We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming with a good breakfast!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Carmel Garden Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save Saved
You added Carmel Garden Inn to your Saves list
Carmel Garden Inn
NW Corner 4th Street and Torres, Carmel, CA 93921 (Formerly Carmel Garden Court Inn)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Wine Fireplace $159
Ranked #4 of 29 Carmel B&B and Inns
Raleigh, North Carolina
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Charming with a good breakfast!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2014

We enjoyed staying here in June for 2 nights. The room was adorable-cedar floor to ceiling, complete with fireplace. The innkeepers were all very nice and personable. Breakfast was a good mix of continental and something warm. The first breakfast was a broccoli and mushroom frittata, and the next morning was a choice of eggs & sausage or a waffle. Man was I sorry I didn't get the waffle like my husband did! It was made with almond flour and was pretty insane.
2 negatives: the bathroom was dated and could use a little TLC, but it almost adds to the charm (cracks in the wall etc). And the bed was the worst bed we slept on our whole vacation! The bedding was lovely...but the bed felt like a blow up bed. A disappointment for sure.
Overall, I would not let either of my negatives sway you from staying here. A great place and very unique.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
julian b, Owner at Carmel Garden Inn, responded to this review, July 9, 2014
You are so special to have written this review. Thank you so much. Susan Mary Dennis and Laura really create exciting food in the mornings for sure. And they love creating in the kitchen. As I have thanked reviewers in the past, we look to you as our eyes and ears. While we had the bed on the list to be replaced in the coming months, without your comment, it might have gone until the fall. It is now being replaced within a couple of weeks (ordering the same special beds as we have in the five patio suites that are getting rave comments. I got a chuckle last night as I was falling to sleep. You wrote about the bathroom , "but it almost adds to the charm (cracks in the wall etc)" I had the notion "Yes! What would a Hitchcock movie be without the cracks and character associated with age? Also, where is the charm in perfect plaster..." We love the business and received so much pleasure from your review. Thank you again and come sleep with us sometime in the future on our new bed. Respectfully, Julian and all of us here at the Inn.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

92 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    68
    22
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
17
57
2
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Looe, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2014 via mobile

We stayed here for one night and really loved it. The room was well equipped, the little log fire is a lovely touch. Having cheese and wine in the breakfast/reception area as a 'freebie' was a surprise and much appreciated. Breakfast was excellent and the homemade granola was the best I've ever had. Highly recommended.

Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
julian b, Owner at Carmel Garden Inn, responded to this review, July 7, 2014
We greatly appreciate your comments, especially regarding the Granola. Susan takes such pride in having created a recipe that is a hit with our guests. And we sure agree with the wood burning fireplaces...cozy, romantic and charming. Thank you from all of us, Julian
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Anselmo, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2014

We just spent a lovely two nights at this charming B & B Inn in Carmel. We will be back. Thank you Julian, Susan and the rest of the staff for your wonderful hospitality and knowledge of the area to make a two night stay thoroughly enjoyable.

Room Tip: The garden suites are very nice and all have a private 11' x 14' garden terrace with a table...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
julian b, Owner at Carmel Garden Inn, responded to this review, July 5, 2014
Susan, Dennis, all our staff and i especially appreciate your comments. Tallulah and you two were such fun to be with.. We love sharing our knowledge of Carmel and special places to go and things to do. Living in the Monterey Peninsula is such a wonderful way to live. Thank you for your review and for staying with us. Julian
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edison
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2014

My wife and I stayed there for one night recently. The owners and staff were extremely friendly and helpful, and our room was great. It was one of their less expensive rooms, but was perfect. The bed was very comfortable. The suggestions of where to go during our short stay were very useful and added significantly to a wonderful trip. We will certainly stay there again on our next visit to Carmel.

