We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't stay here unless you bring your dog” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Cypress Inn

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Carmel
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Cypress Inn
Lincoln and seventh, POBox Y, Carmel, CA 93921   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 21 hotels in Carmel
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Don't stay here unless you bring your dog”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2012 via mobile

We stayed only one night on a saturday by calling on a Thursday ( otherwise a 3 night min). The staff was lovely, check in easy, and it is a cute, clean hotel. BUT if you are on the 1st floor you will not sleep!!! You can hear every word and you are very close to bar/ outdoor patio and library. They clearly know this is a problem and have added glass doors where you leave lobby to enter guestrooms, but it does little to mute the noise. There is no air conditioning, so we opened the window ( which faced an alley wall) -- more noise from the nearby outdoor patio reached us as well!
On another note, you must LOVE ( as in be obsessed) with dogs to stay here. Seriously. We have 2 dogs and love them dearly, but this is a hotel for the type of people who think of their dogs as their children. We had fun listening to jazz in the living room and talking to various dog owners ( everyone is very friendly in a dog community way) but would choose another hotel next time, even if we had not had the noise issue. It was just a little too over the top with the whole dog thing.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

386 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    222
    98
    34
    16
    16
See reviews for
58
204
15
20
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (87)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Nor Cal
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2012

We have stayed at Cypress Inn several times and have always enjoyed our stay. We love the fact that they are pet-friendly, well-located in Carmel-by-the-Sea, and offer great amenities. We have dined in Terry's Lounge and found the food to be very good and a great value for Carmel restaurants. Their complimentary buffet breakfast offers a variety of pastries, bagels, the BEST popovers, fresh fruit salad, assorted cereals, and scrambled eggs. Certainly enough food to get you off to a good start of shopping and/or sightseeing. When we stay in Carmel, we would not think of staying anywhere else.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2012

We love the Cypress Inn, it has a great location and the Inns architecture is a unique landmark in Carmel. The room was nicely furnished and very comfortable with all the amenities we needed. The Inn has an excellent bar and restaurant and really nice court yards and lobby. The complimentary breakfast was perfect for us with high quality fresh pastries, fruit, cereals yogurts and great coffee. The best part for us was being able to have our little Bichon - Max with us. This is the ultimate Inn for dogs they really have thought of everything including a wonderful pet sitter, bedding and feeding/watering bowls. Despite allowing dogs - their rooms are extremely clean. They really do great job considering most of the guests had dogs and the staff was very friendly and accommodating. Thank You Denny, Amanda and Fiona for a great stay.

Room Tip: Great Inn for Fido.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2012

I walked around and looked at ten other hotels before discovering the Cypress Inn. This boutique hotel is dog friendly ( thanks Doris Day) with Ms. Days memobalia throughout. I can not say enough good things about our stay. Room 204 had a side view of the ocean and I liked the fact that it was a corner room on the end. Besides the heavenly beds, free in room wifi, sherry, fruit and the free full breakfast can not be beat. The staff was very accommodating and we enjoyed eating in the outside patio. Terry lounge had great music that you can sing along and the inn is in the heart of all the action.

Room Tip: There are only 44 rooms and two floors, and my end room 204 was perfect!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, Canada
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2012

The Cypress Inn is beautiful and all of the staff are wonderful! The Inn has a great location, surrounded by a wide variety of little shops and great restaurants, although the inns own Terry's Lounge, is pretty fantastic itself. The Inn is extremely clean - you would never know it is a pet friendly hotel if it weren't for all of the adorable dogs around. Generous amenities were provided. We were there for a meeting and everyone there made it very special for us. The Inn offers an elegant atmosphere without that "stuffy" feeling and all of the little touches from the detailing of the architecture to the vintage toys in the lobby make for a charmingly distinctive place to stay. I would go back again and again.

Room Tip: Would recommend the Tower Suite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grass Valley, California
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2012

The Cypress Inn is a Historic Landmark in Carmel By The Sea. A boutique hotel (my favorite kind) with 44 rooms. Built in 1929 but kept current and immaculate throughout the years. The hotel is a block or so from the main town of Carmel with all of it's quaint shops, restaruants and at the end of the street, a beautiful beach. Doris Day owns the hotel and made it a doggie friendly accomodation when she became the owner. Well behaved dogs are welcome but must be kept on leash.

There are several common areas, the "living room" has a open beamed ceiling and a fireplace with lots of cozy couches and oversized chairs to relax wtih a glass of wine and read a book.
The charming courtyard is a nice area to have breakfast or luch (depending on the weather).

Terry's Restaurant and Bar is named for Doris' son and has a great selection for lunch and dinner. Local produce and seafood are used so everything is very fresh and healthy.

The rooms are not huge but are cozy with very comfortable beds, down comforters, fireplaces and a bottle of spirits in the room. Bathrooms are small but adequate. Ours had a tub with a shower.

The whole town of Carmel is upscale but yet, doggie friendly. Shopkeepers have waterbowls outside their doors and many restaurants allow dogs in the outside areas of their establishments. The beach is leash free. However, don't get the idea that dogs are funning amuck here, They are all on leash and the owners seemed to be very responsible. Shopkeepers are very friendly and it has that small town or village feel.

Treat yourself and spend a weekend in this beautiful little village by the sea.

Room Tip: ask for one overlooking the courtyard.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marina, CA
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2012

What a wonderful inn to escape to. We stayed in the Tower Suite. This suite has an unusual layout. When you enter into the living area, to the right there is a fresh modern bathroom with a very nice big two sink vanity and a full tub. Walk up the stairs to the bedroom and you enter a very clean, quiet, quaint room that had some great peekaboo views of Carmel Bay. Gorgeous detail in the architecture, decor and fixtures, definitely not your typical hotel room. We especially liked the cases of all the vintage toys and collectibles, it just added a little more personality to the hotel. I didn't bring my cat thinking, he probably wouldn't appreciate all the dogs... but the dogs and their owners seemed to be having a ball in the lounge. Awesome place to stay, right in the middle of town, and Terry's Restaurant has some good food and even better drinks. If you like orange creamscicles, get the Ramos Fizz!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Cypress Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cypress Inn

Also Known As:
Cypress Hotel Carmel
Cypress Hotel
Cypress Inn Carmel Ca
Address: Lincoln and seventh, POBox Y, Carmel, CA 93921
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Monterey Peninsula > Carmel
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Carmel
#5 Family Hotel in Carmel
#6 Romantic Hotel in Carmel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Approaching the Cypress Inn, just steps away from Ocean Avenue, the beautiful Mediterranean façade offers visitors a warm welcome. As our hotel staff greets you, the charming garden courtyard and tastefully detailed atmosphere beckon you to relaxation. Come and experience the wonderful hospitality at this perfect retreat in Carmel-by-the-sea. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cypress Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Cypress Inn to your Saves list