We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A lovely, warm stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Cypress Inn

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Carmel
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Cypress Inn
Save
You added Cypress Inn to your Saves list
Lincoln and seventh, PO Box y, Carmel, CA 93921   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 23 Hotels in Carmel
Bel Air, Maryland
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
“A lovely, warm stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2012

Upon arriving in quaint little Carmel by the Sea, we headed to the cypress inn for a night and landed up staying for two! Randy, who greeted us, was such a great concierge! He gave us a beautiful room and recommended many great restuarants that we really enjoyed. Our room was immaculate and decorated beautifully. Breakfast was fit for a king. Fresh fruit, delicious danish, scrambled eggs, bagel and much more.

I loved that Doris Day was part owner and that there was nostalgia of her earlier years everywhere. Everyone loves Doris Day, right?!!! I had read her biography many years ago and felt very connected at this lovely inn. The bar area, where we came for a night cap every evening, is named after her son. The bartenders were friendly and helpful. We took thier advise and went to big sur and had lunch at the post ranch inn. The views at this restuarant for lunch were spectacular! The food was good to boot!!! Every recommendation by the fabulous staff was spot on. Every one of them took time to help us and direct us through this lovely area in california.

The other great thing about this inn is that dogs are welcome. We did not have a dog traveling with us, but it was funny to turn every corner and see dogs!!! We got to see dogs do their tricks and just lay there at the table while their owners had breakfast. Anyone who loves animals is a good person, so I felt among great people the whole time we were there. I think it important to mention that I did not smell anything or see anything distasteful in reguard to the dogs. The inn was spotless.

I hope that we can get back to carmel sometime soon and would stay nowhere else than the cypress inn. What a wonderful experience. Not one negative comment can even be made! Go there and you will see!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

459 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    276
    113
    37
    16
    17
See reviews for
75
243
18
23
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (117)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Chelmsford
Top Contributor
96 reviews 96 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2012 via mobile

Stayed here with family for a few days as part of my holiday to California. Staff very welcoming on reception and in the bar. We brought along the family pet who also enjoyed his stay. Buffet style breakfast was good with plenty to choose from. Missed having facility in the room for making a coffee or tea. There is a decanter of sherry and fresh fruit & peanuts. Found having to go to bar for drinking water a bit of a bind. My room was comfortable (211) but very dark as no outside windows. But overall I enjoyed my stay in this unique hotel & recommend it.

Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2012

Cypress Inn is the type of place you find yourself going back to year after year. Maybe it's just to see the bartender who remembers your drink or the front desk help who treat you like an old friend returning from abroad. It's a first rate establishment. If you love dogs, and you should, be prepared to see them, well behaved and sitting by their owner's side. They are also soaking up the ambience of this renovated marvel. Rooms vary and that should be noted. This is an older hotel and space can seem cramped, especially in the bathrooms. Other than that, it's a lovely experience.

Room Tip: Ask for a room that has a fireplace. They tend to be larger.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palm Harbor, FL
Top Contributor
112 reviews 112 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2012

We LOVE Carmel. We LOVE our dog. Everyone was happy with this stay. Carmel is the most dog friendly city we have ever visited. The Cypress Inn was wonderful. The room we had was right behind the front desk and entered from the street. It was large, well appointed and totally ready for our dog - dishes, bones, a comforter and all. It was NOT noisy as someone else experienced here. We did hear outside noise, but it was not loud, nor did it keep us up. We had a very comfortable king size bed, and slept well. They had a very nice breakfast- hot and cold, cereal, fresh fruit, eggs, sausage and bacon, pastries, breads. Dogs were indeed everywhere, but there were no messes. The staff was wonderful! We were instructed of places we could have dinner with our dog at the table (well, under the table), and they even brought him chicken and rice. The only negative is you sure pay for the convenience! Prices were outrageous, but it is California, after all. Just a few short blocks to the beach. Yes, it's dog friendly too! Wonderful stay!! The entire city is walkable with wonderful shops on every street. Really loved it!

