We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Has become our go-to” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Carmel Garden Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Carmel Garden Inn to your Saves list
Carmel Garden Inn
NW Corner 4th Street and Torres, P.O. Box 5547, Carmel, CA 93921 (Formerly Carmel Garden Court Inn)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 28 Carmel B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Antioch, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Has become our go-to”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Our second time here and we've already booked our third. I don't write a lot of reviews unless there is something truly memorable (good or bad) about the places we visit.

My wife and I wanted to celebrate her birthday and mothers day all on this weekend. We decided to come back to Carmel Garden Inn as we remembered our last stay to be simply wonderful. And that's just what this place is, simple and wonderful.

We booked the Fuchsia room, one of the few rooms that has a private patio. Just what we needed. Just like our last visit, we had our three year old son and brought our little dog. Our son loved going in and out of the room to play with his toys outside but giving us the peace of mind that he was safe. The same went with our dog. She loved going in and out of the room. We love this room so much we booked it again the same time next year.

One of the really interesting things that we found ourselves doing was wanting to eat in. This place was so peaceful, and away from the busy (and a lot of times annoying) touristy area of Ocean Ave that we just wanted to grab dinner and just take it back to our room and enjoy the patio. We didn't have to worry about our son getting bored (or dressed) like if we had gone out to dinner. Not to mention the craziness of just having to get to a restaurant.

Probably the best part of this place, is the staff. Julian and his team welcomed us back like we were old friends staying with them for the weekend. When we got there, we were instantly on a first name basis chatting it up like old times. I found myself just hanging out with Julian or Dennis just talking about the gardens (great job Dennis) and stuff to do.

This is a great place to stay, that has the perfect Carmel charm. If you're looking for super modern amenities, a hotel bar, swimming pools and a place close to everything with the hustle of a downtown, then this is not the place for you.

If you're looking for a place to just simply relax and have no cares. This is perfect.

Oh and I can't forget, they do have a great breakfast and a nice spread for happy hour. Susan, nice work. The blueberry bar thing and corn cake you made was awesome.

To summarize, we came to Carmel to relax and get away from the stress, and Julian and his team delivered once again.

Thank you guys again and we will see you when we come back.

Room Tip: If you have a family and/or a dog, try to get the rooms that have the private patio.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2015, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
julian b, Owner at Carmel Garden Inn, responded to this review, 3 days ago
We have owned 17 Inns since 1966 in the Monterey Peninsula and never before has there been such a one as the Carmel Garden Inn. And never before have we assembled such a staff, from our Innkeeper, Dennis, our desk staff, Mary, Curtis, Betty, and our housekeepers. Most importantly, never before have we had such fine quality guests pour out their appreciation of our Inn and our efforts. We cannot individually or collectively thank you enough for your comments. Your stays with us are memorable and we so look forward to your arrivals. Thank you !!! Julian
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

118 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    90
    25
    2
    1
    0
See reviews for
21
73
3
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This was a lovely, quiet little B&B, tucked away on a side street, but wtill within walking distance of pretty much everything.

The room was cozy and the bed was the best I've slept on in a long time, including my own!

The afternoon nibbles (especially the rosemary shortbread) were very tasty and breakfast was equally good.

I'd definately recommend this B&B.

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
julian b, Owner at Carmel Garden Inn, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
Thank you so much for your comments and review. About a year ago after purchasing all new beds from Monterey Mattress Company, Marquis line, Susan, Dennis, Mary and I spent the night at our Inn having a slumber party. Upon awakening, I asked Susan 'why do our guests get the delightful beds and we have only ours?" Within an hour we had ordered a king size bed from Monterey Mattress. You are so right. And the short bread cookies have a secret: rosemary from our garden. Thank you again. It is the little things that really count and you have noticed them. Hope to see you again soon, Julian and us all.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rehovot
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Such luck to find such a lovely place. So sorry that we had only an overnight stay.
The reception we received from Dennis was so welcoming and the wine and cheese at 16.00 was just the right thing at the right time.
Our room was clean and cosy, with all the amenities that one would expect, although the smoky atmosphere in the room from the hearth was a wee bit strong. ( I prefer the smokiness in my whisky !! ) But it did not detract whatsoever.
Breakfast was home cooked and with the personal touch. The hot cornbread and the other pies were just so tasty, I was afraid to kill my daily calorie average !!

This is a place to return to, and if you haven't been there yet ...a place to go !!
Enjoy !!

