We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“so sweet” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Carmel Garden Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Carmel Garden Inn to your Saves list
Carmel Garden Inn
NW Corner 4th Street and Torres, P.O. Box 5547, Carmel, CA 93921 (Formerly Carmel Garden Court Inn)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 28 Carmel B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Rehovot
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“so sweet”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Such luck to find such a lovely place. So sorry that we had only an overnight stay.
The reception we received from Dennis was so welcoming and the wine and cheese at 16.00 was just the right thing at the right time.
Our room was clean and cosy, with all the amenities that one would expect, although the smoky atmosphere in the room from the hearth was a wee bit strong. ( I prefer the smokiness in my whisky !! ) But it did not detract whatsoever.
Breakfast was home cooked and with the personal touch. The hot cornbread and the other pies were just so tasty, I was afraid to kill my daily calorie average !!

This is a place to return to, and if you haven't been there yet ...a place to go !!
Enjoy !!

Room Tip: Take potluck --- you cannot get a bad room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
julian b, Owner at Carmel Garden Inn, responded to this review, 4 days ago
Thank you so very much for your comments and praise. Dennis is a past president of the Carmel Orchid Society and owned a restaurant in his past. So...the gardens and food have a very high priority for him. Susan is the recipe maker and together they do, as you pointed out, make a lovely set of edibles. While we also like smokiness in our whiskeys, the real wood fireplaces sometime need a few hours of fresh air to tone the residue of the night before's fire. We try to keep the doors open but often are really focused on getting them ready for the guest checking in early. Again, thank you for staying with us, thank you for enjoying our food and wine, the fireplace, and thank you for this review. All the best and hope to see you again soon, Julian, Dennis, Susan, Curtis, Mary, Betty and our housekeeping staff.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

115 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    87
    25
    2
    1
    0
See reviews for
20
71
3
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Diamond Bar, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We decided to head to Carmel for my birthday and bring our dog Sadie with us. I had read that Carmel was very animal friendly. We didn't make any reservations, but just happened to run across this Inn. They were so kind and welcomed us and our dog with open arms. They set us up in the most quaint little room with a fireplace and all. They served appetizers with wine in the evening and a lovely breakfast in the morning. Their gardens were so cute too. The owners really made us feel at home. They even recommend where to go for dinner and activities and excursions to go on, which we followed their advice and had the best visit. Since we did not have reservations and they were already booked for the rest of our stay, they even called another place to set us up for the rest of our visit. I would highly recommend this place even though I really don't want to let our secret out! We will definitely be coming back. It was the best birthday ever!
Thanks again! Robert & Tonya & Sadie Zeeman

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
julian b, Owner at Carmel Garden Inn, responded to this review, 6 days ago
Birthdays are so special and having you spend yours with us and enjoying it so much is a real treat. Our decision to keep all ten wood burning fireplaces, focus on fine food , good wine and Dennis creating our wonderful gardens have all been a greatly satisfying effort. We all love creating and sharing the fruits of our efforts with you and having you acknowledge us adds so much to our experiences here at the Inn. Thank you and see you soon, Julian, Susan, Dennis, Mary, Curtis, Betty and our fine housekeeping staff.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minnesota
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We had originally booked this for one night but once we arrived we added on an extra night. This bed n breakfast makes you feel like one of the family with wine and cheese and wonderful breakfast. This place is within walking distance of all the restaurants in carmel.

Stayed April 2015, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
julian b, Owner at Carmel Garden Inn, responded to this review, 6 days ago
Nothing pleases us more than such a complimentary review except having you stay with us again. Thank you! Our staff feels like our family, as you could tell. And having us all so happy to be working in an environment that feels more like play and pleasure than work is extraordinary. And I love the fact that we can all walk to our many great restaurants, have as much wine as we want and walk home. That's pretty special. Hope to see you again in the near future, Julian
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Diamond Bar, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This is a tiny but very beautiful and fine inn. Flowers are blooming arround it. The room is amazing, bed is very comfortable and super clean.I can't forget the breakfast,which was elaborate and delicious.The receptionist and the inn owner are super friendly and considerate. We want to stay there again if we have chance to go US in the future.

