We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great for Pets, Great for Humans!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Cypress Inn

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Carmel
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for rooms, adults
Cypress Inn
Save Saved
You added Cypress Inn to your Saves list
Lincoln and seventh, PO Box y, Carmel, CA 93921   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 22 Hotels in Carmel
Haverford, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
509 reviews 509 reviews
103 hotel reviews
Reviews in 133 cities Reviews in 133 cities
347 helpful votes 347 helpful votes
“Great for Pets, Great for Humans!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2013

First off who couldn't love a hotel that welcomes and adores dogs or a hotel that is owned by Doris Day? Already those two facts make me love this unique hotel!
Our group stayed here for two nights while in Carmel. The moment you walk in the front door you are made to feel like a welcomed guest. The lobby is cozy and inviting with big couches and a roaring fire. There are dog treats at the front desk and pictures and memorabilia of Doris Day everywhere. The staff is warm and inviting and every where you see dogs and dog owners enjoying their stay.
The bar seemed to be a hot spot not just for hotel guests but also for locals.
Our room was very nice with a fire place. We had a corner room so it was nice to have windows on two walls. The room was a little bit on the small side, but plenty comfortable. I will admit that we went to bed early and our room did have a little bit of street noise. Carmel is a pretty quiet town, but we did have a few folks talking under our windows.
The entire hotel just feels comfortable with over stuffed furniture. In the room we were given complimentary sherry and water. I found our stay extremely comfortable.
The breakfast in the morning was very good (served at the bar). It was not huge, but enough to get to start out the morning with.
Best of all are the dogs. Nothing makes me happier than a dog sleeping in the lobby or walking by you in the hall. Doris Day loves dogs and she has made a hotel where they are not tolerated but welcomed as guests. It made me love the hotel even more!

Room Tip: Try not to get room over the street, our room did have a little street noise and I guess the rooms i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

439 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    259
    111
    37
    16
    16
See reviews for
71
232
18
22
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (108)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Texas
Top Contributor
152 reviews 152 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2013 via mobile

What a great place. Very warm and friendly. Wonderful singers on one night and good guitar on the next. Loved all the dogs. Didn't stay overnight so I cant comment on the rooms. A charming little place.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairview, California
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2013

While visiting Carmel and walking the streets, we decided to drop in for a drink and see how all of the dogs were getting along during happy hour. We actually stayed here a few years back when we had two little dogs and wanted to see the 'pups.! We had a great table smack in the middle of the action and the wait staff was excellent and very attentive. I had a Gin and Tonic that was simply fabulous! My wife had a local Pinot and she ejoyed it as well. We met several of the dogs and all of them were very well behaved . . . their owners weren't bad either. If you have a dog, bring them here and both of you will enjoy your stay.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2013 via mobile

Made reservations for Mother's Day. Nice table outside. Wait staff not that friendly. Incredibly slow service, it took them over 1 1/2 hours to serve lunch:( Manager on duty seemed reasonable and apologized. Drinks comped. Finally, food arrived... Unfortunately not worth the wait. Pluses- dogs allowed and beautiful sunny day, otherwise Mothers Day may have been completely ruined.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CypressManager, General Manager at Cypress Inn, responded to this review, May 23, 2013
Dear CaliRN04,
Thanks for taking the time to review your Mother's Day experience at Terry's Lounge. While I'm glad our manager on duty had the opportunity to apologize for your experience and the wait time for the food, your review indicates that you still left unsatisfied, and for this I am truly sorry. I'm not sure if you live in the area, but I would love to have you back and show you the true Terry's experience that so many of our locals and visitors alike enjoy so much on a regular basis. I'd like to think that your experience was an anomaly, and would love the chance to meet you in person and show you what we're made of! Please feel free to contace me (Fiona Ayers) personally at 831-624-3871. Your satisfaction and feedback is so important to us. With best regards,
Fiona
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wichita, Kansas, United States
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

Wonderful ambience. Friendly staff. Great restaurant. Perfect location. Beautiful dogs everywhere. I love this place, however, it's not for everybody. The rooms are small compared to today's standards (this is an older building afterall). Since it is pet friendly (a good thing) be prepared to hear barking, even in the middle of the night. There is not much sound-proofing in the walls. So you can also hear your neighbor's discussions. Parking is basically on the street since they only have 9 parking spaces available and they are always filled.

If you want to focus on the ambience, friendly staff, great restaurant and a chance to meet some beautiful canine guests, then this is the place to stay. If the drawbacks are something you feel strongly about, choose another place to stay in Carmel.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2013

Lovely ambience and wonderful overall experience. Very friendly and helpful staff. Felt as if we were in someone's home as their guest. The room was charming and the beds were extremely comfortable. Our dinner was delicious ( Ahi tuna), service was great. Overall style is true to charming Carmel!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013

While other hotels may be "fancier," I doubt that any are more fun. Everyone there made us feel welcome as true guests - not just someone who had booked a room. It isn't a large hotel, but that works in its favor. Maybe the best thing about the Cypress Inn is that the guests actually talk to each other! It's often hard to strike up a conversation with a complete stranger, but if that stranger has a little dog wagging his tail you instantly have something to talk about. [By the way, we didn't have a dog with us, and I wondered if the rooms would "smell" of dogs. Our room was perfectly clean and "smell-free."] We were there for three nights and loved having the hotel be right in the middle of town so it was easy to walk to the shops and restaurants and beach. We ate at Terry's bar our first night, Casanova the second, and on our last evening, after walking to practically every restaurant in Carmel, we decided it was really hard to beat the locally caught sand dabs at Terry's - so we had them again sitting in the outdoor patio listening to an acoustical guitar player. We never had a problem finding free parking within three blocks. And as for the Doris Day theme, my wife and I were too young to really remember her from her prime, but having her movie posters in the hallways and a tv in a lobby playing her movies running wasn't at all overwhelming. It added to the overall experience.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for rooms, adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Cypress Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cypress Inn

Address: Lincoln and seventh, PO Box y, Carmel, CA 93921
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Monterey Peninsula > Carmel
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Carmel
#6 Family Hotel in Carmel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Approaching the Cypress Inn, just steps away from Ocean Avenue, the beautiful Mediterranean façade offers visitors a warm welcome. As our hotel staff greets you, the charming garden courtyard and tastefully detailed atmosphere beckon you to relaxation. Come and experience the wonderful hospitality at this perfect retreat in Carmel-by-the-sea. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Cypress Hotel Carmel
Cypress Inn Carmel Ca

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cypress Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.