Room Tip: Take potluck --- you cannot get a bad room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
julian b, Owner at Carmel Garden Inn, responded to this review, 3 weeks ago
Thank you so very much for your comments and praise. Dennis is a past president of the Carmel Orchid Society and owned a restaurant in his past. So...the gardens and food have a very high priority for him. Susan is the recipe maker and together they do, as you pointed out, make a lovely set of edibles. While we also like smokiness in our whiskeys, the real wood fireplaces sometime need a few hours of fresh air to tone the residue of the night before's fire. We try to keep the doors open but often are really focused on getting them ready for the guest checking in early. Again, thank you for staying with us, thank you for enjoying our food and wine, the fireplace, and thank you for this review. All the best and hope to see you again soon, Julian, Dennis, Susan, Curtis, Mary, Betty and our housekeeping staff.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Diamond Bar, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We decided to head to Carmel for my birthday and bring our dog Sadie with us. I had read that Carmel was very animal friendly. We didn't make any reservations, but just happened to run across this Inn. They were so kind and welcomed us and our dog with open arms. They set us up in the most quaint little room with a fireplace and all. They served appetizers with wine in the evening and a lovely breakfast in the morning. Their gardens were so cute too. The owners really made us feel at home. They even recommend where to go for dinner and activities and excursions to go on, which we followed their advice and had the best visit. Since we did not have reservations and they were already booked for the rest of our stay, they even called another place to set us up for the rest of our visit. I would highly recommend this place even though I really don't want to let our secret out! We will definitely be coming back. It was the best birthday ever!
Thanks again! Robert & Tonya & Sadie Zeeman

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
julian b, Owner at Carmel Garden Inn, responded to this review, 3 weeks ago
Birthdays are so special and having you spend yours with us and enjoying it so much is a real treat. Our decision to keep all ten wood burning fireplaces, focus on fine food , good wine and Dennis creating our wonderful gardens have all been a greatly satisfying effort. We all love creating and sharing the fruits of our efforts with you and having you acknowledge us adds so much to our experiences here at the Inn. Thank you and see you soon, Julian, Susan, Dennis, Mary, Curtis, Betty and our fine housekeeping staff.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minnesota
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2015

We had originally booked this for one night but once we arrived we added on an extra night. This bed n breakfast makes you feel like one of the family with wine and cheese and wonderful breakfast. This place is within walking distance of all the restaurants in carmel.

Stayed April 2015, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
julian b, Owner at Carmel Garden Inn, responded to this review, 3 weeks ago
Nothing pleases us more than such a complimentary review except having you stay with us again. Thank you! Our staff feels like our family, as you could tell. And having us all so happy to be working in an environment that feels more like play and pleasure than work is extraordinary. And I love the fact that we can all walk to our many great restaurants, have as much wine as we want and walk home. That's pretty special. Hope to see you again in the near future, Julian
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Diamond Bar, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2015

This is a tiny but very beautiful and fine inn. Flowers are blooming arround it. The room is amazing, bed is very comfortable and super clean.I can't forget the breakfast,which was elaborate and delicious.The receptionist and the inn owner are super friendly and considerate. We want to stay there again if we have chance to go US in the future.

Room Tip: Some rooms have a tiny yard.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2015, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
julian b, Owner at Carmel Garden Inn, responded to this review, 3 weeks ago
Thank you so much. One of the charms and reasons we purchased the Inn was its size. I do not have any hobbies and facing retirement at some point was very uncomfortable. So... why not an intimate ten unit Inn where we can really interface and enjoy our guests, telling great stories and sharing experiences? Susan loves new recipes and cooking the breakfasts and our wine party with Smoked Salmon spread... we are having a wonderful time indeed. So, thank you for appreciating us, staying with us and your fine review. We look forward to your return. Julian and us all.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2015

What a lovely place to stay. We arrived just as complimentary wine and cheese were being served which was lovely and made us stop for a moment and take a look around. The room was amazing and very romantic with the open fireplace in the room which was all ready made up and ready to be lit.

There are lovely restaurants all within walking distance and the owners were extremely helpful with dinner recommendations.

I discovered upon arriving home that I had left some clothing behind and they have very kindly arranged for it to be sent back to us in New Zealand. That was most appreciated.

I would definitely go back here again

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
julian b, Owner at Carmel Garden Inn, responded to this review, April 14, 2015
Your review is so much fun for all of us to read. When Susan and I purchased the Inn in March 2013, we decided to keep all ten rooms with wood burning fireplaces...one of the best decisions we have made. Thank you for re-enforcing our choice. And thank you for staying with us and enjoying our village; it is truly a "gorgeous town" as you so appropriately stated. We look forward greatly to your return. Cheers, Julian
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Carmel Garden Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carmel Garden Inn

Address: NW Corner 4th Street and Torres, P.O. Box 5547, Carmel, CA 93921 (Formerly Carmel Garden Court Inn)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Monterey Peninsula > Carmel
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 28 B&Bs / Inns in Carmel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our five patio suites have totally new bathrooms from basement to attic. All the patios are freshly painted. Our bistro dining rooms now serves a home made hot item changing each day for breakfast and we have added lemon bars, chocolate chip cookies right from the oven to our wine party. The wood for all ten fireplaces is seasoned pine and lights quickly, cracking with natural warmth to offset the summer foggy evenings in Carmel. S'mores in our fire pit nightly, on request. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Carmel Garden Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Carmel Garden Court Hotel Carmel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Carmel Garden Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.