a wizard with ingredients and a shaker in his hand. Make sure you stop by there one evening and indulge in some of his creations whilst you sup upon some excellent food from the diverse menu.
Our only regret is that we could only stay for one night, as Carmel was certainly worth a closer look, and the Cypress Inn was difficult to leave after such a wonderful experience.
We have stayed at many grand hotels throughout our travels, yet the Cypress Inn in some ways overtakes them all. It is a cozy, upscale boutique inn with no comfort overlooked and warm and friendly staff that truly make it a home away from home.

Room Tip: We saw some of the other rooms, and they are all lovely and unique. If you can spring for a suite, p...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

522 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    323
    128
    38
    16
    17
See reviews for
89
277
18
25
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (127)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2013

My husband and I stayed here on a whim and it was a great find even though we were on the first floor next to a lot of guest traffic. This was lessened by a set of double doors that separated the guest rooms area from the lobby. Our room was small, but well appointed and the bathroom was quite nice and roomy with good lighting and an actual window (which is rare for hotels in which I've stayed). The in-room sherry was a nice touch that I've never experienced before, and of course they allow dogs! I love this hotel and the customer service we experienced was excellent. There is a nice laid back atmosphere here and unlike other hotels we've stayed in, we actually felt like we could hang out in the lobby comfortably. I would recommend.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Soquel, California
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2013

When my husband & I are in Carmel, we always have a drink in Terry's Lounge, the bar in the Cypress Inn. Dogs are welcome & there are dogs EVERYWHERE! It's like the bar scene from Star Wars, so fun & entertaining. Mary, who has worked there for a long time, is sweet, efficient & a wonderful asset. Come early, come often, you won't be sorry!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louisville, Kentucky
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2013

Walking through the double glass doors into this charming Inn is a little like stepping into a small luxury hotel in Paris. Guests sip wine in the bar while their dogs watch the goings-on from under their owners' tables. The service is exceptional. Upon arrival, Randy at the front desk, made us feel at home. Many of the rooms are newly and luxuriously appointed while retaining an old world ambience. The location in Carmel is perfect for daytime and evening strolls.

Room Tip: Room 118 off the courtyard or Room 224 upstairs are excellent choices.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Cruz, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2013

We stayed at the Cypress Inn again for our anniversary weekend. Brought all 3 dogs and just had a wondeful time. There is something so special here - it just makes you happy to be a part of it. everyone there is so friendly and we always meet other lovely guests. The music, the decor, the happy dogs and people. Debbie Davis is a one of a kind fabulous entertainer. To sit in comfy couches in a classy yet very comfy living room and listen to such great music while having cocktails and appetizers with dogs at your feet - just doesn't get better. The breakfast is yummy and the location in Carmel is just the best. We love the Cypress Inn and hope t spend many more happy taill times there.

Room Tip: we love the corner room with your own entrance 112
See more room tips
Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013

Everything from the roaring fire in the great room, to the complimentary sherry in the guest room, this place is picture perfect. The staff is wonderful - a special shout out to Randy. Excellent food and a nice atmosphere all around. I wasn't traveling with my dog and was very happy ti mingle with the dogs lucky enough to stay here. I will definitely make this a repeat destination.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013

We've been there twice and will gladly come again as per the followings:
Atmosphere, service and location.

The owner is THE famous actress and singer ,also known as a pet lover .
Her soft and special voice escort us in the public areas , songs are naïveté I know yet simple, loving, appeals to youngsters as well and brings back early childhood memories to others.
B&B :
There is a variety of rooms sizes, it's recommended to make early reservations in order to meet each ones wishes and abilities.
Breakfast is served in 2 different sections: regular or pets friendly.
i wasn't in this category (THAT pets friendly..) in my 1st stay yet "behaved " as my daughters dog was there yet absolutely overwhelmed by the time we came for the 2nd stay, miracles happens right!?
Breakfast is great
Guest in the pets friendly part are interested in their neighboring tables people and dogs , kind of different for outsiders at the beginning ,people r talking to each other... no politics,business / other "problems" talks, isn't it all about V-a-c-a-t-i-o-n
There is a variety collection of rooms, small to large ones.guess one can choose via their web site

Front desk team very professional and the friendliest I met so far.salute!
Their advices always met our wishes and budget and they r always welcoming us so nicely and patiently
They also advice and help getting Babysitting services as one is not allowed to leave a pet alone in the room.
Our babysitter was great he took our dog to the ocean shore ,they were both excited and exhausted..yet happy

there is an evening live music singer and pianist in a very nice guests lounge and a outdoors garden to relax and or dine.

Location is great, walking distance to the ocean shore and main st.

We've reported a mistakenly ceiling rip in our leased car caused during help with our luggage and dog cage.
The respond was , pls let us know the cost of repair( without even seeing/checking )
Tnx for staying with us again and have a safe and pleasant trip back home..It was fully covered with no questions at all.

Charming place to come back soon I wish
Dorit

Room Tip: Just make the reservation in advance, there was a wide comfortable room facing the St.with a little...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Cypress Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cypress Inn

Address: Lincoln and seventh, PO Box y, Carmel, CA 93921
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Monterey Peninsula > Carmel
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Carmel
#3 Romantic Hotel in Carmel
#5 Business Hotel in Carmel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Cypress Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Approaching the Cypress Inn, just steps away from Ocean Avenue, the beautiful Mediterranean façade offers visitors a warm welcome. As our hotel staff greets you, the charming garden courtyard and tastefully detailed atmosphere beckon you to relaxation. Come and experience the wonderful hospitality at this perfect retreat in Carmel-by-the-sea. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and Travelocity so you can book your Cypress Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cypress Hotel Carmel
Cypress Inn Carmel Ca

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cypress Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.