Room Tip: In all honesty if you don't like dogs, you might want to pick another city~
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newport Beach, California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012

Not all bad!
Terry's Lounge, live cool jazz, good wine, is really NICE. Get there early if you actually want a comfortable seat.
You'd better like dogs.
Rooms must be carefully selected. Some are shabby. Some are lovely. Upstairs/downstairs Tower Suite @$500 looks like fun, until you realize it it conveniently situated next to the boiler vents, causing the lower area to heat up to the point of my personal nickname.
The bed area upstairs offer fresh breezes, great views, and close relationships to the highly vocal pigeon colony.
Think hard about how far you are willing to go for a bathroom trip in the middle of the night.
Staff at front, bar & restaurant was fine, housekeeping staff was unpleasant and haphazard. This may be the result of having to clean up after the dogs?
It certainly looks like it would be possible to have a nice stay. Just be careful. And did I mention, you'd better like dogs?

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CypressManager, General Manager at Cypress Inn, responded to this review, October 3, 2012
Dear Fierceowl,
Thanks for taking the time to review our property. Your satisfaction is our utmost priority. I am very pleased to read the "positives". The not-so-positives help us to set priorities for improvements. I am sorry you found the downstairs part of your room to be too warm, and am pleased to advise that we are currently planning a guest room renovation, which will also address the cooling in the lower portion of the Tower Suite. The Tower Suite is the most unique room we have and the highest point on our property; a favorite of many for the very reasons you have listed. I would love to have the opportunity to discuss your experience with the housekeeping staff so that I may address it. It is very rare that we encounter negatives with regard to staff attitude and I apologize that this was your experience. I hope to be able to welcome you back to Cypress Inn in the near future. I'd like to personally assist with a future reservation and can be reached directly at fiona@cypress-inn.com. Again, thanks for taking the time to share your thoughts. Best, Fiona Ayers (831) 624-3871.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
George Town, Grand Cayman
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

Well what can I say, the whole town is full of old school charm, especially at the Cypress Inn. This quaint little inn was everything we could have asked for. Great rooms, staff and doggies too. A special thanks to the GM Fiona who made us feel very welcome and made our stay perfect! Thanks to some of the other staff including Will and Drago at the bar, F AND B manager Jonathon and Kahli on the front desk. Because of them we will tell others about Cypress Inn and we will definitly be back!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louisville, KY
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

My wife and I took a week-long trip to northern CA, during which two nights were spent in Carmel. We decided to stay at the Cypress Inn because of reviews on Tripadvisor.

Although we are "dog people", with five of our own, we didn't bring any along on our trip. But it seemed everyone else at the hotel did. There were dogs everywhere. I'm just making that point for those that are not dog people (you know who you are :), are allergic, etc. We didn't mind it all - in fact, we enjoyed the atmosphere very much since we were a few thousand miles away from our babies.

The hotel was built (I believe) in the 1920s and had a quaint look and feel. As with most older hotels, the room was very small. The bathroom was relatively small as well. There was no a/c in the room, which is usually a must-have for us. We opened the windows to get a cross-wind, and that was ok. Only problem was the hotel is near the center of the town so there was some noise - nothing major though. The bed was pretty comfortable.

The hotel offered a very basic continental breakfast. I would have expected a little higher quality for $300+ per night. Everyone at the front desk was very courteous and seemed eager to please. I agree with a previous review in that this hotel is find for a 1-2 night stay. Beyond that, I would prefer a larger room for the rate.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Cypress Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cypress Inn

Address: Lincoln and seventh, PO Box y, Carmel, CA 93921
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Monterey Peninsula > Carmel
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Carmel
#3 Business Hotel in Carmel
#4 Family Hotel in Carmel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Approaching the Cypress Inn, just steps away from Ocean Avenue, the beautiful Mediterranean façade offers visitors a warm welcome. As our hotel staff greets you, the charming garden courtyard and tastefully detailed atmosphere beckon you to relaxation. Come and experience the wonderful hospitality at this perfect retreat in Carmel-by-the-sea. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Cypress Hotel Carmel
Cypress Inn Carmel Ca

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cypress Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.