We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Thank you!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Carmel Garden Inn

Save Saved
You added Carmel Garden Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Carmel Garden Inn
NW Corner 4th Street and Torres, Carmel, CA 93921 (Formerly Carmel Garden Court Inn)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
$159/$179 Queen Fireplace
Ranked #5 of 30 Carmel B&B and Inns
San Francisco
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Thank you!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2014

Susan, Mary and Laura - THANK YOU for your amazing hospitality, kindness and patience with us, our baby and our dog! We loved every second of being in your inn: our conversations with you and the other guests, the delicious breakfasts, the wine/cheese time - everything was simply perfect!

Your kindness also attracts only great people. We haven't met a single person we didn't like there, during our three day visit.

We wish you only the best!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
julian b, Owner at Carmel Garden Inn, responded to this review, April 12, 2014
On Behalf of Susan, Laura and Mary, and really all of us here, THANK YOU! Your kind words are greatly appreciated. We love to share our experiences with our guests and savor the wonderful people we meet, as you so well appreciated. We look forward to your staying with us in the future.All the best, Julian and us all.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

82 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    59
    21
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
16
50
2
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
San Ramon, United States
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2014

Love this place! Their breakfast is amazing, friendly staff. It's no frills, and located in a quiet area of Carmel. I really like the private patios, especially when I'm traveling with my dog. If you're looking for a dog friendly place, lovely gardens, no frills, this is the place for you. There is a park right behind the property, to walk your dog.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
julian b, Owner at Carmel Garden Inn, responded to this review, April 13, 2014
Thank you so much for your review of your stay almost a year ago. It makes us reflect on what a busy year it has been since last May and how much we've done in that time. We were pretty "no frills" indeed!

Since then we've decorated the common area, changed out art and furnishings, installed flat screen tv's, replaced all the patio furniture, painted the patios and gates, done a s'mores fire pit, and most importantly, redone the bathrooms in the five patio suites. Those are the visible changes I can think of; other changes are not visible but make the inn work better. There is still so much more to do ( there always will be); we want to tackle some painting, do some work on the smaller rooms next and still have to install more accessories in the new bathrooms. And on, and on.. But we have so much fun and enjoy our guests, it makes working on the Inn a joy. THANK YOU, Susan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antibes, France
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2014

We had the Rosita Suite which was very nice. The problem was that there was a wooden door joining on to the next suite and clear conversation could be heard. At night this was not great as about 3 or 4 people in the room chattering and laughing away so, couldn't sleep. We mentioned this the next morning and they did say they were looking into this problem so, obviously other people had complained. Had it not been for that it would have been a good stay. The Owners were friendly and welcoming and the premises were close to all amenities.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
julian b, Owner at Carmel Garden Inn, responded to this review, April 1, 2014
Thank you so much for your review and comments. We were aware of the noise issue between Rosita and Orchid but the comments from other guests had not alerted us to the severity of the situation. Without your review, this issue probably would not have come to a high priority for another month or so. Now it has gone to the top of our list and we are preparing to totally sound proof both doors and the space between them. We should know which application is the most effective shortly and expect to have the ‘noise’ level reduced to a resounding quiet. I am pleased the other aspects of your stay with us were satisfactory. Hopefully we will see you soon again in the future when you visit our village. Sincerely, Julian
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aldie, Virginia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2014

First, our host Julian was the most helpful and pleasant innkeeper we've met. The inn is right in the middle of everything, easy walk to downtown and dining. Second, the orchid room was quiet, clean and cozy. The fireplace in the room was perfect and the views of the garden and ocean spectacular. I would definitely rebook on our next trip. The entire staff was great and the breakfast was a delightful treat.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
julian b, Owner at Carmel Garden Inn, responded to this review, March 12, 2014
I am personally and deeply honored by your comments. We all here at our Inn not only try really hard to make our guests have a quality experience but we also truly love what we do. A long time ago, someone told me "you cannot ever give anything away". Your review is giving back to us and therefore all the more appreciated. Thank you so much, Julian and all of us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berkeley, California
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2014