Room Tip: I suspect all the rooms are fine, as we took the least expensive one available and were very happy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
julian b, Owner at Carmel Garden Inn, responded to this review, July 1, 2014
Thank you. Your comments about our recommendations of things to do and see highlights something I have tried to accomplish in each of the now 18 Inns i have owned since 1966: give the guest a lot more than a room however grandly furnished or decorated; give the guest an experience; one they will remember and cherish over the years. Carmel is such a charming interesting and special place. We (Mary, Dennis, Susan and myself) have more than 150 years of living and experiencing Carmel to share. And in the sharing, we have the tremendous opportunity of having our guests from all over the world, share their travels, experiences, lives with us.Thank you for this opportunity to share! Julian
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
High Falls, New York
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2014

On several stays I've never found anything but pleasure at Carmel Garden Inn. The rooms are charming (excellent beds) and the staff warm and welcoming. The complimentary breakfast in the cheery dining area always includes something homemade--cheese scones, frittata, waffles and more. Between 4 and 6 p.m. you're invited for wine, cheese, and dips (try the beet dip--trust me!). On my last visit a slight misunderstanding meant that our host Julian ironed my linen shirt and did a very good job, too. It's a good story; ask about it. The location is excellent for enjoying the area. I can't recommend this Inn too highly.

Room Tip: I had a room with a street entrance, but it was perfectly quiet and also convenient.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
julian b, Owner at Carmel Garden Inn, responded to this review, June 27, 2014
Thank you so very much for your special words and staying with us. We try really hard to please but I have to admit, ironing you linen was special to you. However, Dennis and Susan want me to set up an ironing board in the dining room and post my availability to iron. I am thinking about it. Anway, thank you again for your praise and recognition. Most sincerely, Julian and all of us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambria, California
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2014

We were apprehensive about taking our Border Collie on a family vacation, but Carmel and the Carmel Garden Inn made our three night vacation perfect. Our room had a large fenced in courtyard so our pet could wander in and out off our room. The room was very large with a small kitchen with microwave, refrigerator and sink, a sitting area and the most comfortable bed I have ever slept on. Outdoors the Inn has a beautiful patio area with many flowering plants with tables and chairs to enjoy Happy Hour and breakfast. The homemade breakfast was prepared when we arrived to eat and included an egg casserole and almond waffles. Happy Hour also included homemade spreads and warm cookies. The staff was very friendly and advised us on many activities we could do in Carmel with our dog. Favorite activities included the Carmel Beach, where our dog could run freely and the Carmel Wine Walk. We will definitely return again.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
julian b, Owner at Carmel Garden Inn, responded to this review, June 25, 2014
You make all of us here at the Inn so very happy. Traveling with one's favorite friend, your dog, is always tedious for all of us. We love them so much and fear he or she will not be comfortable. That is one of the most important reasons Susan and I bought the Inn. We have these five large patio suites and the gardens. Our standard poodle and we frequently sit in one of them for an afternoon chat. And we sure agree with the bed quality. About six months ago, Dennis, Mary and Susan and myself had a sleep over in three of our rooms. Two days later we ordered the same bed for our home after sleeping on magnificent water beds for 19 years. And Susan, Mary and Laura sure love to cook those good breakfasts! Thank you so much, Julian and us all including our housekeepers.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Barbara, California
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2014

We had a perfectly pleasant stay at the Carmel Garden Inn. It is located some 2-3 blocks from the heart of quirky Carmel and is therefore close by but nice and quiet. The staff is extremely friendly and helpful, and they work hard to make you feel right at home. Good place for exploring Carmel, Monterey, and the stretch of the 1 down to Big Sur.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
julian b, Owner at Carmel Garden Inn, responded to this review, June 23, 2014
We appreciate your review. Especially your praise of our staff. We do indeed look upon our Inn as an extended home for folks to enjoy and feel really comfortable. We look forward to your next visit to our village and hope you stay with us when you visit again, Julian and all of us at our Inn.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Carmel Garden Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carmel Garden Inn

Address: NW Corner 4th Street and Torres, Carmel, CA 93921 (Formerly Carmel Garden Court Inn)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Monterey Peninsula > Carmel
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 29 B&Bs / Inns in Carmel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our five patio suites have totally new bathrooms from basement to attic. All the patios are freshly painted. Our bistro dining rooms now serves a home made hot item changing each day for breakfast and we have added lemon bars, chocolate chip cookies right from the oven to our wine party. The wood for all ten fireplaces is seasoned pine and lights quickly, cracking with natural warmth to offset the summer foggy evenings in Carmel. S'mores in our fire pit nightly, on request. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Carmel Garden Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Carmel Garden Court Hotel Carmel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Carmel Garden Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.