We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Stay!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Carmel Garden Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Carmel Garden Inn to your Saves list
Carmel Garden Inn
NW Corner 4th Street and Torres, Carmel, CA 93921 (Formerly Carmel Garden Court Inn)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 28 Carmel B&B and Inns
California
1 review
“Wonderful Stay!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2014

This was our second stay at the Carmel Garden Inn. Everything about the Inn is wonderful. The location, staff and comfort truly made our visit memorable. We highly recommend the Inn for anyone visiting Carmel. We will be back!!! Thank you all--Julian, Susan, Dennis, Mary, Curtis.

Alan & Nancy & Mr. Oliver!!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
julian b, Owner at Carmel Garden Inn, responded to this review, January 16, 2014
Thank you so much for your kind words. Susan has purchased yet another set of cook books, Dennis has plans for spring Flowers and Orchids and plants requiring minimum water of course, we are tweaking the bathrooms in the patio suites and continuing the adventure. Thank you for staying with us and your review. See you soon, Julian and us all at the Inn.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

97 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    71
    23
    2
    1
    0
See reviews for
17
60
3
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Las Vegas, Nevada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2014

Our 2nd stay at CGI, nice room w/ real wood burning fireplace, the complimentary meals were great, they are obviously putting a lot of effort & love into the homemade muffins & the afternoon wine & cheese offerings.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
julian b, Owner at Carmel Garden Inn, responded to this review, January 13, 2014
Thank you for staying with us again. Thank you for your review. The highest compliment for us to receive is to have you return. We have so much fun and enjoyment telling our stories about our village, listening to your stories and those of other guests. sharing the finer experiences of traveling to wonderful places and loving Carmel. It is truly magical. Thank you, Julian and all of us here at our inn.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2014

we've been visiting carmel periodically throughout the year for the past few years now. every place we've stayed at has its' charming appeal to be sure- i mean you are in camel for goodness sake, how could it not be? but when we stumbled upon this place for our new years stay, i finally realized what it meant to have a true carmel experience: peaceful, loving, caring, kind, beautiful, serene, charming, quaint, cozy, family. all words i would use to describe this place. the rooms are extremely clean and incredibly comfortable (each with a wood burning fireplace?! i mean, come on!), the grounds and gardens are beautifully being developed and nurtured by dennis, and the food they serve is out of this world (if you don;t have some of the homemade granola in the morning, you will never know the ecstasy of what granola is supposed to be- and if you're lucky to have scones made for you one morning, forget about carbs and eat every single one- you can go for a run on the beach later. also, try the homemade beet hummus at wine/cheese hour = divine.) but the real charm and the one main reason why we will undoubtedly be returning, are the owners susan and julian, and the sweet staff that i now call family. their warm attention to making sure every guest is not only comfortable in each moment, but right at home in their home, elevates your carmel visit to new expansive heights. their love is what should make this garden inn your go-to resting place- as it will certainly be ours for many years to come...until we move there ourselves.

Room Tip: we stayed in the orchid room, which we loved- very spacious, quiet and a beautiful garden view to wa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
julian b, Owner at Carmel Garden Inn, responded to this review, January 13, 2014
We all so appreciate your praise. I believe our Inn is indeed coming together, beginning to settle in. We do take huge pride in making a stay with us an experience. Decor, antiques, art, even good food and service...all these should provide the platform for an experience, not be the experience. As with a stage, it is after all the people who make the play, the experience, memorable. Thank you for acknowledging us!. Julian Susan and us all.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2014

We spent 3 wonderful days in Carmel at the Carmel Garden Inn.
Conveniently located close to downtown Carmel and shops but in a quiet street.
The room was comfortable very clean and cozy. Staff is wonderful and very helpful. They serve delicious breakfast every morning made freshly in their kitchen. Must try the beet dip with pita chips.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
julian b, Owner at Carmel Garden Inn, responded to this review, January 2, 2014
Cozy, homey, quiet,clean...delicious ...these are the words that bring joy and satisfaction and pride to us all at our Inn. Thank you for your review. Thank you for your kind words and praise. We take great pleasure in looking forward to 2014 and having you as our guests again and again. Our best to you, Julian and all of us here.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Mateo, California
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 25, 2013