We stayed one night here on a Valentines' roadtrip up the coast, and this place was great. The staff was super friendly and everything was very clean. The fresh baked scones in the morning were gooooood!! It was much more of a ladies' inn, though, with all the flower names and adorable decor. My boyfriend said he felt like he was in a dollhouse. We couldn't get the fireplace to light, I suspect the wood was a little damp maybe (or maybe it was user error??), so we were a little disappointed not to get a roaring fire going since that was one of the reasons I picked the inn. Overall, great stay and just a short walk to downtown and the beach.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
julian b, Owner at Carmel Garden Inn, responded to this review, March 6, 2014
We love having your review and your kind words. Susan and Mary and Laura take a lot of pride in getting the scones just right. and Dennis has loved gardening most of his life and used to own a small restaurant. Firewood has been difficult both to get really well seasoned and to have the size of the logs fit the size of the fireplace. We have now ordered much smaller logs for the smaller fireplaces and a whole new set of fire starters, non chemical. Thank you for pointing the fire issue to our attention. It is with comments from you, our valued guests, that we may continue to fine tune our operation. Thanks again for your review and staying with us. Hope to see you again soon, Julian and us all at our B&B.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Bay, CA
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2014

We recently stayed for two nights at the Carmel Garden Inn and really enjoyed the experience. The rooms were comfortable, well-appointed, with a strong WiFi signal (which my wife doesn't care about, but I do). We really enjoyed the in-room fireplace and garden and accompanying fire pit. We had friends staying nearby and they came over one evening to share some wine around the fire pit - it was a wonderful setting and good time. Breakfasts were tasty.

We had one issue with our room which Dennis remedied very quickly. He and Susan were also a wealth of information regarding local options for wine and food. All in all a great stay, made better by the short strolls around the beautiful, quaint town of Carmel. Our car never moved until we left.

Room Tip: The patio rooms are outstanding.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
julian b, Owner at Carmel Garden Inn, responded to this review, March 1, 2014
Thank you so much for your review. We chose to keep the wood burning fireplaces (rather than replacing them with gas) since our survey of more than forty guests stated emphatically the smell and crackling of a wood fire is so rare these days and romantic. We also installed three WIFI stations to make sure the reception is really adequate. Thank you for noticing. Both our bistro dining room and outdoor fire pit have been so enjoyed. A nice adjunct to just staying in one's room. Again thanks for the review and stayingwith us. Julian and us all. Espeail hanks from Dennis for your praise.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Claremont, California
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2014

My husband and I stayed here for our 32nd wedding anniversary. It was the best! Susan and Dennis and Curtis and Laura were incredible. They gave us excellent recommendations on where to eat and go. They even gave us a bottle of champagne to celebrate! The flowers and plants are beautiful as is the sunset and partial ocean view from our Orchid room. Can't wait to return! Thank you for making this celebration even more special!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
julian b, Owner at Carmel Garden Inn, responded to this review, February 26, 2014
Whether an anniversary, birthday or simply a getaway with some one special, we want to help set the stage, arrange the props, consider what we would like done for us if we were staying here... That is our ongoing aspiration. We very much enjoyed your spending your 32nd anniversary with us. A joyous time! Thank you for your review and comments. All of us take pride is making your stay one of quality. Thank you , Julian and us all at our Inn.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Carmel Garden Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carmel Garden Inn

Address: NW Corner 4th Street and Torres, Carmel, CA 93921 (Formerly Carmel Garden Court Inn)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Monterey Peninsula > Carmel
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 30 B&Bs / Inns in Carmel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our five patio suites have totally new bathrooms from basement to attic. All the patios are freshly painted. Our bistro dining rooms now serves a home made hot item changing each day for breakfast and we have added lemon bars, chocolate chip cookies right from the oven to our wine party. The wood for all ten fireplaces is seasoned pine and lights quickly, cracking with natural warmth to offset the summer foggy evenings in Carmel. S'mores in our fire pit nightly, on request. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Carmel Garden Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Carmel Garden Court Hotel Carmel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Carmel Garden Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.