Room Tip: Some rooms have a tiny yard.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2015, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
julian b, Owner at Carmel Garden Inn, responded to this review, 6 days ago
Thank you so much. One of the charms and reasons we purchased the Inn was its size. I do not have any hobbies and facing retirement at some point was very uncomfortable. So... why not an intimate ten unit Inn where we can really interface and enjoy our guests, telling great stories and sharing experiences? Susan loves new recipes and cooking the breakfasts and our wine party with Smoked Salmon spread... we are having a wonderful time indeed. So, thank you for appreciating us, staying with us and your fine review. We look forward to your return. Julian and us all.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

What a lovely place to stay. We arrived just as complimentary wine and cheese were being served which was lovely and made us stop for a moment and take a look around. The room was amazing and very romantic with the open fireplace in the room which was all ready made up and ready to be lit.

There are lovely restaurants all within walking distance and the owners were extremely helpful with dinner recommendations.

I discovered upon arriving home that I had left some clothing behind and they have very kindly arranged for it to be sent back to us in New Zealand. That was most appreciated.

I would definitely go back here again

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
julian b, Owner at Carmel Garden Inn, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
Your review is so much fun for all of us to read. When Susan and I purchased the Inn in March 2013, we decided to keep all ten rooms with wood burning fireplaces...one of the best decisions we have made. Thank you for re-enforcing our choice. And thank you for staying with us and enjoying our village; it is truly a "gorgeous town" as you so appropriately stated. We look forward greatly to your return. Cheers, Julian
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thousand Oaks, California
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

A nice spot in Carmel-by-the-sea, with a happy hour, breakfast and great accommodations.

The bed was comfortable and the furniture was aesthetically pleasing to look at. We would definitely stay here again.

The price was affordable too!

  • Stayed January 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
julian b, Owner at Carmel Garden Inn, responded to this review, 3 weeks ago
When we purchased the Inn in March 2013, Susan and I focused on two principal areas: beds and food; Dennis on the gardens. Thank you for your review and appreciating our food and the beds. Monterey Mattress Marquis box springs and mattresses are hand made and only the finest materials including real rubber as springs are used in their construction. Susan's recipes are gleaned from dozens of wonderful cook books. We love to please and thank you staying with us and your comments. Hope to see you soon, Julian
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I will definitely to stay with Carmel Garden Inn my next time to Carmel again. Julian and Susan are very nice and friendly person. The facilities and room is super cozy and clean. Walking distance to the plaza which you can have food and designer brand shops there.
Strong recommendation to this hotel.

  • Stayed February 2015, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
julian b, Owner at Carmel Garden Inn, responded to this review, 3 weeks ago
It was a true pleasure to have you stay with us. Your energy was just great, lots of fun. And thank you for your words of appreciation. Rosemary with that large patio and garden area and the two queen beds and real wood paneling you captured in your photos are so much more intimate and therefore meaningful than our shots... They really show this room to its best. We seldom have guests include photos with their reviews of us and even more infrequently of such high quality! Thank you from us all, Julian and Susan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Carmel Garden Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carmel Garden Inn

Address: NW Corner 4th Street and Torres, P.O. Box 5547, Carmel, CA 93921 (Formerly Carmel Garden Court Inn)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Monterey Peninsula > Carmel
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 28 B&Bs / Inns in Carmel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our five patio suites have totally new bathrooms from basement to attic. All the patios are freshly painted. Our bistro dining rooms now serves a home made hot item changing each day for breakfast and we have added lemon bars, chocolate chip cookies right from the oven to our wine party. The wood for all ten fireplaces is seasoned pine and lights quickly, cracking with natural warmth to offset the summer foggy evenings in Carmel. S'mores in our fire pit nightly, on request. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Carmel Garden Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Carmel Garden Court Hotel Carmel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Carmel Garden Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.