We stayed one night in downtown Carmel when we visited friends. Our room, no. 5, named Fuschia for the flowers in the enclosed patio, was nicely furnished with a flat-screen TV, large chairs, a huge bed and a wonderful, warm comforter. It had a working fireplace, that we didn't use. There is a kitchenette with table and seating, coffee pot, mini-fridge and sink. We enjoyed the original art on the walls. Included in our warm, freshly made breakfast was a delicious frittata, fabulous blueberry coffee cake and good, strong coffee. Other choices included cereal, yogurt. granola, fresh fruit and juice. The owners and staff are friendly, welcoming and helpful. New owners are working diligently to upgrade the inn; for instance, linens and toilets are new, and we were told the entire bathroom will be modernized. The grounds are landscaped with loving care and an eye toward seasonal beauty. We definitely would stay here again and will recommend it to friends looking for a comfortable room in downtown Carmel, close to the ocean.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
julian b, Owner at Carmel Garden Inn, responded to this review, December 26, 2013
Your appreciation of our Inn, gardens and our efforts are greatly welcomed. Thank you so much. As you so well pointed out, we are continuing to strive to improve our Bed and Breakfast. With our dining room and kitchen finished and our new laundry facility completed, our gardens improved on a continuing basis, we are now turning our attention to bathrooms and painting the patios and walkways. Susan and Dennis both have a passion for cooking and trying new recipes. She has purchased fifteen cookbooks just in the last few months. We all are having a wonderful time and to have our efforts rewarded by your review, and those of our other guest, infuses us with tremendous energy. Thank you again, Julian and all of us here.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2013

We love the quaint cottages and lovely flowers that make Carmel so charming. This hotel fills the bill perfectly. It is charming and ideally located. Our room had the feel of a cottage with fireplace and a private patio. The bed was wonderful with very nice linens. The owners are continually making improvements to rooms and gardens to make it even better. Home made treats in the evening and a lovely breakfast are included. The best part may just be the staff - friendly, efficient and passionate about making your stay special.

Room Tip: Room 4 is lovely
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
julian b, Owner at Carmel Garden Inn, responded to this review, December 10, 2013
Thank you warmly for your comments. Your appreciation for what we are trying to achieve (preserve the "essence of Carmel") while making things work is greatly valued. We all try very hard to be attentive to our guests, attempting to listen and take guidance from the conversation rather than giving a spiel. It so helps us as well to have Tripadvisor be a forum for us to listen to you, our guests. We learn more about the things that need improving and we get to bask in the praise when we get it right. Thank you again for your review. On behalf of us all, Julian
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Campbell, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2013

A few weeks ago I decided to visit Carmel, something I do quite often since it is a nice break from the Bay Area and our dog loves the off leash beach. We stayed at the Carmel Garden Inn, with two dogs. We had been a few times before, but a few years ago when it was under different ownership. We enjoy this property because it has courtyards at each room so you can enjoy outdoor seating with more privacy. It was nice meeting the new owners who were very friendly and accommodating. Specifically, they worked with the city to stop construction over the weekend--which would have been annoying if it kept going through the weekend. The evening snacks ( wine, cheese, hummus, shortbread) were very good. One day we brought a bottle of champagne back to the hotel and my request for champagne glasses was met with not only the glasses, but also an ice bucket and later champagne was brought out in the office sitting area to enable us to stick to champagne. The stories from the owners added charm to the stay as you can imagine the life within Carmel more, rather than being just a visitor.

I believe that the new owners are working very hard to bring the image of this B&B up. So far they are doing well. I do hope they work to maintain the charm as they proceed. I hope to return in the near future..

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
julian b, Owner at Carmel Garden Inn, responded to this review, December 5, 2013
Your review is so very much appreciated.We do love our guests with dogs and the patios afford such a luxury for them, and the owners, Being able to share all our stories and knowledge of our village with guests is a distinct pleasure. Among Susan, myself, Dennis, Mary and Curtis we have over 120 years of collective experiences of living and being here. Our greatest joy is sharing this wonderful place on earth with all of you. As we prepare for being on the Carmel Heritage Tour this Sunday (one of only eight Inns) we are appreciating our heritage and the need to preserve the past while making the inn functional. One of our greatest challenges is to accomplish that fine balance between the old and making things work. Thank you for staying with us. Thank you for your comments. Sincerely on behalf of us all, Julian
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Carmel Garden Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carmel Garden Inn

Address: NW Corner 4th Street and Torres, Carmel, CA 93921 (Formerly Carmel Garden Court Inn)
Location: United States > California > Monterey Peninsula > Carmel
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 28 B&Bs / Inns in Carmel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our five patio suites have totally new bathrooms from basement to attic. All the patios are freshly painted. Our bistro dining rooms now serves a home made hot item changing each day for breakfast and we have added lemon bars, chocolate chip cookies right from the oven to our wine party. The wood for all ten fireplaces is seasoned pine and lights quickly, cracking with natural warmth to offset the summer foggy evenings in Carmel. S'mores in our fire pit nightly, on request. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Carmel Garden Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Carmel Garden Court Hotel Carmel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Carmel Garden Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.