We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing mini vacation at the Cypress Inn, in Carmel !!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Cypress Inn

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Carmel
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Cypress Inn
Save
You added Cypress Inn to your Saves list
Lincoln and seventh, PO Box y, Carmel, CA 93921   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 23 Hotels in Carmel
Walnut Creek, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Amazing mini vacation at the Cypress Inn, in Carmel !!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2011

From the moment we checked into the Cypress Inn, we were treated like family. The staff in all areas of the hotel went above and beyond to make our stay one we would not forget.
The overall atmosphere was warm, cozy, and friendly. We met many interesting people, as well as their dogs.

Our room was also cozy, with a fireplace, sunken tub, and beautiful French doors that opened onto our private balcony. The bed was the best I've ever slept on.

There was not one thing that we didn't like about the Cypress Inn. It was the perfect place to get away. The food, entertainment, and hospitality were priceless !!

Room Tip: Rooms 221 and 222 were awesome !!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

459 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    276
    113
    37
    16
    17
See reviews for
75
243
18
23
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (117)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Seaside, California, USA
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2011

The Cypress Inn, which is co-owned by Doris Day, is a beautiful, historic property possibly best known for its dog-friendly perspective: Dogs are everywhere: in the living room during afternoon tea, in the lounge during cocktail hour... But even if you don't have a dog, it's a lovely place to stay. Our suite had a lovely little sitting room with a cushy love seat and gas fire, and the bed was very comfortable. The bathroom was clean and well appointed, with a deep tub complete with jets. Considering the building is historic, the rooms are well kept and comfortable. And breakfast, which is included with the room, is very good. A bonus is the pastries they bring in from a great local French bakery, Parker-Lusseau. The hotel also contains a great old bar, Terry's Lounge, and a restaurant.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carmel, CA
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2011

My husband and I recently moved to the Carmel area and stayed at the Cypress for an evening as a stay-cation in February 2011. Check in was very smooth and Randy - the front desk agent - was second to none! I have worked in hotels for the last 10 years and I have never seen an agent so knowledgeable and helpful while still showing his own personality and sense of humor. He was very thorough about all of the amenities the hotel offers, including a continental breakfast in the morning! We had no idea that the hotel offered complimentary breakfast when we were booking our room, so that was a huge added value to us. We were then assisted to the room by Andrew who showed us all the ins & outs of the hotel room, including the fireplace, the jacuzzi tub in the bathroom, the TV and everything else. Again, the thoughtfulness and informative nature of the staff we encountered was impressive. The room was beautiful, huge comfortable bed, giant jacuzzi tub, nice patio overlooking a quiet street below. We got ready for dinner and went downstairs for a cocktail before our meal. The cocktail lounge had a live guitarist playing great ambiance music, and we were promptly served some glasses of champagne and enjoyed our evening. The restaurant was also great, we had a lovely dinner and glass of wine there as well! We slept like babies, the beds we some of the most comfortable I have slept in at a hotel! I woke up in the morning to check out the breakfast and was able to get a tray and bring up coffee and breakfast to the room. Breakfast pastries were delish, and the small buffet included hot items, fruit salads, cereal - pretty much everything you could want! I would definitely jump at the chance to stay at the Cypress Inn again and I have recommended the property to my family - in fact next month they will be staying there too!!

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Barbara, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2011

Located in the center of the dog-loving town of Carmel, this hotel is so dog-friendly that if you don't love dogs you might not want to stay here. It's a charming historic Spanish-style hostelry, but the real attraction is what we call "the puppy bar." The lounge, living room (with fireplace) and flower-filled courtyard are all places for people to hang out with their pets. Locals on a walk stop by for a cocktail so their dogs can meet the tourists during "yappy hour." Despite the dozens of canine guests, the hotel is remarkably quiet. After a remodel, rooms are well-decorated and comfortable. Humans get complimentary sherry, fruit and water, while soft blankets, dog bowls and treats are provided to the dogs.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
82 helpful votes 82 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2011

We really liked the vibe of this place. Good service. Nice atmosphere. Nice people. Quaint. Really liked all the dogs everywhere (NB - if you don't like dogs, don't stay here, as they really are everywhere in the hotel). And the rooms are nice for the price - not a 5 star by any means, but they have good character and are very authentic. The one knock on this place - and it is a big one - is that the rooms are not quiet. We could hear everything in the room next to us - snoring (all night), voices (we could hear what other guests were saying clearly), etc. Made it very hard to sleep. For that, I have to ding what otherwise was a great hotel - afterall, ability to have a good night's sleep is an important rating component for a hotel. We probably wont stay here again for that reason, but will be back for tea, cocktails, and food because we really loved the atmosphere.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilmington, Vermont
Top Contributor
143 reviews 143 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
131 helpful votes 131 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2011

My wife and I stayed at this Inn on the recommendation of a friend who raved about her recent stay and for the most-part we couldn't agree with her more. Set on a side street in Carmel, with the sound of the surf in the background, the Inn is an older but well maintained facility which stands out due to (a) the friendliness and quality of its staff; (b) its excellent restaurant (and daily Happy Hours); (c) its close proximity to Carmel's beach and shops and gallerys; and its pet friendly status whichnot allows guests to bring their animals on vacation.
We plan on repeating our visit but hope that the next timesomeone will have instituted a "rent a pet" program.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
california
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2011

We spent another lovely weekend at Doris Day's inn in Carmel. We like staying in the new building with fireplaces. The people who work and stay there are all interesting and very friendly. You might even spot a movie star. We stay here because the inn allows dogs and the humans get to enjoy real comfort. The highlights of our stay are always the beautiful library with its huge fireplace and live music (dogs allowed of course) and the beautiful breakfast room (dogs allowed in some areas). It is the only place to stay in Carmel when traveling with your pooch.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Cypress Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cypress Inn

Address: Lincoln and seventh, PO Box y, Carmel, CA 93921
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Monterey Peninsula > Carmel
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Carmel
#3 Romantic Hotel in Carmel
#4 Family Hotel in Carmel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Approaching the Cypress Inn, just steps away from Ocean Avenue, the beautiful Mediterranean façade offers visitors a warm welcome. As our hotel staff greets you, the charming garden courtyard and tastefully detailed atmosphere beckon you to relaxation. Come and experience the wonderful hospitality at this perfect retreat in Carmel-by-the-sea. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Cypress Hotel Carmel
Cypress Inn Carmel Ca

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cypress Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.